AutoCAD Civil 3D General Discussion

Reply
Valued Contributor
DrWileFTracer
Posts: 93
Registered: ‎03-04-2010
Message 1 of 7 (555 Views)
Accepted Solution

Dynamic Block Text

555 Views, 6 Replies
04-17-2013 05:59 AM

Is it possible to have a dynamic block with text which, when inserted into a drawing, will show the text orientation matched to the layout? I have a non-dynamic block which is simply a donut and a piece of text. When I insert it into a drawing, the text orientation will change to suit the orientation of the layout. I created another block with the same entities but I also added a couple of lines extending out from the center of the donut. I added stretch and rotation actions in order to rotate and stretch the lines. I also gave the block visibility states so that either one or two lines would appear (the block is a utility pole,by the way, with the lines representing guy wires). When I insert the dynamic block into a drawing, I cannot get the text to match the orientation of the viewport. I've tried changing different combinations of settings but the text won't appear horizontal.

 

Thanks in advance

 

Wil

Alumni
machadt
Posts: 129
Registered: ‎10-25-2011
Message 2 of 7 (515 Views)

Re: Dynamic Block Text

04-23-2013 02:47 PM in reply to: DrWileFTracer

Hi Wil,

Could you please show us an image of what you are seeing?

Tatiana Machado
AEC-ENI Application Engineer
Valued Contributor
DrWileFTracer
Posts: 93
Registered: ‎03-04-2010
Message 3 of 7 (498 Views)

Re: Dynamic Block Text

04-24-2013 09:18 AM in reply to: DrWileFTracer
The block is attached. The text always appears in the same orientation as per when it was inserted in the drawing. So if the ucs is set to world, the text will be horizontal in that orientation. In any viewport not having the ucs set to world, the text will not display horizontally but rather it will rotate with the changed ucs.


Wilf Carter
Senior Designer

[cid:image001.png@01CE40ED.6A447060]

102 Portland Street
Dartmouth, Nova Scotia
Canada B2Y 1H8
www.ablenvironmental.com
Ph: 902-466-0050 Ext: 111
Fax: 902-469-4399
wcarter@ablenvironmental.com
*Expert Elite*
tcorey
Posts: 2,471
Registered: ‎12-18-2002
Message 4 of 7 (493 Views)

Re: Dynamic Block Text

04-24-2013 10:01 AM in reply to: DrWileFTracer

Make the block non-annotative, but make the attribute annotative. Be sure the text style assigned to the attribute is also annotative and the property to "Match text orientation to layout" is turned on for that style.

 

You have to use an attribute. Just a text object inside a block won't work, even if the test style is annotative.

Tim Corey, Owner
Delta Engineering Systems
Redding, CA
Autodesk Authorized Value-Added Reseller
Valued Contributor
DrWileFTracer
Posts: 93
Registered: ‎03-04-2010
Message 5 of 7 (460 Views)

Re: Dynamic Block Text

04-26-2013 09:21 AM in reply to: tcorey

Thanks. I recreated the block with attributes as per your instructions. The text now aligns correctly in all viewports.

 

It would be great if the block could be made associative so that it would always appear at the appropriate size regardless of the drawing scale. I now have to have a different block for each drawing scale. Oh well, at least the text alignment issue is resolved. Thanks again.

Distinguished Mentor
rl_jackson
Posts: 695
Registered: ‎01-20-2008
Message 6 of 7 (451 Views)

Re: Dynamic Block Text

04-26-2013 11:06 AM in reply to: DrWileFTracer

You could alway create the block as annotative, and just not include the text for the block in the as part of the rotation compentents that way it is always plan (stays in the same position). I use a block for parking spaces counts that scales in model space based on the annotation scale and the attributes within it are not annotative. I prefer the scaling verses giving the block a scale on insert.

C3D12-13
Win7x64 6gb
*Expert Elite*
troma
Posts: 2,519
Registered: ‎05-21-2008
Message 7 of 7 (423 Views)

Re: Dynamic Block Text

04-29-2013 09:46 AM in reply to: DrWileFTracer
If you can put your block into a C3D 'Note' label it will react to the scale, and you can put text in the same label. You can have the whole thing rotate to suit the view. But I guess you can't really do it with a dynamic block, from what I've heard.


Credit where credit is due! Give kudos or accept as solution whenever you can.

You are not logged in.

Log into access your profile, ask and answer questions, share ideas and more. Haven't signed up yet? Register

Announcements
Are you familiar with the Autodesk Expert Elites? The Expert Elite program is made up of customers that help other customers by sharing knowledge and exemplifying an engaging style of collaboration. To learn more, please visit our Expert Elite website.

Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions to get help installing your software.

Ask the Community


Civil 3D Exchange Apps

Created by the community for the community, Autodesk Exchange Apps for AutoCAD Civil 3D helps you achieve greater speed, accuracy, and automation from concept to manufacturing.

Connect with Civil 3D

Twitter

Facebook

Blogs