AutoCAD Civil 3D General

Reply
Valued Mentor
Valued Mentor
sjg
Posts: 533
Registered: ‎09-29-2010
Message 1 of 5 (200 Views)
Accepted Solution

Desciption Key w/ Field Code Escape

200 Views, 4 Replies
04-30-2012 12:49 PM
Why is that if I import some points that have a "/" (field code escape) the symbol does not come in. For Example: TP/ 1' N.
Steve Goessling
Land Consultants
Civil3D 2013
Windows 7, 64 bit
Intel i7 2600 @ 3.40Ghz
16 GB RAM
Nvidia Quadro 600
*Expert Elite*
sboon
Posts: 2,066
Registered: ‎11-08-2005
Message 2 of 5 (170 Views)

Re: Desciption Key w/ Field Code Escape

04-30-2012 09:46 PM in reply to: sjg

Is "TP/" in your Description Key set?

Valued Mentor
Valued Mentor
sjg
Posts: 533
Registered: ‎09-29-2010
Message 3 of 5 (163 Views)

Re: Desciption Key w/ Field Code Escape

05-01-2012 06:37 AM in reply to: sboon
No, what is the proper method to add a note after a description key (TP), for a survey shot, I guess the "/' (field code escape) is just for linework. I would have thought the field code escape would have worked for both.
Steve Goessling
Land Consultants
Civil3D 2013
Windows 7, 64 bit
Intel i7 2600 @ 3.40Ghz
16 GB RAM
Nvidia Quadro 600
Valued Mentor
IanMcClain
Posts: 437
Registered: ‎09-29-2008
Message 4 of 5 (160 Views)

Re: Desciption Key w/ Field Code Escape

05-01-2012 07:19 AM in reply to: sjg

Use a space after the TP code. Codes recognize space as a deliminter, but they don't recognize "/", that is only for figure prefiz commands. I don't think you need a space after the "/", so either "TP /1' N" or "TP / 1' N" would work.

 

If you still have problems withe the description, try removing the ' as well. That could be truncating your description. I always use FT or IN in my description codes because of that.

-Ian McClain
(running C3D 2012 sp4, Win7 64bit, 8GB)
Valued Mentor
Valued Mentor
sjg
Posts: 533
Registered: ‎09-29-2010
Message 5 of 5 (145 Views)

Re: Desciption Key w/ Field Code Escape

05-01-2012 09:20 AM in reply to: IanMcClain
That worked, thanks.
Steve Goessling
Land Consultants
Civil3D 2013
Windows 7, 64 bit
Intel i7 2600 @ 3.40Ghz
16 GB RAM
Nvidia Quadro 600

You are not logged in.

Log into access your profile, ask and answer questions, share ideas and more. Haven't signed up yet? Register

Announcements
Are you familiar with the Autodesk Expert Elites? The Expert Elite program is made up of customers that help other customers by sharing knowledge and exemplifying an engaging style of collaboration. To learn more, please visit our Expert Elite website.

Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions to get help installing your software.

Ask the Community


Civil 3D Exchange Apps

Created by the community for the community, Autodesk Exchange Apps for AutoCAD Civil 3D helps you achieve greater speed, accuracy, and automation from concept to manufacturing.

Connect with Civil 3D

Twitter

Facebook

Blogs