AutoCAD Civil 3D General Discussion

Reply
*Expert Elite*
Neilw
Posts: 2,223
Registered: ‎09-04-2006
Message 1 of 12 (459 Views)
Accepted Solution

Delete all labels on a Feature Line

459 Views, 11 Replies
01-31-2013 08:20 PM

Can anyone offer suggestions on how to delete all labels on a featureline? Ideally it would be great if we could just pick the line and have it's labels deleted. QSelect and Select Similar require too much interaction to be convenient.

Neil Wilson (a.k.a. neilw)
Infrastructure Suite/C3D 2013, LDT 2004, Power Civil v8i SS1
WIN 7 64 PRO
HP Pavillion h8xt, i7 2600, 12 GB
RADEON 6450, 1 GB
http://www.sec-landmgt.com
*Expert Elite*
troma
Posts: 2,519
Registered: ‎05-21-2008
Message 2 of 12 (445 Views)

Re: Delete all labels on a Feature Line

02-01-2013 06:03 AM in reply to: Neilw

What happens if you delete the feature line and OOPS it back?  I haven't tried it.


Credit where credit is due! Give kudos or accept as solution whenever you can.

*Expert Elite*
Neilw
Posts: 2,223
Registered: ‎09-04-2006
Message 3 of 12 (435 Views)

Re: Delete all labels on a Feature Line

02-01-2013 09:42 AM in reply to: troma

That's not good If the featureline is used for a grading or is a breakline in a surface. I expect this will require a custom tool. I wonder if anyone has developed one.

Neil Wilson (a.k.a. neilw)
Infrastructure Suite/C3D 2013, LDT 2004, Power Civil v8i SS1
WIN 7 64 PRO
HP Pavillion h8xt, i7 2600, 12 GB
RADEON 6450, 1 GB
http://www.sec-landmgt.com
*Expert Elite*
jmayo
Posts: 2,747
Registered: ‎11-13-2006
Message 4 of 12 (418 Views)

Re: Delete all labels on a Feature Line

02-01-2013 12:03 PM in reply to: Neilw

One way is to select the FL and temporarily move it to an empty layer. Select the line and on label on the line. Isolate these two layers.

 

At first you will see all the labels on the same layer. Regen the display and only the labels on the FL are visible. Use L to R crossing windows to select the labels and erase.

John Mayo, PE
IDSP 2014
Win 7 64, Xeon ES165@3.2Ghz,
64 GB RAM, Quadro K4000 (x2)
*Expert Elite*
Jeff_M
Posts: 4,202
Registered: ‎07-22-2003
Message 5 of 12 (403 Views)

Re: Delete all labels on a Feature Line

02-01-2013 02:02 PM in reply to: Neilw

Neilw wrote:

I expect this will require a custom tool. I wonder if anyone has developed one.


I have now....don't forget to Unblock the zip file before extracting the dll. Use NETLOAD to load it into C3D, command name is REMOVELABELS. May work on many of the C3D labeled objects, tested on Featurelines and Surfaces. No warranty on what will happen if you select something else :-) I will do some more extensive testing at a later date, or, if someone wants to do so, I will provide the source code.

 

This is for C3D2013+ only.

Jeff_M, also a frequent Swamper
*Expert Elite*
Neilw
Posts: 2,223
Registered: ‎09-04-2006
Message 6 of 12 (396 Views)

Re: Delete all labels on a Feature Line

02-01-2013 03:24 PM in reply to: Jeff_M

Wow...that is really slick! It even warns you if there are no labels in the file that can be deleted.

 

What a handy tool. Nice job Jeff and thank you!

 

PS: Considering the name of the .dll, are there other commands included?

 

Follow up: I tried it on a surface thinking it would remove contour labels. It didn't, but I was surpised to find it had deleted all the spot elevation and slope labels. Better watch out with that one.

Neil Wilson (a.k.a. neilw)
Infrastructure Suite/C3D 2013, LDT 2004, Power Civil v8i SS1
WIN 7 64 PRO
HP Pavillion h8xt, i7 2600, 12 GB
RADEON 6450, 1 GB
http://www.sec-landmgt.com
*Expert Elite*
Jeff_M
Posts: 4,202
Registered: ‎07-22-2003
Message 7 of 12 (387 Views)

Re: Delete all labels on a Feature Line

02-01-2013 04:20 PM in reply to: Neilw

Thanks, Neil. I named the DLL thinking I may be throwing some quick little commands in there. Some I've posted in the past, and others I may see fit to add in the future. So it's more of a forward thinking name than meaning anything today.

 

Yes, selecting a surface will remove all of it's associated labels. I will have to see about the contour labels, I think these are of a different object type (a label group vs a label). 

Jeff_M, also a frequent Swamper
*Expert Elite*
jmayo
Posts: 2,747
Registered: ‎11-13-2006
Message 8 of 12 (383 Views)

Re: Delete all labels on a Feature Line

02-01-2013 05:02 PM in reply to: Neilw

Very cool Jeff! Thanks a bunch.

John Mayo, PE
IDSP 2014
Win 7 64, Xeon ES165@3.2Ghz,
64 GB RAM, Quadro K4000 (x2)
*Expert Elite*
Neilw
Posts: 2,223
Registered: ‎09-04-2006
Message 9 of 12 (378 Views)

Re: Delete all labels on a Feature Line

02-01-2013 06:19 PM in reply to: Jeff_M

I can't think of any scenario where I would want to globally delete all spot and slope labels, but deleting contour labels would come in handy in those cases where we have a bazillion little contour label lines scattered about.

 

By the way, a while back you made a tool to toggle off all masks in label styles. It is very useful when exporting to older versions of Autocad since the C3D export tool leaves them intact and makes a mess for the end user to clean up. That would be a good one to add to your tool set if you get around to building one.

 

You might consider making your tools available on the ACAD App. exchange. They're definitely worth a small fee.

Neil Wilson (a.k.a. neilw)
Infrastructure Suite/C3D 2013, LDT 2004, Power Civil v8i SS1
WIN 7 64 PRO
HP Pavillion h8xt, i7 2600, 12 GB
RADEON 6450, 1 GB
http://www.sec-landmgt.com
*Expert Elite*
Joe-Bouza
Posts: 4,782
Registered: ‎12-15-2008
Message 10 of 12 (353 Views)

Re: Delete all labels on a Feature Line

02-03-2013 07:50 AM in reply to: Neilw

select similar doesn't work for that?

Thank you

Joseph D. Bouza, P.E. (one of 'THOSE' People) Civil 3D 2012 & 2013
HP Z210 Workstation
Intel Xeon CPU E31240 @ 3.30 Hz
12 GB Ram


Note: Its all Resistentialism, so keep calm and carry on

64 Bit Win7 OS

You are not logged in.

Log into access your profile, ask and answer questions, share ideas and more. Haven't signed up yet? Register

Announcements
Are you familiar with the Autodesk Expert Elites? The Expert Elite program is made up of customers that help other customers by sharing knowledge and exemplifying an engaging style of collaboration. To learn more, please visit our Expert Elite website.

Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions to get help installing your software.

Ask the Community


Civil 3D Exchange Apps

Created by the community for the community, Autodesk Exchange Apps for AutoCAD Civil 3D helps you achieve greater speed, accuracy, and automation from concept to manufacturing.

Connect with Civil 3D

Twitter

Facebook

Blogs