AutoCAD Civil 3D General Discussion

Reply
Distinguished Contributor
C3D_RickGraham
Posts: 975
Registered: ‎09-06-2006
Message 1 of 10 (1,165 Views)

Edit Profile Geometry greyed out?

1165 Views, 9 Replies
01-14-2009 03:59 AM
G'morning all,



I have a strange thing that all of a sudden started happening. If I Rt-Clk on a surface on a profile and select Edit Profile geometry, the dialog box comes up, but almost every option in there is greyed out!



This is not drawing-specific, not is it machine specific. Can someone point me to some possible solutions?



See attached pic.



Thanks,



Rick
Thanks,
Rick
coauthor Mastering Civil 3D 2012
I blog at http://simplycivil3d.wordpress.com
Distinguished Contributor
C3D_RickGraham
Posts: 975
Registered: ‎09-06-2006
Message 2 of 10 (1,165 Views)

Re: Edit Profile Geometry greyed out?

01-14-2009 04:33 AM in reply to: C3D_RickGraham
Ok, so I'm an idiot. I figured it out. I better go home and start the day over! geesh!
Thanks,
Rick
coauthor Mastering Civil 3D 2012
I blog at http://simplycivil3d.wordpress.com
*Joe Bouza
Message 3 of 10 (1,165 Views)

Re: Edit Profile Geometry greyed out?

01-14-2009 05:50 AM in reply to: C3D_RickGraham

Rick please share (however silly it may
seem)


--
Thanks, Joe

 

Joseph D. Bouza, P.E.
Civil 3D 2008
LDT 2008
Win XP pro
v 2002,
sp 2
hp workstation xw4600
Intel Core Duo CPU
E7200 @2.53 GHz
3 GB
RAM
NIVDIA Quadro FX 1700 (512MB)

 

The mantra of a former Flamer:

 

If you are forced to eat an Elephant, don’t complain about it; Take one
bite at a time.

 

*****************************************************************************************
In
memory of the King of Work-arounds
"The only Constant is Change".

 

"The only thing worse than training your staff, and having them leave is
-
not training your staff, and having them stay." :-o
A reminder taken
from Graphics Solution Providers' Calendar
page
*****************************************************************************************


style="PADDING-RIGHT: 0px; PADDING-LEFT: 5px; MARGIN-LEFT: 5px; BORDER-LEFT: #000000 2px solid; MARGIN-RIGHT: 0px">
Ok,
so I'm an idiot. I figured it out. I better go home and start the day over!
geesh!
Distinguished Contributor
C3D_RickGraham
Posts: 975
Registered: ‎09-06-2006
Message 4 of 10 (1,165 Views)

Re: Edit Profile Geometry greyed out?

01-14-2009 06:24 AM in reply to: C3D_RickGraham
Joe,



The profile was created using 'Create Profile from Surface' Of course when you create from a surface, there is nothing to edit! That is my 'Duh' moment today.



Rick
Thanks,
Rick
coauthor Mastering Civil 3D 2012
I blog at http://simplycivil3d.wordpress.com
*Joe Bouza
Message 5 of 10 (1,165 Views)

Re: Edit Profile Geometry greyed out?

01-14-2009 06:48 AM in reply to: C3D_RickGraham

We all have'm <G>

 

I read these to learn from mistakes as well as
success's. As I'm sure others do.

 

Thanks


--
Thanks, Joe

 

Joseph D. Bouza, P.E.
Civil 3D 2008
LDT 2008
Win XP pro
v 2002,
sp 2
hp workstation xw4600
Intel Core Duo CPU
E7200 @2.53 GHz
3 GB
RAM
NIVDIA Quadro FX 1700 (512MB)

 

The mantra of a former Flamer:

 

If you are forced to eat an Elephant, don’t complain about it; Take one
bite at a time.

 

*****************************************************************************************
In
memory of the King of Work-arounds
"The only Constant is Change".

 

"The only thing worse than training your staff, and having them leave is
-
not training your staff, and having them stay." :-o
A reminder taken
from Graphics Solution Providers' Calendar
page
*****************************************************************************************


style="PADDING-RIGHT: 0px; PADDING-LEFT: 5px; MARGIN-LEFT: 5px; BORDER-LEFT: #000000 2px solid; MARGIN-RIGHT: 0px">
Joe,



The
profile was created using 'Create Profile from Surface' Of course when you
create from a surface, there is nothing to edit! That is my 'Duh' moment
today.



Rick
New Member
ACSI_Chuck
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎10-17-2008
Message 6 of 10 (1,165 Views)

Re: Edit Profile Geometry greyed out?

01-15-2009 05:48 AM in reply to: C3D_RickGraham
Quick fix...

Exit out of Civil 3d and re-open.

Should have access to your layout toolbar.

Cheers,
Member
UTE_H20
Posts: 5
Registered: ‎01-15-2009
Message 7 of 10 (1,165 Views)

Re: Edit Profile Geometry greyed out?

01-15-2009 12:18 PM in reply to: C3D_RickGraham
I am having the same problem. I can do the exact same thing in 2008 and the buttons are not grayed out. If it is because I'm using "Create Profile from Surface", what would be the correct way to create a profile that I can edit.
*Jeff Mishler
Message 8 of 10 (1,165 Views)

Re: Edit Profile Geometry greyed out?

01-15-2009 01:21 PM in reply to: C3D_RickGraham

It must be a Static profile in order to edit it. If you must
edit your surface profile, change the Update Mode under the Profile
Properties to Static.


style="PADDING-RIGHT: 0px; PADDING-LEFT: 5px; MARGIN-LEFT: 5px; BORDER-LEFT: #000000 2px solid; MARGIN-RIGHT: 0px">
I
am having the same problem. I can do the exact same thing in 2008 and the
buttons are not grayed out. If it is because I'm using "Create Profile from
Surface", what would be the correct way to create a profile that I can
edit.
Active Contributor
dbussie
Posts: 43
Registered: ‎08-08-2013
Message 9 of 10 (477 Views)

Re: Edit Profile Geometry greyed out?

11-11-2013 11:41 AM in reply to: ACSI_Chuck

Closing Civil 3d and reopening worked for me.  Thank you!

*Expert Elite*
neilyj
Posts: 3,694
Registered: ‎08-01-2008
Message 10 of 10 (461 Views)

Re: Edit Profile Geometry greyed out?

11-11-2013 12:54 PM in reply to: dbussie
....and 4 or 5 years on has this bug been rectified? No is the answer, but as it is not repeatable on demand I guess it's difficult to track down the cause
neilyj
(No connection with Autodesk other than using the products in the real world)


IDSP Premium 2015 (mainly Civil 3D 2015 UKIE & Infraworks with some limited 3ds Max Design)
Win 7 Pro x64, 240Gb SSD, 1Tb HDD
32Gb Ram Intel Xeon CPU E5-2650 v2 @ 2.6GHz (32 CPUs), ~2.6GHz
NVIDIA Quadro K4000, Dual 27" Monitor, Dell T5610

You are not logged in.

Log into access your profile, ask and answer questions, share ideas and more. Haven't signed up yet? Register

Announcements
Are you familiar with the Autodesk Expert Elites? The Expert Elite program is made up of customers that help other customers by sharing knowledge and exemplifying an engaging style of collaboration. To learn more, please visit our Expert Elite website.

Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions to get help installing your software.

Ask the Community


Civil 3D Exchange Apps

Created by the community for the community, Autodesk Exchange Apps for AutoCAD Civil 3D helps you achieve greater speed, accuracy, and automation from concept to manufacturing.

Connect with Civil 3D

Twitter

Facebook

Blogs