AutoCAD Civil 3D General Discussion

Reply
Distinguished Mentor
thepworth
Posts: 525
Registered: ‎03-02-2011
Message 11 of 17 (662 Views)

Re: Data Linked Excel Table

03-16-2012 08:48 AM in reply to: thepworth

So, here's what my co-worker and I have found out:

 

When he started the project, the linking worked great - he could add rows in the table & the link was dynamic.  However, we recently upgraded our server and changed the server name with the update (real bad idea there) and since we changed the name, all of his data links looked at the server address versus the drive letter pathing.  If it were by drive path, the name change should have been transparent to client software.  But not the case.... After he updated his reference paths it seems like the tables in the .dwg are now static.  When I just tried right-clicking on the table in C3D & open/edit the Excel spreadsheet outside of C3D in Excel, the changes there don't update in the dwg.  dang!  gottat fix this one.  If I figure out how/why, I will certainly update.

 

TdH


C3D 2011
Intel Xeon E5630@2.53Ghz
NVIDA Quadro NVS420 Dual Monitor
12GB Ram / Win7 Professional 64bit SP1
Distinguished Mentor
thepworth
Posts: 525
Registered: ‎03-02-2011
Message 12 of 17 (658 Views)

Re: Data Linked Excel Table

03-16-2012 09:39 AM in reply to: thepworth

What I'm getting are inconsistent results.  I'm trying variations of selecting the table, right clicking, having to go to "data links" then on that fly out - open data link file.  It opens excel.  I edit & save from excel, including adding a row.  Then in C3D I've tried a variety of (a) highlight the table & on the context ribbon, udate links (b) lower right icon data link - update datalinks and (c) close & reopen the file.

 

I"ve also closed C3D and then deleted all temporary files in my user directory %temp%.

 

The linking seems to be most consistent on updating C3D to match Excel only when I reopen the drawing and select update links.  I can't seem to get a consistent response editing a table while the drawing is open & having a dynamic update. 

 

I have a call into our reseller, but since I used to work for them, I think I know more about this one than their A/E.  If he has any ideas, I'll update further.

 

Go Badgers!


C3D 2011
Intel Xeon E5630@2.53Ghz
NVIDA Quadro NVS420 Dual Monitor
12GB Ram / Win7 Professional 64bit SP1
Distinguished Mentor
thepworth
Posts: 525
Registered: ‎03-02-2011
Message 13 of 17 (653 Views)

Re: Data Linked Excel Table

03-16-2012 10:24 AM in reply to: thepworth

Joel,

 

We're using the same reseller.  Ken is looking into it, the key seems to be that the data link is locked, but I can't consistently unlock the data link.  He's trying to figure out why with a copy of my files.  During our online session, he was able to observe that I couldn't get the data link updated, even when closing & reopening and all of my previous steps.  something is inconsistent and both of us are at a loss.  This isn't what I exptected to spend the morning troublshooting, but I'd rather be ahead of it when we get to construction. :smileysad:

 

The key is that when I am able to unlock the data link, then I can sometimes update the table when I reopen the drawing.  This really should be more simple and yet another case where you'd like things to be as intuitive as they appear....

 

TdH


C3D 2011
Intel Xeon E5630@2.53Ghz
NVIDA Quadro NVS420 Dual Monitor
12GB Ram / Win7 Professional 64bit SP1
Contributor
unsivilaudio
Posts: 15
Registered: ‎03-15-2012
Message 14 of 17 (638 Views)

Re: Data Linked Excel Table

03-19-2012 07:17 AM in reply to: thepworth

Todd thank you so much for you work on this.  I really do appreciate you taking the time to help me with MY problem.

 

Joel Jacobs
CADD Specialist
Western Land Services
1662 S. Sheridan Ave
Sheridan, Wyoming 82801
Distinguished Mentor
thepworth
Posts: 525
Registered: ‎03-02-2011
Message 15 of 17 (635 Views)

Re: Data Linked Excel Table

03-19-2012 07:24 AM in reply to: unsivilaudio

Sorry that I can't come up with a viable solution that addresses either of our issues.  I'll let you know if I find something that works.

 

Cheers!


C3D 2011
Intel Xeon E5630@2.53Ghz
NVIDA Quadro NVS420 Dual Monitor
12GB Ram / Win7 Professional 64bit SP1
Distinguished Mentor
thepworth
Posts: 525
Registered: ‎03-02-2011
Message 16 of 17 (629 Views)

Re: Data Linked Excel Table

03-19-2012 09:13 AM in reply to: thepworth

say, are you able to unlock your excel file from C3D to be able to insert rows? - select the table & right click then unlock.  Mine is not consistent, as mentioned in my previous posting.


C3D 2011
Intel Xeon E5630@2.53Ghz
NVIDA Quadro NVS420 Dual Monitor
12GB Ram / Win7 Professional 64bit SP1
Contributor
unsivilaudio
Posts: 15
Registered: ‎03-15-2012
Message 17 of 17 (626 Views)

Re: Data Linked Excel Table

03-19-2012 09:26 AM in reply to: thepworth

I have not yet been able to replicate that behaivior, even created dummy excel files to try and do so.  The only cells I can add/delete rows or columns on are exterior (expanding outward), I.E. 'A1' will let me add a row above but not below, 'A62' (my bottom-most cell) will let me add a row below but not above, 'A19' will let me add a column to the left only, 'D19' (farthest right) will let me add a column to the right only.  Any of those add-ons will let me add a row/column either way, but no where inside the original spreadsheet.  If I detach the data link I can add row/columns like normal as if in excel itself.

Joel Jacobs
CADD Specialist
Western Land Services
1662 S. Sheridan Ave
Sheridan, Wyoming 82801

You are not logged in.

Log into access your profile, ask and answer questions, share ideas and more. Haven't signed up yet? Register

Announcements
Are you familiar with the Autodesk Expert Elites? The Expert Elite program is made up of customers that help other customers by sharing knowledge and exemplifying an engaging style of collaboration. To learn more, please visit our Expert Elite website.

Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions to get help installing your software.

Ask the Community


Civil 3D Exchange Apps

Created by the community for the community, Autodesk Exchange Apps for AutoCAD Civil 3D helps you achieve greater speed, accuracy, and automation from concept to manufacturing.

Connect with Civil 3D

Twitter

Facebook

Blogs