AutoCAD Civil 3D General

Reply
Active Contributor
jimbo2dajj
Posts: 38
Registered: ‎11-27-2012
Message 1 of 12 (228 Views)

Dynamic blocks from several different files, referenced in one tool palette

228 Views, 11 Replies
03-22-2013 01:19 PM

Hello all,

 

I've begun to create tool palettes to organize my blocks and often-used items. I have no trouble creating the tool palette, inserting regular blocks, export/import of the tool palette and groups, however my problem involves Dynamic Blocks and the fact that I keep each seperate dynamic block in a different file. I do this so that I can easily insert the block into a new drawing.

 

I'm able to drag the dwg file onto the palette (from explorer to autocad) just fine, that way the block's reference in the palette is the original file. Although when I take this method, I don't gain the lighting bolt to signify a dynamic block.

 

To get the lighting bolt I insert the block into an empty drawing, save it, then drag the block over to the palette. The problem with this is that the tool palette references the saved blank drawing, not the original block's file.

 

My endgame is to have a tool palette that contains my dynamic blocks and that will be eventually exported/imported to other computers everytime there is a major change. I also want to be able to change the original block's file and have that change be reflected in the tool palette.

 

 

Hope the explanation is clear enough and thanks for your input,

 

Bryan

Junior Civil Engineer using Civil 3D 2013
Valued Mentor
gccdaemon
Posts: 457
Registered: ‎09-14-2010
Message 2 of 12 (212 Views)

Re: Dynamic blocks from several different files, referenced in one tool palette

03-22-2013 03:53 PM in reply to: jimbo2dajj

I do exactly what you need to do. You'll want to pull all the blocks into one file and have the toolpalette reference the blocks in that one file. When you make a change to the block anyone using your palette will pull that new block definition. The toolpalettes don't "Hold" a block, they hold a link to the block definition in the DWG file. If you drag a DWG file, similarly it links to the DWG file. Hope this helps. :smileyhappy:

Andrew Ingram

Civil 3D x64 2012
Win 7 x64 Ultimate
I7 3820 (3.6ghz quad core with HT)
32gig RAM (Corsair XMS3 4x8g)
Intel x z79 mobo (BOXDX79TO 2011 socket)
Radeon HD 7850 2gb GDDR5
Active Contributor
jimbo2dajj
Posts: 38
Registered: ‎11-27-2012
Message 3 of 12 (209 Views)

Re: Dynamic blocks from several different files, referenced in one tool palette

03-22-2013 04:14 PM in reply to: gccdaemon
Thanks for the reply, however If I pool all my blocks in that one file, I'll lose the functionality of being able to insert them individually. But I'll have them in the tool palette so no need to use the Insert command... I guess it's only one or the other in this case. Do you know of any way to allow both possibilities? Thanks, Bryan Sent from Samsung Mobile ________________________________
Junior Civil Engineer using Civil 3D 2013
Valued Mentor
gccdaemon
Posts: 457
Registered: ‎09-14-2010
Message 4 of 12 (207 Views)

Re: Dynamic blocks from several different files, referenced in one tool palette

03-22-2013 04:19 PM in reply to: jimbo2dajj

You should be able to do both. How do you handle manual inserting? (that's what she said) Do you insert the block then explode it?

Andrew Ingram

Civil 3D x64 2012
Win 7 x64 Ultimate
I7 3820 (3.6ghz quad core with HT)
32gig RAM (Corsair XMS3 4x8g)
Intel x z79 mobo (BOXDX79TO 2011 socket)
Radeon HD 7850 2gb GDDR5
Active Contributor
jimbo2dajj
Posts: 38
Registered: ‎11-27-2012
Message 5 of 12 (192 Views)

Re: Dynamic blocks from several different files, referenced in one tool palette

03-22-2013 06:41 PM in reply to: gccdaemon

LOL!

 

When I create a dynamic block I finish with a WBLOCK. That way when I insert the block into a new drawing it is a clean, dynamic and annotative block, no exploding whatsoever. 

