Community
Civil 3D Forum
Welcome to Autodesk’s Civil 3D Forums. Share your knowledge, ask questions, and explore popular AutoCAD Civil 3D topics.
cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Exporting simple .SHP files into GIS?

19 REPLIES 19
SOLVED
Message 1 of 20
GreeneSWCD
837 Views, 19 Replies

Exporting simple .SHP files into GIS?

I need to export a .SHP file containing some polygons to a GIS user so he can lay the shapes in a GIS map.  The data he needs from me is the outlines of several wetlands I've designed in C3D 2010.  There isn't any elevation data associated with the outlines.  They are just traced waterlines from each pool set into a layer called "permanent pools."  He wants these to show location in a GIS plan. 

When I try to MAPEXPORT, and then selct each of my 10 pool outlines, it says "no object selected" in the command line.  Am I doing something wrong?  I've never done this before, but I thought it looked straight enough forward to get through it. 

Could someone please give me list of operations to get through this task?  Thanks. 

19 REPLIES 19
Message 2 of 20
ToddRogers-WPM
in reply to: GreeneSWCD

What type of objects are you exporting?  You must specify that in the export dialog box.  If it's linework, then lines, if it's points, then points.  If it's closed polylines, then polygons, etc.  If you have done this correctly, in the dialog box at the very bottom, it will tell you how many you have selected.  See image below...

4-4-2012 8-46-10 AM.png

Todd Rogers
BIM Manager
Blog | Twitter | LinkedIn

Message 3 of 20
GreeneSWCD
in reply to: ToddRogers-WPM

You must be in a different year than I am.  I get the menu below.