AutoCAD Civil 3D General

Reply
Active Member
adam.freer
Posts: 7
Registered: ‎08-09-2010
Message 1 of 8 (1,018 Views)

Different LandXML format outputs - Multiline and Single line?

1018 Views, 7 Replies
03-04-2012 07:43 PM

Hi all,

 

I have been outputting surfaces from Civil 3D 2012 using the LandXML export function. Some of the XML files that are output the data is on a single line and some of the outputs are on multiple lines.

 

Not a major issue as they both import back into C3D ok but within my office we edit the XML file slightly inorder to get it into another software package and require the multi line format.

 

Does anyone know why this happens? The only difference I can see is the size of the data used to create the surface!

All drawings have the same LandXML export settings

All surfaces have been created using a combination of point groups, breaklines etc..

 

Cheers!

 

Product Support
vivekramesh
Posts: 202
Registered: ‎07-15-2008
Message 2 of 8 (990 Views)

Re: Different LandXML format outputs - Multiline and Single line?

03-05-2012 09:10 PM in reply to: adam.freer

Hi Adam,

 

Could you upload one of the LandXML files for review also depicting which portions come out as single line and which

 

as multi line?

 

I Land XML ed out two different surfaces and the surface definition (Point ID, E, N and D) came out in a single line.



Vivek Ramesh
Product Support Specialist
Global Services
Autodesk, Inc.

Active Member
adam.freer
Posts: 7
Registered: ‎08-09-2010
Message 3 of 8 (987 Views)

Re: Different LandXML format outputs - Multiline and Single line?

03-05-2012 09:20 PM in reply to: vivekramesh

Please find attached 2 x examples of xml file in txt format... I haven't attached the whole files as the single line xml file was 14 mb

Active Member
adam.freer
Posts: 7
Registered: ‎08-09-2010
Message 4 of 8 (983 Views)

Re: Different LandXML format outputs - Multiline and Single line?

03-05-2012 09:27 PM in reply to: adam.freer

The other point to note on this is the surface that outputs the large 14mb single line xml...

 

If I divide the surface into four roughly equal parts and create a cropped surface of each section and then output the cropped surfaces individually the XML file outputs in the correct multi line format!

 

My thoughts are that Civil 3D doesnt handle large surfaces and I will be dissapointed if it is the case.

 

The site is about 600 metres x 850 metres and contains a point group and various breaklines..

 

Thanks

Product Support
vivekramesh
Posts: 202
Registered: ‎07-15-2008
Message 5 of 8 (981 Views)

Re: Different LandXML format outputs - Multiline and Single line?

03-05-2012 09:44 PM in reply to: adam.freer

Thank you further for your inputs.

 

While I research further on this behaviour, I noticed that the the files have been exported to LandXML using LandXML

 

version 1.0. Would it make a difference if LandXML version 1.2 was used?



Vivek Ramesh
Product Support Specialist
Global Services
Autodesk, Inc.

Active Member
adam.freer
Posts: 7
Registered: ‎08-09-2010
Message 6 of 8 (970 Views)

Re: Different LandXML format outputs - Multiline and Single line?

03-06-2012 02:16 PM in reply to: vivekramesh

Vivek,

 

I have tried the other versions and it makes no difference.... I have uploaded the dwg file to the ftp site

 

Cheers

*Expert Elite*
Jeff_M
Posts: 4,175
Registered: ‎07-22-2003
Message 7 of 8 (962 Views)

Re: Different LandXML format outputs - Multiline and Single line?

03-06-2012 02:58 PM in reply to: adam.freer

Adam, 

I don't know why you get the different outputs, but if the only issue is the format you might try this....

 

Download and install XML Notepad (it's free from Microsoft), open the single line file with XML Notepad, make sure the options are set to "Auto Format on Save", then save the file. It should then look like the multiline file.

 

Attached is revised file you posted doing just this (after first manually editing in Notepad to put the clipped tags back in)

Jeff_M, also a frequent Swamper
Product Support
vivekramesh
Posts: 202
Registered: ‎07-15-2008
Message 8 of 8 (952 Views)

Re: Different LandXML format outputs - Multiline and Single line?

03-06-2012 09:38 PM in reply to: adam.freer

Hi Adam,

 

The single line XML example file you have uploaded depicts a break line and not the surface point details.

 

The Multiline XML example file you have uploaded depicts the surface point details.

 

Please note that the the Breaklines if large (with a number of vertices will come as one entity running into many lines)

 

The surface however will will come in multiple lines as each point is unique within the

 

surface. (As shown in the screenshot)

 

I used your drawing to export the surface to LandXML and the surface showed up in single lines.

 

If you scroll to the point in the LandXML output where the surface begins, you must notice multilines for surface

 

depiction. Please confirm.

 

LandXML Export.jpg

 

 



Vivek Ramesh
Product Support Specialist
Global Services
Autodesk, Inc.

You are not logged in.

Log into access your profile, ask and answer questions, share ideas and more. Haven't signed up yet? Register

Announcements
Are you familiar with the Autodesk Expert Elites? The Expert Elite program is made up of customers that help other customers by sharing knowledge and exemplifying an engaging style of collaboration. To learn more, please visit our Expert Elite website.

Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions to get help installing your software.

Ask the Community


Civil 3D Exchange Apps

Created by the community for the community, Autodesk Exchange Apps for AutoCAD Civil 3D helps you achieve greater speed, accuracy, and automation from concept to manufacturing.

Connect with Civil 3D

Twitter

Facebook

Blogs