AutoCAD Civil 3D General

Reply
Active Contributor
jfengineering
Posts: 29
Registered: ‎10-22-2011
Message 11 of 23 (214 Views)

Re: Drawings zooms out on open

06-27-2012 09:18 AM in reply to: AllenJessup

Nothing on the command line other than "Regenerating model."  It shows the correct location for a split second and then goes off to another location.  It is definetly related to having the UCS set to View, because it works fine if the UCS is set to World.

JF Engineering, PLLC
Civil3D, 2104
Windows 7 Pro, 64 Bit
ASUS SABERTOOTH Z87
Intel i7-4770K, 3.50 GHz
16 GB RAM
2x HP2311x Monitors
*Expert Elite*
AllenJessup
Posts: 5,621
Registered: ‎05-21-2003
Message 12 of 23 (207 Views)

Re: Drawings zooms out on open

06-28-2012 04:51 AM in reply to: jfengineering

If you want. You can check the AutoCAD discussion group and see if basic AutoCAD has the same problem. Then you'd know if it was connected to Civil 3D of not.

 

Allen

*Expert Elite*
tcorey
Posts: 2,321
Registered: ‎12-18-2002
Message 13 of 23 (197 Views)

Re: Drawings zooms out on open

06-28-2012 04:44 PM in reply to: jfengineering

jfengineering wrote:

Thanks.   How do you get text / labels to be horizontal then?  Labels in paperspace?



While editing the Civil 3D label style, on the General tab set Orientation to View. This will cause the labels' rotation angle to always match the viewport, even if you have applied a twist.

 

If you're working with AutoCAD text, using a text style that is Annotative allows you to apply a setting Match text orientation to layout, which makes text and mtext work the same as described above.

 

Tim

 

Tim Corey, Owner
Delta Engineering Systems
Redding, CA
Autodesk Authorized Value-Added Reseller
Active Contributor
jfengineering
Posts: 29
Registered: ‎10-22-2011
Message 14 of 23 (193 Views)

Re: Drawings zooms out on open

06-28-2012 11:19 PM in reply to: tcorey

Thanks for the tip Tim.... I went looking for this and my bad I said 'label' but I was thinking multi-leaders.  Is there a similar setting for them?  Did see it.  (Of course it is 11:30 at night)

JF Engineering, PLLC
Civil3D, 2104
Windows 7 Pro, 64 Bit
ASUS SABERTOOTH Z87
Intel i7-4770K, 3.50 GHz
16 GB RAM
2x HP2311x Monitors
Active Contributor
jfengineering
Posts: 29
Registered: ‎10-22-2011
Message 15 of 23 (185 Views)

Re: Drawings zooms out on open

06-29-2012 08:38 AM in reply to: AllenJessup

This is a C3D (12 & 13), UCS bug.  I just went into plain AutoCAD and tried the DView Twist/UCS commands and switching between Layout 1 and Model Space tabs works as expected.  (You are returned to the view you had when you left.)

 

I've also opened up a new, blank C3D file moved away from 0,0 (10000,10000) and drew a line at a 10deg rotation.  Did a DView Twist (-10deg) and changed the UCS to View.  When you change tabs from Layout 1 and back to Model, the window center will move off to the location it would be if there wasn't a DView, Twist applied (located 10 degrees from where it should be in this case).  If you only apply the DView Twist the window returns to the correct location.

 

(I moved away from the origin to exagerate the effect)

JF Engineering, PLLC
Civil3D, 2104
Windows 7 Pro, 64 Bit
ASUS SABERTOOTH Z87
Intel i7-4770K, 3.50 GHz
16 GB RAM
2x HP2311x Monitors
*Expert Elite*
AllenJessup
Posts: 5,621
Registered: ‎05-21-2003
Message 16 of 23 (182 Views)

Re: Drawings zooms out on open

06-29-2012 08:44 AM in reply to: jfengineering

It might be a bug. It might be connected with something to do with sheet set manager. I don't know. I'd suggest opening a Support Request to see what the PTB say. Or if you're reseller sold you Gold Support, just call Autodesk.

 

Allen

*Expert Elite*
Jeff_M
Posts: 3,979
Registered: ‎07-22-2003
Message 17 of 23 (175 Views)

Re: Drawings zooms out on open

06-29-2012 09:56 AM in reply to: jfengineering

Which DWT are you using? I just tested these exact steps and do not get the view shift you describe. Can you post the test drawing?

Jeff_M, also a frequent Swamper
Active Contributor
jfengineering
Posts: 29
Registered: ‎10-22-2011
Message 18 of 23 (172 Views)

Re: Drawings zooms out on open

06-29-2012 10:05 AM in reply to: Jeff_M

Here is an example file (the original is pretty large @ 4MB) in C3D 2013.  If you switch to the Layout 1 tab and back to Model you will see the change in the view.  You can do a Zoom, Previous command and it will take you back to the view you had originally.  (At least it is doing this on my station).

JF Engineering, PLLC
Civil3D, 2104
Windows 7 Pro, 64 Bit
ASUS SABERTOOTH Z87
Intel i7-4770K, 3.50 GHz
16 GB RAM
2x HP2311x Monitors
*Expert Elite*
Jeff_M
Posts: 3,979
Registered: ‎07-22-2003
Message 19 of 23 (166 Views)

Re: Drawings zooms out on open

06-29-2012 11:42 AM in reply to: jfengineering

OK, I can see the issue in 2013 but not in 2012. I found THIS post in a thread over on the Autocad2013 forum which says Autodesk is aware of the problem, and there is a post or 2 with a workaround.

Jeff_M, also a frequent Swamper
Active Contributor
jfengineering
Posts: 29
Registered: ‎10-22-2011
Message 20 of 23 (163 Views)

Re: Drawings zooms out on open

06-29-2012 11:50 AM in reply to: Jeff_M

I already submitted a Support Request but it looks like they have it logged for the fix list.  I have figured out that using View->Previous works too.  Not a big problem, just annoying.

 

Thanks,

JF Engineering, PLLC
Civil3D, 2104
Windows 7 Pro, 64 Bit
ASUS SABERTOOTH Z87
Intel i7-4770K, 3.50 GHz
16 GB RAM
2x HP2311x Monitors

You are not logged in.

Log into access your profile, ask and answer questions, share ideas and more. Haven't signed up yet? Register

Announcements
Are you interested in helping shape the Autodesk Community?
We’re looking at a few different ways to improve the “All Forums” landing page and need your feedback! If interested, please take a few minutes to fill out the following Usability Study. Thank you for your time!

Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions to get help installing your software.

Ask the Community


Civil 3D Exchange Apps

Created by the community for the community, Autodesk Exchange Apps for AutoCAD Civil 3D helps you achieve greater speed, accuracy, and automation from concept to manufacturing.

Connect with Civil 3D

Twitter

Facebook

Blogs