AutoCAD Civil 3D General Discussion

Reply
Distinguished Contributor
MtnMax700
Posts: 141
Registered: ‎08-06-2010
Message 1 of 11 (893 Views)

Drawing a line from the center/ insertion point of a node

893 Views, 10 Replies
09-01-2010 05:11 PM

I have created some blocks and put them on layer 0 and set them up in Point Styles and description keys.When they are inserted into the dwg. attached to a point, I can not draw a line from the center or insertion point.  But I can draw a line using the POINT NUmber.  Any ideas?

 

Thxs.

 

David

*Expert Elite*
BrianHailey
Posts: 2,749
Registered: ‎04-27-2005
Message 2 of 11 (891 Views)

Re: Drawing a line from the center/ insertion point of a node

09-01-2010 05:13 PM in reply to: MtnMax700

Snap to the NODE.

Distinguished Contributor
MtnMax700
Posts: 141
Registered: ‎08-06-2010
Message 3 of 11 (884 Views)

Re: Drawing a line from the center/ insertion point of a node

09-01-2010 05:59 PM in reply to: MtnMax700

Why doesn't it find the insertion point/center of the symbol?  Do they lose these properties as nodes?

 

Thxs.

 

David

Active Contributor
rreid
Posts: 30
Registered: ‎08-21-2007
Message 4 of 11 (861 Views)

Re: Drawing a line from the center/ insertion point of a node

09-02-2010 05:28 AM in reply to: MtnMax700

Yes, when using a block within a point style, all AutoCAD properties such as center, quadrant, nearest, etc are lost because they are not important to a point. A point is an X Y and Z location, thus the other geometric properties of a "symbol" are irrelevant to a point location.

 

HTH

Richard W. Reid, Jr. PLS

AutoCAD - Civil 3D - Map 3D - ESRI - Google
AutoCAD Civil 3D Implementation Expert
Distinguished Contributor
MtnMax700
Posts: 141
Registered: ‎08-06-2010
Message 5 of 11 (841 Views)

Re: Drawing a line from the center/ insertion point of a node

09-02-2010 09:02 AM in reply to: rreid

Richard,

 

I tried snapping to the node and it worked on most of my blocks but not all.  Any ideas?

 

Thxs.

 

David

Active Contributor
rreid
Posts: 30
Registered: ‎08-21-2007
Message 6 of 11 (838 Views)

Re: Drawing a line from the center/ insertion point of a node

09-02-2010 09:05 AM in reply to: MtnMax700

Zoom your CAD file into one of your blocks that the NODE osnap does not work on and post the DWG. I can take a look at it.

 

 

Richard W. Reid, Jr. PLS

AutoCAD - Civil 3D - Map 3D - ESRI - Google
AutoCAD Civil 3D Implementation Expert
Distinguished Contributor
MtnMax700
Posts: 141
Registered: ‎08-06-2010
Message 7 of 11 (826 Views)

Re: Drawing a line from the center/ insertion point of a node

09-02-2010 12:28 PM in reply to: MtnMax700

Thxs,.

Active Contributor
rreid
Posts: 30
Registered: ‎08-21-2007
Message 8 of 11 (820 Views)

Re: Drawing a line from the center/ insertion point of a node

09-02-2010 12:59 PM in reply to: MtnMax700

David

Wow - I am stumped.There is something definitely wrong with your MON point style. And I am also seeing some bad things in your CAD file. I inserted this DWG into one of my DWT's and all the same things return.

 

Perhaps exporting your points and bringing them back into a new DWG will help.

 

Sorry - perhaps you could reach out to Autodesk or your reseller for assistance. There are a few undocumented commands which might help.

 

 

Richard W. Reid, Jr. PLS

AutoCAD - Civil 3D - Map 3D - ESRI - Google
AutoCAD Civil 3D Implementation Expert
Distinguished Contributor
MtnMax700
Posts: 141
Registered: ‎08-06-2010
Message 9 of 11 (797 Views)

Re: Drawing a line from the center/ insertion point of a node

09-02-2010 05:23 PM in reply to: MtnMax700

Thxs. for trying.

*Expert Elite*
Jeff_M
Posts: 4,194
Registered: ‎07-22-2003
Message 10 of 11 (776 Views)

Re: Drawing a line from the center/ insertion point of a node

09-03-2010 06:56 AM in reply to: MtnMax700

Edit the bm block.....erase the 2 wide polylines used for the fill areas and replace with either a solid hatch or redraw those polylines. Then the NODE Osnap will work.

 

Don't ask me why, because I have no idea why....

Jeff_M, also a frequent Swamper

You are not logged in.

Log into access your profile, ask and answer questions, share ideas and more. Haven't signed up yet? Register

Announcements
Are you familiar with the Autodesk Expert Elites? The Expert Elite program is made up of customers that help other customers by sharing knowledge and exemplifying an engaging style of collaboration. To learn more, please visit our Expert Elite website.

Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions to get help installing your software.

Ask the Community


Civil 3D Exchange Apps

Created by the community for the community, Autodesk Exchange Apps for AutoCAD Civil 3D helps you achieve greater speed, accuracy, and automation from concept to manufacturing.

Connect with Civil 3D

Twitter

Facebook

Blogs