AutoCAD Civil 3D General

Reply
*Expert Elite*
neilyj
Posts: 3,666
Registered: ‎08-01-2008
Message 1 of 6 (196 Views)

Export Corridor to earlier Civil 3D version

196 Views, 5 Replies
01-15-2013 03:43 AM

Can this be done? The XML export seems to have all the information to be able to recreate it but the XML import doesn't seem to import the information

 

See also http://forums.autodesk.com/t5/AutoCAD-Civil-3D/Exporting-corridor-to-LandXML/td-p/3672598#.UPVAi2ein...

neilyj
(No connection with Autodesk other than using the products in the real world)


IDSP Premium 2015 (mainly Civil 3D 2015 UKIE & Infraworks with some limited 3ds Max Design)
Win 7 Pro x64, 240Gb SSD, 1Tb HDD
32Gb Ram Intel Xeon CPU E5-2650 v2 @ 2.6GHz (32 CPUs), ~2.6GHz
NVIDIA Quadro K4000, Dual 27" Monitor, Dell T5610
Product Support
AlmasSuljevic
Posts: 776
Registered: ‎08-11-2010
Message 2 of 6 (159 Views)

Re: Export Corridor to earlier Civil 3D version

01-16-2013 08:13 AM in reply to: neilyj

The corridors are not being included in the LandXML import scheme, I suppose since they depend on many things such as assemblies which are not supported by LandXML. If you look at the LandXML Settings in Settings tab you will see that it does not have import settings for corridors. If you also go to LANDXMLIN command you will see that corridor is not part of import. 



Almas Suljevic
Product Support Specialist
Autodesk Global Subscription and Support
Autodesk, Inc.

Please click on "Accept as Solution" if post helped you resolve the issue.
*Expert Elite*
neilyj
Posts: 3,666
Registered: ‎08-01-2008
Message 3 of 6 (153 Views)

Re: Export Corridor to earlier Civil 3D version

01-16-2013 08:31 AM in reply to: AlmasSuljevic

I realise that the assemblies are not supported but when you look inside the XML file all the data required to rebuild a static corridor seems to be available.

 

The answer to the original question would therefore appear to be it can't be done?

 

Is this more evidence of the fallability of the policy of incompatible annual releases i.e. corridors can't be shared with earlier versions ?

 

 

neilyj
(No connection with Autodesk other than using the products in the real world)


IDSP Premium 2015 (mainly Civil 3D 2015 UKIE & Infraworks with some limited 3ds Max Design)
Win 7 Pro x64, 240Gb SSD, 1Tb HDD
32Gb Ram Intel Xeon CPU E5-2650 v2 @ 2.6GHz (32 CPUs), ~2.6GHz
NVIDIA Quadro K4000, Dual 27" Monitor, Dell T5610
*Expert Elite*
sboon
Posts: 2,066
Registered: ‎11-08-2005
Message 4 of 6 (125 Views)

Re: Export Corridor to earlier Civil 3D version

01-16-2013 10:12 PM in reply to: neilyj

As far as I know it has never been possible to import a corridor via xml, even from another drawing of the same version.  The data exported can be used by other software, particularly survey layout programs to create a static version of the corridor but without surfaces, assemblies and other components Civil3d would not be able to recreate a true corridor in another drawing.

*Expert Elite*
neilyj
Posts: 3,666
Registered: ‎08-01-2008
Message 5 of 6 (107 Views)

Re: Export Corridor to earlier Civil 3D version

01-17-2013 04:50 AM in reply to: sboon

So the upshot is the corridors cannot be shared with earlier versions of the program??

 

Civil 3d again proving itself to be incompatible with itself which is a bizarre situation...!!!!

neilyj
(No connection with Autodesk other than using the products in the real world)


IDSP Premium 2015 (mainly Civil 3D 2015 UKIE & Infraworks with some limited 3ds Max Design)
Win 7 Pro x64, 240Gb SSD, 1Tb HDD
32Gb Ram Intel Xeon CPU E5-2650 v2 @ 2.6GHz (32 CPUs), ~2.6GHz
NVIDIA Quadro K4000, Dual 27" Monitor, Dell T5610
*Expert Elite*
mathewk
Posts: 2,711
Registered: ‎07-09-2003
Message 6 of 6 (100 Views)

Re: Export Corridor to earlier Civil 3D version

01-17-2013 06:34 AM in reply to: neilyj
This is a theory since I don't know much about the LandXML language. Since it is a global language, it's possible that corridors are not compatible with XML. Autodesk does not control XML that I know of so maybe it's just not possible from their perspective.

Just a thought.
Matt Kolberg
Cansel - Autodesk Division
http://www.cansel.ca/

You are not logged in.

Log into access your profile, ask and answer questions, share ideas and more. Haven't signed up yet? Register

Announcements
Are you familiar with the Autodesk Expert Elites? The Expert Elite program is made up of customers that help other customers by sharing knowledge and exemplifying an engaging style of collaboration. To learn more, please visit our Expert Elite website.

Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions to get help installing your software.

Ask the Community


Civil 3D Exchange Apps

Created by the community for the community, Autodesk Exchange Apps for AutoCAD Civil 3D helps you achieve greater speed, accuracy, and automation from concept to manufacturing.

Connect with Civil 3D

Twitter

Facebook

Blogs