Community
Civil 3D Forum
Welcome to Autodesk’s Civil 3D Forums. Share your knowledge, ask questions, and explore popular AutoCAD Civil 3D topics.
cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Export points to CSV file, add a "count" column, import the new CSV file.

8 REPLIES 8
Message 1 of 9
ginopalomo
5842 Views, 8 Replies

Export points to CSV file, add a "count" column, import the new CSV file.

I'm new to Civil 3D and while I did most of my work on Land Desktop working with points, I'm hiting the learning curve and need some help. I would apreciate if someone in this forums could guide me a little.

I was giving this DWG file created in Civil 3D. I need to add a count number right next to some drainage structure symbols already in place. There are hundreds of them. I learned the symbols for these structures, are not blocks like before, but the "nodes" of the survey points already in the database. Now, each symbol (or point in this case) has a number. That number is not consistent through the drawing: Sometimes is a 2-digit number, sometimes is a 4-digit number. Now, I have an excel spreadsheet with the profile of each of these structures, where the first column is that corresponding point number as collected in the field.

My goal is to use the spreadsheet as a table on each page listing structure No. 1 to n, where "n" is the total number of structures visible in that page, say Sheet 1 has 123 structures,  Sheet 2 has 64 structures, Sheet 3 has 101, and so on. How do you do that? Is it possible to isolate the layers containing these structures (which are survey points), export them to a CSV file, open Excel, add a new first column for Sheet 1 where the first visible structure No. 1 is on the left and last visible sructure number n is on the right? I guess I would need to import that "new" file to the drawing so that the consecutive numbers APPEAR right on or next to the structures. But what is the process to do this?

8 REPLIES 8