AutoCAD Civil 3D General

Reply
Member
PLS22395
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎07-01-2013
Message 1 of 7 (484 Views)
Accepted Solution

Drawing 3d Polylines from points not working...

484 Views, 6 Replies
07-01-2013 03:43 PM

I have points in a 2012 C3D drawing and I am looking to draw 3d polylines from point to point.  Ultimately I am wanting to generate breaklines for a surface from a topo.  I was able to do this a few months ago and now no matter what I try nothing seems to work.  When use the 3P command the Z Vertex is 0.  All of the points in the drawing have elevations. I tried drawing a feature line however, the beginning elevation is saying 0.  Its as if these lines do not recognize my points as having elevations.  If anyone has a solution it would be greatly appreciated... 

Distinguished Contributor
NathanBee
Posts: 207
Registered: ‎12-07-2006
Message 2 of 7 (471 Views)

Re: Drawing 3d Polylines from points not working...

07-01-2013 05:57 PM in reply to: PLS22395

Check your OSNAPZ value.

 

0 = Osnap uses the Z-value of the specified point

1 = Osnap substitutes the Z-value of the specified point with the elevation (ELEV) set for the current UCS

*Expert Elite*
mathewk
Posts: 2,711
Registered: ‎07-09-2003
Message 3 of 7 (459 Views)

Re: Drawing 3d Polylines from points not working...

07-01-2013 08:45 PM in reply to: PLS22395
Have you checked the point style that is applied to those points to see if the Z is being flattened?
Matt Kolberg
Cansel - Autodesk Division
http://www.cansel.ca/
Member
PLS22395
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎07-01-2013
Message 4 of 7 (427 Views)

Re: Drawing 3d Polylines from points not working...

07-02-2013 07:13 AM in reply to: mathewk

Thats exactly what it was, Thank you!

Mentor
elaine3051
Posts: 174
Registered: ‎04-19-2007
Message 5 of 7 (334 Views)

Re: Drawing 3d Polylines from points not working...

08-14-2013 01:17 PM in reply to: mathewk
Mark where do you check that? I cannot find the z setting. is it in commands under point style settings????
Member
PLS22395
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎07-01-2013
Message 6 of 7 (321 Views)

Re: Drawing 3d Polylines from points not working...

08-15-2013 07:24 AM in reply to: elaine3051

Yes it is, click on any point, right click go to point group settings, pull the tab down right of the style, click edit current, go to the 3d geometry then you can select to flatten points to an elevation or use the point elevation. 

*Expert Elite*
troma
Posts: 2,519
Registered: ‎05-21-2008
Message 7 of 7 (310 Views)

Re: Drawing 3d Polylines from points not working...

08-15-2013 02:03 PM in reply to: elaine3051
In other words, not commands, but the point style itself.


Credit where credit is due! Give kudos or accept as solution whenever you can.

You are not logged in.

Log into access your profile, ask and answer questions, share ideas and more. Haven't signed up yet? Register

Announcements
Are you familiar with the Autodesk Expert Elites? The Expert Elite program is made up of customers that help other customers by sharing knowledge and exemplifying an engaging style of collaboration. To learn more, please visit our Expert Elite website.

Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions to get help installing your software.

Ask the Community


Civil 3D Exchange Apps

Created by the community for the community, Autodesk Exchange Apps for AutoCAD Civil 3D helps you achieve greater speed, accuracy, and automation from concept to manufacturing.

Connect with Civil 3D

Twitter

Facebook

Blogs