AutoCAD Civil 3D General Discussion

Reply
Contributor
BlithelyDoubting
Posts: 13
Registered: ‎08-07-2008
Message 1 of 8 (318 Views)

Distance from polyline to feature line

318 Views, 7 Replies
08-28-2009 07:11 AM
Any ideas? In Civil 3D 2010, I draw a polyline then a paralell feature line with elevations. Then I use the di command selecting a nearest point on the polyline. On the second point I use a perpendicular snap with a xy point filter and a z of zero. The resulting distance is like ~86450 instead of the expected ~20. BTW, I'm not doing it wrong; I've been using this sequence for years. Try it.
*neilw
Message 2 of 8 (318 Views)

Re: Distance from polyline to feature line

08-28-2009 08:24 AM in reply to: BlithelyDoubting

I get the same results. The point filter doesn't
seem to work on feature lines. First time I've tried it. That can really
make things difficult.




__________ Information from ESET NOD32 Antivirus, version of virus signature database 4377 (20090828) __________



The message was checked by ESET NOD32 Antivirus.



http://www.eset.com



Contributor
BlithelyDoubting
Posts: 13
Registered: ‎08-07-2008
Message 3 of 8 (318 Views)

Re: Distance from polyline to feature line

08-28-2009 10:17 AM in reply to: BlithelyDoubting

Not only does it not apply the filter, the output is wildly incorrect. (which is a good thing, since i might not have noticed otherwise)

*neilw
Message 4 of 8 (318 Views)

Re: Distance from polyline to feature line

08-28-2009 10:45 AM in reply to: BlithelyDoubting

Yes I saw that as well.




__________ Information from ESET NOD32 Antivirus, version of virus signature database 4378 (20090828) __________



The message was checked by ESET NOD32 Antivirus.



http://www.eset.com



*Expert Elite*
Sinc
Posts: 6,207
Registered: ‎11-18-2006
Message 5 of 8 (318 Views)

Re: Distance from polyline to feature line

08-28-2009 11:42 AM in reply to: BlithelyDoubting
That's pretty wild. I had to try it myself to verify. I see the same thing in C3D 2009.

Luckily, I haven't ever really used the DIST command in Civil 3D. I always use the PTINV command from the Sincpac-C3D instead.

-- Sinc
http://www.ejsurveying.com
http://www.quuxsoft.com
Sinc
Active Contributor
quannguyen
Posts: 43
Registered: ‎10-26-2007
Message 6 of 8 (318 Views)

Re: Distance from polyline to feature line

09-12-2009 12:12 AM in reply to: BlithelyDoubting
It might faster to draw a Polyline (not line) from one to the other (perpendicularly) and glance at the quick properties of the polyline for the distance. Sure, you need to delete the polyline afterward; or just shoot an undo.
*Expert Elite*
mikeevans
Posts: 752
Registered: ‎09-29-2008
Message 7 of 8 (318 Views)

Re: Distance from polyline to feature line

09-13-2009 09:42 AM in reply to: BlithelyDoubting
try an aligned dimension, they only work in a horizontal plane.
Mike Evans

Civil3D 2013 / 2014 British UK
Windows 7 Professional 64-bit
Intel(R) Core(TM) i7-3820 CPU @ 3.60GHz (8 CPUs), ~4.0GHz With 32768MB RAM, AMD FirePro V4900, Dedicated Memory: 984 MB, Shared Memory: 814 MB

Valued Contributor
johngordon6189
Posts: 89
Registered: ‎03-27-2006
Message 8 of 8 (318 Views)

Re: Distance from polyline to feature line

09-21-2009 07:04 AM in reply to: BlithelyDoubting
this is a problem that I hope can be addressed. I use the .xy filter a lot to verify distances from nodes with z elevations to linework that usually has no elevation. I keep running into this problem and it's frustrating.

John

You are not logged in.

Log into access your profile, ask and answer questions, share ideas and more. Haven't signed up yet? Register

Announcements
Are you familiar with the Autodesk Expert Elites? The Expert Elite program is made up of customers that help other customers by sharing knowledge and exemplifying an engaging style of collaboration. To learn more, please visit our Expert Elite website.

Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions to get help installing your software.

Ask the Community


Civil 3D Exchange Apps

Created by the community for the community, Autodesk Exchange Apps for AutoCAD Civil 3D helps you achieve greater speed, accuracy, and automation from concept to manufacturing.

Connect with Civil 3D

Twitter

Facebook

Blogs