Community
Civil 3D Forum
Welcome to Autodesk’s Civil 3D Forums. Share your knowledge, ask questions, and explore popular AutoCAD Civil 3D topics.
cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Do description key set layers actually control anything?

2 REPLIES 2
SOLVED
Message 1 of 3
Survey1ebmud
519 Views, 2 Replies

Do description key set layers actually control anything?

I am new to C3D and getting used to the style system.  I've been using Phillip Zimmerman's book "Harnessing AutoCAD Civil 3D: 2009" to get up to speed on the software.  He states on page 140:

"A Key Set assigns a point style layer (marker layer).  A Point Style has both marker and label layers.  The point style’s marker layer should be set to 0 (zero) and the label’s layer is the remaining Display panel layer assignment.  This strategy places the marker on the Description Key Set layer and the label on the point style’s layer."

As far as I can tell, putting a point style's marker on layer 0 does not reference the description key's layer as he states.  The only way I've been able to control what layer a point and label appears on is by creating a point style for each code.  I've tried using default and named point styles, I've turned the point styles on and off in the description key set, and I've played with the settings in the point creation dialog box.

Any help?  Using ACAD C3D 2009.  Thanks.

Craig

2 REPLIES 2
Message 2 of 3
Sinc
in reply to: Survey1ebmud

You should need to create a Point Style for each symbol.

But if you use the strategy of setting the Marker Display Layer in the Point Style to 0, then the marker will "appear" to be on the Point Layer (e.g., the layer assigned in the Desc Keys).