Community
Civil 3D Forum
Welcome to Autodesk’s Civil 3D Forums. Share your knowledge, ask questions, and explore popular AutoCAD Civil 3D topics.
cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Existing elevation flag

8 REPLIES 8
Message 1 of 9
dbanaszak
537 Views, 8 Replies

Existing elevation flag

When working in a drawing with a surface referenced there is usually a flag attached to the cursor that reveals the surface and the elevation of the spot the cursor is hovering over; mine has disappeared. How do I get it back? Thanx

8 REPLIES 8
Message 2 of 9
ccl_cad_manager
in reply to: dbanaszak

Open up the surface properties, on the information tab, lower left.  Is Show Tooltips checked?

MikeC

Civil 3D 2015, Win 7 64bit, 16 GB RAM, Dell M4600
''That's the way we've always done it'' is an excuse, not a reason.
Message 3 of 9
dbanaszak

I'm very new to this interface (used to be an ace at LDD) so you're going to have to walk me right into this one. If you give me click by click from the HOME tab I'd really appreciate it since I've only seen the TOOL TIPS box in the PREFERENCES dialog. Thanx

Message 4 of 9
ccl_cad_manager

Sure,

Click on your surface in the drawing area so that it's the only active object.
Right Click, Move your cursor down to Surface Properites

You'll get a dialog box with 4 tabs (Information, Definition, Anaylsis, Statistics) Click on Information

Lower Left Hand Corner there's two check boxes, one for tool tips, one for locking.  

Turn the Show Tooltips on.

(edited to add location)

MikeC

Civil 3D 2015, Win 7 64bit, 16 GB RAM, Dell M4600
''That's the way we've always done it'' is an excuse, not a reason.
Message 5 of 9
dbanaszak

Mike,

I usually get there THROUGH TOOLSPACE and then SURFACES then right clicking on the surface name then SURFACE PROPERTIES, so I know now where I needed to be. The Show tooltips button is checked.