AutoCAD Civil 3D General Discussion

Reply
Distinguished Contributor
Westhills
Posts: 134
Registered: ‎12-16-2010
Message 1 of 39 (2,039 Views)

Drop down menus in dialog boxes appear blank and cursor doesn't echo

2039 Views, 38 Replies
01-18-2011 11:07 AM

In dialog boxes the drop down menus appear blank until I drag the mouse over it then the contents appear as I drag the mouse across. Also the cursor doesn't echo back (flash). I have tried updating drivers to no avail.

 

Running Civil 3D 2011 with all updates.

Windows 7 64 bit

16 gig ram

Quadra fx 1800

Intel(R) Core(TM) i7 CPU 870 @ 2.93GHz

 

I have attached a couple images to illustrate.

Win 7 64bit
16 Gigs Ram
Intel i7 870
Quadro fx1800
C3D 2011/2012
ASUS Custom
Dual 24 Phillips screens
Product Support
AlmasSuljevic
Posts: 778
Registered: ‎08-11-2010
Message 2 of 39 (2,024 Views)

Re: Drop down menus in dialog boxes appear blank and cursor doesn't echo

01-18-2011 11:42 AM in reply to: Westhills

My first guess is that your graphic card may need an upgrade.Try following before that:

 

1. Check if you get the same behavior on other drawings

2. Type 3DCONFIG and go to Manula Tune, toggle "Enable Hardware Acceleration", Apply

3. If you et the same issue on both occasions then I would see if upgrading video driver helps. Just an idea.

 

Good luck.

 



Almas Suljevic
Product Support Specialist
Autodesk Global Subscription and Support
Autodesk, Inc.

Please click on "Accept as Solution" if post helped you resolve the issue.
Distinguished Contributor
Westhills
Posts: 134
Registered: ‎12-16-2010
Message 3 of 39 (2,020 Views)

Re: Drop down menus in dialog boxes appear blank and cursor doesn't echo

01-18-2011 11:47 AM in reply to: AlmasSuljevic

Thanks for the input. Your suggestions had already been looked at. Problem persists.

Win 7 64bit
16 Gigs Ram
Intel i7 870
Quadro fx1800
C3D 2011/2012
ASUS Custom
Dual 24 Phillips screens
Product Support
AlmasSuljevic
Posts: 778
Registered: ‎08-11-2010
Message 4 of 39 (2,012 Views)

Re: Drop down menus in dialog boxes appear blank and cursor doesn't echo

01-18-2011 12:09 PM in reply to: Westhills

Can you post your drawing? I can try to open it on my machine to see if it's drawing specific.



Almas Suljevic
Product Support Specialist
Autodesk Global Subscription and Support
Autodesk, Inc.

Please click on "Accept as Solution" if post helped you resolve the issue.
Distinguished Contributor
Westhills
Posts: 134
Registered: ‎12-16-2010
Message 5 of 39 (1,948 Views)

Re: Drop down menus in dialog boxes appear blank and cursor doesn't echo

01-24-2011 10:07 AM in reply to: AlmasSuljevic

Due to confidentialy reasons I cannot post the drawing. However I can confirm this is not Drawing related. 

 

 

Win 7 64bit
16 Gigs Ram
Intel i7 870
Quadro fx1800
C3D 2011/2012
ASUS Custom
Dual 24 Phillips screens
Employee
hgohel
Posts: 266
Registered: ‎05-17-2006
Message 6 of 39 (1,925 Views)

Re: Drop down menus in dialog boxes appear blank and cursor doesn't echo

01-24-2011 12:38 PM in reply to: Westhills

Which driver version do you have installed?  Check this list for a list of supported driver versions for the Quadro FX1800 with C3D 2011 on Win7 x64.

 

Can you confirm that you have Update 1 for Civil 3D 2011 installed?

Himanshu Gohel
Autodesk, Inc
Distinguished Contributor
Westhills
Posts: 134
Registered: ‎12-16-2010
Message 7 of 39 (1,919 Views)

Re: Drop down menus in dialog boxes appear blank and cursor doesn't echo

01-24-2011 12:53 PM in reply to: Westhills

Quadro fx 1800

 

driver 266.45

 

C3D has all updates.

Win 7 64bit
16 Gigs Ram
Intel i7 870
Quadro fx1800
C3D 2011/2012
ASUS Custom
Dual 24 Phillips screens
Employee
hgohel
Posts: 266
Registered: ‎05-17-2006
Message 8 of 39 (1,907 Views)

Re: Drop down menus in dialog boxes appear blank and cursor doesn't echo

01-24-2011 01:08 PM in reply to: Westhills

You can try turning off hardware acceleration from within C3D/AutoCAD using the 3DCONFIG command -  restart C3D to make sure the settings are in effect.  Check whether your problem is resolved.

 

From the snapshots you posted, you have a "desktop manager" software that might be affecting display of windows?  If so, you might try disabling that temprorarily to see if that helps.

 

If not resolved, you may want to downgrade your graphics driver to one that is in the supported list - the one that you have installed isn't listed as supported/certified as of today.

 

Himanshu Gohel
Autodesk, Inc
Distinguished Contributor
Westhills
Posts: 134
Registered: ‎12-16-2010
Message 9 of 39 (1,887 Views)

Re: Drop down menus in dialog boxes appear blank and cursor doesn't echo

01-24-2011 01:56 PM in reply to: Westhills

Tried reverting to this approved driver: 8.17.0012.6570. Did not change anything. Also tried running without hardware acceleration,. no change.

Win 7 64bit
16 Gigs Ram
Intel i7 870
Quadro fx1800
C3D 2011/2012
ASUS Custom
Dual 24 Phillips screens
Employee
hgohel
Posts: 266
Registered: ‎05-17-2006
Message 10 of 39 (1,884 Views)

Re: Drop down menus in dialog boxes appear blank and cursor doesn't echo

01-24-2011 02:04 PM in reply to: Westhills

Great!  That rules out a lot of what C3D/AutoCAD depends on for proper display.  Let us know the results after you disable the display manager software that seems to be installed on your system (referring to the extra button with <-> on the windows in your snapshots).

Himanshu Gohel
Autodesk, Inc

You are not logged in.

Log into access your profile, ask and answer questions, share ideas and more. Haven't signed up yet? Register

Announcements
Are you familiar with the Autodesk Expert Elites? The Expert Elite program is made up of customers that help other customers by sharing knowledge and exemplifying an engaging style of collaboration. To learn more, please visit our Expert Elite website.

Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions to get help installing your software.

Ask the Community


Civil 3D Exchange Apps

Created by the community for the community, Autodesk Exchange Apps for AutoCAD Civil 3D helps you achieve greater speed, accuracy, and automation from concept to manufacturing.

Connect with Civil 3D

Twitter

Facebook

Blogs