Community
Civil 3D Forum
Welcome to Autodesk’s Civil 3D Forums. Share your knowledge, ask questions, and explore popular AutoCAD Civil 3D topics.
cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Display point data from .shp file

7 REPLIES 7
Message 1 of 8
sbrasher2010
1232 Views, 7 Replies

Display point data from .shp file

Hi everyone, 

I am trying to figure out how to show point labels on the points I imported from a .shp file. I used MAPIMPORT and brought in the associated object data but I don't know how to get it to display in my drawing. I've read some of the other posts, but none of them have really helped. Any direction would be greatly appreciated!

7 REPLIES 7
Message 2 of 8

It's better to connect the .shp file through the FDO connections.

Todd Rogers
BIM Manager
Blog | Twitter | LinkedIn

Message 3 of 8

I'm sorry, I am really new to this. Can you be more specific? 

Message 4 of 8
antoniovinci
in reply to: sbrasher2010

There are many ways to get your goal, depending on what you have: is a point or a text shapefile?

Message 5 of 8

Instead of doing a MAPIMPORT, type in MAPWSPACE, then ON to open the Map Task Pane.  Click the Data button, the select Connect to Data.  There you will select Add SHP Connection.  Browse to the .shp file, then click the Connect button.  Once connected, click the Add to Map button.  Then you will be able to "stylize" your connection with labels and such.

Todd Rogers
BIM Manager
Blog | Twitter | LinkedIn

Message 6 of 8
sbrasher2010
in reply to: antoniovinci

It is a point shape file. It has a lot of object data associated with it and I just want to show the point location and a few items of object data as text alongside the point in my drawing.

Message 7 of 8
Murph_Map
in reply to: sbrasher2010