 

I was hoping that if I updated the original file, it could be updated in the tool palette as well as staying seperate from the other files. That way for those who actually used the tool palette, they would have the updated blocks. Also, the people who are still accustomed to inserting their blocks, would have the same versions as the tool palette.

Junior Civil Engineer using Civil 3D 2013
*Expert Elite*
Joe-Bouza
Posts: 4,745
Registered: ‎12-15-2008
Message 6 of 12 (173 Views)

Re: Dynamic blocks from several different files, referenced in one tool palette

03-23-2013 06:57 AM in reply to: jimbo2dajj

If you are putting them into a palette why would you be concerned with the insert single? Anyway, if you include in the search path you should still be able to insert

Thank you

Joseph D. Bouza, P.E. (one of 'THOSE' People) Civil 3D 2012 & 2013
HP Z210 Workstation
Intel Xeon CPU E31240 @ 3.30 Hz
12 GB Ram


Note: Its all Resistentialism, so keep calm and carry on

64 Bit Win7 OS
Active Contributor
jimbo2dajj
Posts: 38
Registered: ‎11-27-2012
Message 7 of 12 (167 Views)

Re: Dynamic blocks from several different files, referenced in one tool palette

03-23-2013 08:06 AM in reply to: Joe-Bouza
I know it's redundant but I'm trying to see if it's possible to include both possibilities. So far it seems that it isn't. I tried changing the search path but a tool palette won't reference a dynamic block, it must reference a file where the block is defined, so I get an error message. Sent from Samsung Mobile ________________________________
Junior Civil Engineer using Civil 3D 2013
*Expert Elite*
Joe-Bouza
Posts: 4,745
Registered: ‎12-15-2008
Message 8 of 12 (146 Views)

Re: Dynamic blocks from several different files, referenced in one tool palette

03-24-2013 04:56 AM in reply to: jimbo2dajj

thats correct. perhaps include the dynyo in your dwt file? you'll get the best of both worlds

 

Thank you

Joseph D. Bouza, P.E. (one of 'THOSE' People) Civil 3D 2012 & 2013
HP Z210 Workstation
Intel Xeon CPU E31240 @ 3.30 Hz
12 GB Ram


Note: Its all Resistentialism, so keep calm and carry on

64 Bit Win7 OS
Active Contributor
jimbo2dajj
Posts: 38
Registered: ‎11-27-2012
Message 9 of 12 (135 Views)

Re: Dynamic blocks from several different files, referenced in one tool palette

03-24-2013 12:15 PM in reply to: Joe-Bouza

Alright, I'll work it out.

 

Thanks for everyone's help!!

Junior Civil Engineer using Civil 3D 2013
*Expert Elite*
troma
Posts: 2,519
Registered: ‎05-21-2008
Message 10 of 12 (111 Views)

Re: Dynamic blocks from several different files, referenced in one tool palette

03-25-2013 07:38 AM in reply to: jimbo2dajj

If you have a file with all the blocks in it, and also have each one in a separate file it should then work for you both ways.  Then if you need to update a block, simply update the individual file with that block, and then insert it into the overall file to update the definition in there.  People can insert either way and get the same result.


Credit where credit is due! Give kudos or accept as solution whenever you can.

You are not logged in.

Log into access your profile, ask and answer questions, share ideas and more. Haven't signed up yet? Register

Announcements
Are you familiar with the Autodesk Expert Elites? The Expert Elite program is made up of customers that help other customers by sharing knowledge and exemplifying an engaging style of collaboration. To learn more, please visit our Expert Elite website.

Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions to get help installing your software.

Ask the Community


Civil 3D Exchange Apps

Created by the community for the community, Autodesk Exchange Apps for AutoCAD Civil 3D helps you achieve greater speed, accuracy, and automation from concept to manufacturing.

Connect with Civil 3D

Twitter

Facebook

Blogs