AutoCAD Civil 3D General

Reply
*Expert Elite*
Murph
Posts: 1,919
Registered: ‎11-13-2006
Message 11 of 16 (704 Views)

Re: Extract and export surface contours and labels

05-06-2011 05:40 AM in reply to: Joe-Bouza

Refine your explode command and add this

 

defun Bang (str)
  (vl-load-com)
  (setq sapi (vlax-create-object "Sapi.SpVoice"))
  (vlax-invoke sapi "Speak" str 0)
  (vlax-release-object sapi)
)

(Bang  "BANG ")

Murph
Supportting the troops daily.
Member
pyrmom
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎09-04-2013
Message 12 of 16 (296 Views)

Re: Extract and export surface contours and labels

09-04-2013 07:14 AM in reply to: CARLBOYER8135

I tried extracting the contours, but it does not accomplish what I need. I use Civil 3D 2013 and I sent my drawing (with surface contours) to someone using Carlson 2013. My contours were not visible. When I extracted them and sent it they could not open the drawing at all. I had to completely explode the surface and then I lost my labels. Even though the resultant polylines maintained their elevation, I was unable to label the polys with elevations.

*Expert Elite*
jmayo
Posts: 2,677
Registered: ‎11-13-2006
Message 13 of 16 (294 Views)

Re: Extract and export surface contours and labels

09-04-2013 07:49 AM in reply to: pyrmom

Did you try using the Export To AutoCAD commands? This may be the best way to send the surface.

John Mayo, PE
IDSP 2014
Win 7 64, Xeon ES165@3.2Ghz,
64 GB RAM, Quadro K4000 (x2)
Member
pyrmom
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎09-04-2013
Message 14 of 16 (285 Views)

Re: Extract and export surface contours and labels

09-04-2013 12:03 PM in reply to: jmayo
I think maybe exporting the surface to an XML file might be the way to go. I tested it with Microstation, and it was successful.
Member
pyrmom
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎09-04-2013
Message 15 of 16 (284 Views)

Re: Extract and export surface contours and labels

09-04-2013 12:06 PM in reply to: pyrmom

I did not know I could do that. I am going to test it. Thanks!

Member
pyrmom
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎09-04-2013
Message 16 of 16 (281 Views)

Re: Extract and export surface contours and labels

09-04-2013 12:09 PM in reply to: pyrmom

It worked! Thanks so much. I didn't lose the contour elevation labels either.

You are not logged in.

Log into access your profile, ask and answer questions, share ideas and more. Haven't signed up yet? Register

Announcements
Are you familiar with the Autodesk Expert Elites? The Expert Elite program is made up of customers that help other customers by sharing knowledge and exemplifying an engaging style of collaboration. To learn more, please visit our Expert Elite website.

Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions to get help installing your software.

Ask the Community


Civil 3D Exchange Apps

Created by the community for the community, Autodesk Exchange Apps for AutoCAD Civil 3D helps you achieve greater speed, accuracy, and automation from concept to manufacturing.

Connect with Civil 3D

Twitter

Facebook

Blogs