AutoCAD Civil 3D General

Reply
Contributor
silvernich
Posts: 21
Registered: ‎09-03-2012
Message 1 of 3 (1,290 Views)

DWG coordinate system transformation

1290 Views, 2 Replies
11-20-2012 11:33 AM

Hello all,

My group is trying to convert a dwg from one coordinate system to another. The original drawing contains points, blocks, etc. in 1 system and we need it in a different one. We tried attaching the dwg to a new map with the new system using a layer query, but this did not appear to bring in the objects into the new system.

 

Any suggestions?

 

"Structures" is in the original system (OR83-NF), "StructuresHarn" is in the desired system (ORHP-NIF)

 

Thank you again.

P.S. C3D 2011

Civil 3D 2013, HF3.0
Windows 7, 64-bit, SP1
*Expert Elite*
tcorey
Posts: 2,321
Registered: ‎12-18-2002
Message 2 of 3 (1,282 Views)

Re: DWG coordinate system transformation

11-20-2012 11:50 AM in reply to: silvernich

To translate the points, export to an ascii file.

 

Start another drawing, set to the other coordinate system. Make a Point File Format that matches the exported file and be sure to assign the point file's coordinate system as part of the format. It's on the dialog, you'll see the option.

 

Import the points and be sure to check the box for Do coordinate transformation if possible.

 

For your linework, use the AutoCAD Map query function.

 

Civil 3D intelligent objects are not queried by AutoCAD Map. I wish that was not the case, but such is life.

 

 

Tim Corey, Owner
Delta Engineering Systems
Redding, CA
Autodesk Authorized Value-Added Reseller
Active Member
Posts: 7
Registered: ‎04-20-2009
Message 3 of 3 (1,255 Views)

Re: DWG coordinate system transformation

11-20-2012 01:37 PM in reply to: silvernich

Use the ‘Locate using Geographic Data’ on the Attach External Reference. Create a new file an assign the new coordinate system, then xref the original file, but instead using the insertion point select the ‘Locate using Geographic Data’ at the lower left corner of the xref window. This should bring everything into the new coordinate system after that you can bind or insert the xref and explode it (only once).

You are not logged in.

Log into access your profile, ask and answer questions, share ideas and more. Haven't signed up yet? Register

Announcements
Are you interested in helping shape the Autodesk Community?
We’re looking at a few different ways to improve the “All Forums” landing page and need your feedback! If interested, please take a few minutes to fill out the following Usability Study. Thank you for your time!

Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions to get help installing your software.

Ask the Community


Civil 3D Exchange Apps

Created by the community for the community, Autodesk Exchange Apps for AutoCAD Civil 3D helps you achieve greater speed, accuracy, and automation from concept to manufacturing.

Connect with Civil 3D

Twitter

Facebook

Blogs