AutoCAD Civil 3D General Discussion

Reply
Distinguished Contributor
clemay
Posts: 111
Registered: ‎01-24-2013
Message 1 of 5 (335 Views)
Accepted Solution

Default Structure Label Style Not Working

335 Views, 4 Replies
12-12-2013 09:15 AM

I have a pipe network that I am working on and in my parts list I have my Structure Label Style Created.  But when I click on a structure that I have deleted the label previously and then right click and hoose "Add Label".  The label that it adds to the structure is not the one I have set in my Network Properties Dialog.  Can someone let me know how to correct this so when I choose a structure I have in my network and right click and choose "Add Label".  The label style is what I want it to be and not some other style that is in my list of styles?  I have placed a pic of my network properties to show my structure label style I have and what I want when I try to add a label to an existing structure in my network.

 

 

The issue is when I click on a structure and add label, it is a different style as shown below.  And I don't want to have to change the style from the one it defaults to if I don't have to every single time.

 

 

Please guide me in the right direction to set my default label style when I add a label.  Thanks.

C3D 2014 SP1
DELL Precision T3600
Intel Xeon E5-1650 @ 3.20GHz
NVIDIA QUADRO 4000 Dual Monitor
32 GB RAM / Win7 Pro 64-bit
*Expert Elite*
Jay_B
Posts: 2,146
Registered: ‎09-15-2010
Message 2 of 5 (324 Views)

Re: Default Structure Label Style Not Working

12-12-2013 09:51 AM in reply to: clemay

The label being used by the Rt. Click Add Labels method is controlled by the Feature and or Command Settings for the "Pipe Network"

Settings.

Settings Tab of Toolspace>Pipe Network>Rt. Click>Edit Feature Settings>Default Styles>Structure Plan Label Style or Structure Profile Label Style.

They can also be set in the "Command Settings".

 

Alternatively if you like to choose as you label things which Style is applied then use the Annotate Tab>Add Labels>Pipe Network>"Add Pipe Network Labels"

(top selection) then you can decide which ones are to be applied without going into the Settings all the time if utility type changes etc.

Jay

C3D 2014 SP2
Win 7 Professional 64 Bit
*Expert Elite*
Jeff_M
Posts: 4,194
Registered: ‎07-22-2003
Message 3 of 5 (323 Views)

Re: Default Structure Label Style Not Working

12-12-2013 09:53 AM in reply to: clemay

IIRC the default styles in the individual Pipe Network properties are only used when creating new objects. Otherwise the labeling style gets it's default setting from the General Pipe Network settings, which can be overridden for each of the Command settings for adding labels.

12-12-2013 9-52-51 AM.png

Jeff_M, also a frequent Swamper
Distinguished Contributor
clemay
Posts: 111
Registered: ‎01-24-2013
Message 4 of 5 (308 Views)

Re: Default Structure Label Style Not Working

12-12-2013 10:41 AM in reply to: Jay_B

Thanks a million. Got it working just as needed.  I just took a week course on C3D and that one slipped through the cracks.  The course book is like 3 inches thick.  So its a bit difficult to absorb everything until you actually start using it.  Thanks Again!

C3D 2014 SP1
DELL Precision T3600
Intel Xeon E5-1650 @ 3.20GHz
NVIDIA QUADRO 4000 Dual Monitor
32 GB RAM / Win7 Pro 64-bit
Distinguished Contributor
clemay
Posts: 111
Registered: ‎01-24-2013
Message 5 of 5 (307 Views)

Re: Default Structure Label Style Not Working

12-12-2013 10:43 AM in reply to: Jeff_M

:robothappy:Thanks Jeff!  great information that I can apply across the board for styles and the way I want them to appear.  Much Appreciated!!!

C3D 2014 SP1
DELL Precision T3600
Intel Xeon E5-1650 @ 3.20GHz
NVIDIA QUADRO 4000 Dual Monitor
32 GB RAM / Win7 Pro 64-bit

You are not logged in.

Log into access your profile, ask and answer questions, share ideas and more. Haven't signed up yet? Register

Announcements
Are you familiar with the Autodesk Expert Elites? The Expert Elite program is made up of customers that help other customers by sharing knowledge and exemplifying an engaging style of collaboration. To learn more, please visit our Expert Elite website.

Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions to get help installing your software.

Ask the Community


Civil 3D Exchange Apps

Created by the community for the community, Autodesk Exchange Apps for AutoCAD Civil 3D helps you achieve greater speed, accuracy, and automation from concept to manufacturing.

Connect with Civil 3D

Twitter

Facebook

Blogs