AutoCAD Civil 3D General

Reply
Mentor
Posts: 339
Registered: ‎07-25-2006
Message 1 of 3 (233 Views)

Drawing settings object layers

233 Views, 2 Replies
10-25-2012 11:14 AM

My company is updating our layer standards. We have many templates already created and each one will need to be updated. Changing the layer names is easy using the rename command. The only problem is that when I go to Toolspace -> Settings tab -> Right click on the drawing name -> Drawing Settings -> Object Layers tab, the layer names do not update. For example: The old layer name for Alignments was "P_ALGN", the new layer name is "O-ALGN", but the layer listed in the settings is still "P_ALGN". Sure I can update it manually, but I would need to do that for all of the object layers in all of our different templates. Is there some way to force those layers to update automatically?

*Expert Elite*
tcorey
Posts: 2,314
Registered: ‎12-18-2002
Message 2 of 3 (215 Views)

Re: Drawing settings object layers

10-25-2012 02:54 PM in reply to: jbear0000

Short answer is no, but that's not entirely true.

 

There is a 3rd Party software, SincPac, that will do this. Take a look at http://www.quuxsoft.com/SincpacC3D.aspx

 

SincPac lets you open your template, export the object layers to xml. Open the new template and import object layers. It's pretty reasonably priced.

 

Tim

 

Tim Corey, Owner
Delta Engineering Systems
Redding, CA
Autodesk Authorized Value-Added Reseller
Mentor
Posts: 339
Registered: ‎07-25-2006
Message 3 of 3 (196 Views)

Re: Drawing settings object layers

10-26-2012 05:13 AM in reply to: tcorey

I figured that. I don't think I could justify the purchase of SincPac to our software manager just to fix the layers in the templates. Thanks for the suggestion though.

You are not logged in.

Log into access your profile, ask and answer questions, share ideas and more. Haven't signed up yet? Register

Announcements
Welcome to the new Autodesk Community!
If this is your first visit, click here to get started and make the most of the Community. Let us know what you think of the new experience in the Community Feedback Forum.

Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions to get help installing your software.

Ask the Community


Civil 3D Exchange Apps

Created by the community for the community, Autodesk Exchange Apps for AutoCAD Civil 3D helps you achieve greater speed, accuracy, and automation from concept to manufacturing.

Connect with Civil 3D

Twitter

Facebook

Blogs