AutoCAD Civil 3D General

Reply
Active Member
janic.piotr
Posts: 7
Registered: ‎01-09-2013
Message 1 of 16 (732 Views)

Digital Terrain Model (DTM)

732 Views, 15 Replies
01-09-2013 05:16 AM

Good morning

How to generate a Digital Terrain Model - DTM GRID method in AutoCAD Civil 3D 2012 on the basis of X, Y, Z (saved in. Txt)?

Valued Mentor
fcernst
Posts: 1,089
Registered: ‎01-07-2011
Message 2 of 16 (717 Views)

Re: Digital Terrain Model (DTM)

01-09-2013 06:26 AM in reply to: janic.piotr

Add as an ENZ point file as Definition data to a new Surface object.

Fred Ernst, PE
C3D 2015
Ernst Engineering
www.ernstengineering.com
Active Member
janic.piotr
Posts: 7
Registered: ‎01-09-2013
Message 3 of 16 (705 Views)

Re: Digital Terrain Model (DTM)

01-09-2013 06:38 AM in reply to: fcernst

When adding pops points erroneous reading the information on file with the points.

Valued Mentor
fcernst
Posts: 1,089
Registered: ‎01-07-2011
Message 4 of 16 (702 Views)

Re: Digital Terrain Model (DTM)

01-09-2013 06:44 AM in reply to: janic.piotr

Well you just can't throw your hands up in the air now :smileyindifferent:  You have to make sure that text file is in the correct format (i.e, comma delimited, space delimited).

 

Look at the C3D Help to make sure you have the correct format. You may have to do a little post processing to that file in your text editor or Excel.

Fred Ernst, PE
C3D 2015
Ernst Engineering
www.ernstengineering.com
Active Member
janic.piotr
Posts: 7
Registered: ‎01-09-2013
Message 5 of 16 (687 Views)

Re: Digital Terrain Model (DTM)

01-09-2013 07:48 AM in reply to: fcernst

The file is OK. TIN model comes out correctly. Only after the creation of GRID surface and attempts to read the file with the coordinates of the points of error pops up.

Regards

Valued Mentor
fcernst
Posts: 1,089
Registered: ‎01-07-2011
Message 6 of 16 (665 Views)

Re: Digital Terrain Model (DTM)

01-09-2013 12:36 PM in reply to: janic.piotr

Hi There,

 

Ok, so we have the TIN surface built as you first requested...

 

Now what are you trying to "read" the TIN with?

Fred Ernst, PE
C3D 2015
Ernst Engineering
www.ernstengineering.com
*Expert Elite*
troma
Posts: 2,519
Registered: ‎05-21-2008
Message 7 of 16 (660 Views)

Re: Digital Terrain Model (DTM)

01-09-2013 12:59 PM in reply to: fcernst

Fred, the OP is saying the TIN surface works but a GRID surface doesn't.  The first post in the thread is in regard to the creation of a GRID surface.

I've never used GRID surfaces, so I can't help, but just trying to define the problem.


Credit where credit is due! Give kudos or accept as solution whenever you can.

Valued Mentor
fcernst
Posts: 1,089
Registered: ‎01-07-2011
Message 8 of 16 (656 Views)

Re: Digital Terrain Model (DTM)

01-09-2013 01:24 PM in reply to: troma

Oh thanks.

 

 

 

Janic,

 

Do you want a Grid Surface from a DEM, or do you just want to do this: 

 

Click Home tabCreate Ground Data panelPoints menuCreate Points - SurfaceOn Grid

 

on top of your TIN from that x,yz, file?

Fred Ernst, PE
C3D 2015
Ernst Engineering
www.ernstengineering.com
Active Member
janic.piotr
Posts: 7
Registered: ‎01-09-2013
Message 9 of 16 (630 Views)

Re: Digital Terrain Model (DTM)

01-10-2013 12:41 AM in reply to: fcernst

Hi,

 

Again, needs to create a grid of squares on the basis of measurements GPS (data stored in a text file x, y, z) without the TIN.

my sample data

 

1,5644422.129,6423029.854,169.499,
2,5644411.918,6423153.805,149.853,
3,5644419.433,6423150.998,149.797,
4,5644421.052,6423147.883,149.915,
...

My email: janic.piotr @ gmail.com

Regards
Peter

Mentor
autoMick
Posts: 225
Registered: ‎07-19-2012
Message 10 of 16 (620 Views)

Re: Digital Terrain Model (DTM)

01-10-2013 02:30 AM in reply to: fcernst

OP - did you actually try as fcernst suggested?

 

Click Home tabCreate Ground Data panelPoints menuCreate Points - SurfaceOn Grid

 

this will generate points in a grid pattern that conform to the surface created by your irregular points.

Infrastructure Design Suite Premium 2014
Self-built i7-3930K, 16Gb RAM, P9X79 m/board
SSD(system), HDD(data), Win7Pro64, Quadro K4000

You are not logged in.

Log into access your profile, ask and answer questions, share ideas and more. Haven't signed up yet? Register

Announcements
Are you familiar with the Autodesk Expert Elites? The Expert Elite program is made up of customers that help other customers by sharing knowledge and exemplifying an engaging style of collaboration. To learn more, please visit our Expert Elite website.

Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions to get help installing your software.

Ask the Community


Civil 3D Exchange Apps

Created by the community for the community, Autodesk Exchange Apps for AutoCAD Civil 3D helps you achieve greater speed, accuracy, and automation from concept to manufacturing.

Connect with Civil 3D

Twitter

Facebook

Blogs