AutoCAD Civil 3D General Discussion

Reply
Member
DenverDave
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎11-07-2012
Message 1 of 16 (1,067 Views)
Accepted Solution

Daylight to offset with maximum slope

1067 Views, 15 Replies
11-07-2012 10:55 AM

It seems simple but i can't find the right perameters.

 

I need to daylight to an offset, to create a clear zone/fall zone, but it must have a maximum slope of 6:1. If no daylight is found at the offset and maximum slope, then grade at the maximum slope to the offset then daylight to the target suface at a steeper slope.

 

 

IT SEEMS LIKE IT SHOULD BE EASY BUT I CAN'T FIND IT.  

Employee
peterfunkautodesk
Posts: 708
Registered: ‎08-25-2009
Message 2 of 16 (1,061 Views)

Re: Daylight to offset with maximum slope

11-07-2012 11:14 AM in reply to: DenverDave

I don't see any of the standard SA that would do this. The daylight standard gets close, but would have a fixed clear zone slope. 

 

You should be able to make it with Subassembly Composer pretty quickly.

 

1. Set a test point on the surface at the offset

2. Check the slope to the test point

    A. If it is below 6:1 add a daylight point and link

    B. If it isn't, add a point at 6:1, and then daylight from there

 

I'm not sure what you need in a cut.

 

Regards,

 

Peter Funk

Autodesk, Inc.



Peter Funk
Autodesk, Inc.

*Expert Elite*
sboon
Posts: 2,074
Registered: ‎11-08-2005
Message 3 of 16 (1,035 Views)

Re: Daylight to offset with maximum slope

11-07-2012 10:21 PM in reply to: peterfunkautodesk

It may not be possible using a single sub,  but it's definitely possible to do it in an assembly.

 

Clipboard12.png

 

Employee
peterfunkautodesk
Posts: 708
Registered: ‎08-25-2009
Message 4 of 16 (1,024 Views)

Re: Daylight to offset with maximum slope

11-08-2012 06:33 AM in reply to: sboon

Steve,

 

I considered that, but I don't think that doesn't provide the solution where you can daylight at less than 6:1. I think this could be done with a pretty simple PKT file made with Subassembly Composer.

 

Regards,

 

Peter Funk

Autodesk, Inc.



Peter Funk
Autodesk, Inc.

Member
DenverDave
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎11-07-2012
Message 5 of 16 (1,018 Views)

Re: Daylight to offset with maximum slope

11-08-2012 07:05 AM in reply to: peterfunkautodesk

Although it may be time to learn the Subasembly Composer, I currently have no idea how to use it. I am hoping for a solution using some combination of the standard assemblies.

Member
DenverDave
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎11-07-2012
Message 6 of 16 (1,015 Views)

Re: Daylight to offset with maximum slope

11-08-2012 07:10 AM in reply to: sboon

Can you provide a little more detail about your sugested solution? Can this solution be adapted to daylight at less than 6:1 at the specified offset?

Employee
peterfunkautodesk
Posts: 708
Registered: ‎08-25-2009
Message 7 of 16 (1,007 Views)

Re: Daylight to offset with maximum slope

11-08-2012 08:20 AM in reply to: DenverDave

Here is a quick version of a SA that should do what you are looking for in Fill. I didn't add link and point codes, but it might get you started.

 

Regards,

 

Peter Funk

Autodesk, Inc.



Peter Funk
Autodesk, Inc.

*Expert Elite*
sboon
Posts: 2,074
Registered: ‎11-08-2005
Message 8 of 16 (1,003 Views)

Re: Daylight to offset with maximum slope

11-08-2012 08:34 AM in reply to: DenverDave

If we assume for the moment that we're only dealing with the scenario on the left side of your sketch then there are several subs which might work.

 

  1. LinkOffsetOnSurface would always tie in at the max offset distance, but the daylight point could be anything above the max. 6/1 limit.  It could easily end up being a cut slope also.
  2. DaylightInsideROW would allow you to specify a typical slope, which would get steeper, up to the max if necessary.
  3. DaylightMaxOffset or DaylightMaxWidth are similar to 2.
  4. DaylightToOffset appears to have the same behaviour as 1, but with parameters for lined materials and rounding.

 

Mentor
david.zavislan
Posts: 256
Registered: ‎10-31-2006
Message 9 of 16 (990 Views)

Re: Daylight to offset with maximum slope

11-08-2012 09:37 AM in reply to: DenverDave

Steve's solution will work.  His post needs more detail.  What his image shows is that the conditional subassembly is moved over X feet.  There you can test the depth of cut or fill.  We know what this needs to be - based on the slope times the offset.  At the ends of the conditonal sub assemblies, Move the remaining subassemblies back X feet.

 

Instead of moving subassemblies, I use generic links with the omit option set to Yes.  That helps me keep the pieces connected correctly, and allows for easy editing of the offset distances.  The following image shows this with the width and slope generic link.

 

Conditional-5.JPG

 

The final assembly would look something like this:

Conditional-4.JPG

David Zavislan, P.E. | Wood Rodgers, Inc.
*Expert Elite*
sboon
Posts: 2,074
Registered: ‎11-08-2005
Message 10 of 16 (976 Views)

Re: Daylight to offset with maximum slope

11-08-2012 10:31 AM in reply to: david.zavislan

David jumped ahead of me to the complete solution, rather than a step by step discussion.

 

His graphics are better too. :smileywink:

You are not logged in.

Log into access your profile, ask and answer questions, share ideas and more. Haven't signed up yet? Register

Announcements
Are you familiar with the Autodesk Expert Elites? The Expert Elite program is made up of customers that help other customers by sharing knowledge and exemplifying an engaging style of collaboration. To learn more, please visit our Expert Elite website.

Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions to get help installing your software.

Ask the Community


Civil 3D Exchange Apps

Created by the community for the community, Autodesk Exchange Apps for AutoCAD Civil 3D helps you achieve greater speed, accuracy, and automation from concept to manufacturing.

Connect with Civil 3D

Twitter

Facebook

Blogs