AutoCAD Civil 3D General

Reply
Active Contributor
tysonbird
Posts: 42
Registered: ‎08-18-2008
Message 1 of 6 (1,266 Views)

DTM into ACAD???

1266 Views, 5 Replies
10-01-2012 08:24 AM

Local DOT has insisted i use their previously provided .dtm file after repeated requests for xml. I have tried using C3D's import options but recieve error stating only V7&8 are supported. Are there any options that existing to help me convert this to something useable?

 

I have provided a drop box link to the file in question.

 

Thanks in advance, should anyone be able to point me in the right direction.

 

http://db.tt/OUmq9lRE

Valued Mentor
TerryDotson
Posts: 482
Registered: ‎06-06-2010
Message 2 of 6 (1,261 Views)

Re: DTM into ACAD???

10-01-2012 08:51 AM in reply to: tysonbird

Welcome to the world of proprietary file formats.  Both Autodesk and Bentley play the game and everybody loses (especially the users).  In my opinion you will have to invest in Bentley software to use the .DTM file (isn't that the point behind proprietary formats, forced sales?).

*Expert Elite*
rkmcswain
Posts: 3,135
Registered: ‎11-13-2006
Message 3 of 6 (1,245 Views)

Re: DTM into ACAD???

10-01-2012 09:50 AM in reply to: tysonbird

blotridge wrote:

Local DOT has insisted i use their previously provided .dtm file after repeated requests for xml.  

 


Why? Because they don't know how to provide the requested format, or they are just unwilling?

Who is working for who here?

Anything in your contract about file formats?

Was this problem not anticipated?

Distinguished Contributor
mike.barkasi
Posts: 344
Registered: ‎06-09-2007
Message 4 of 6 (1,234 Views)

Re: DTM into ACAD???

10-01-2012 10:08 AM in reply to: tysonbird

There is a Low cost answer to your issue." PowerSurvey". This would provide translation and the PowerDraft platform is very much the same functionality as AutoCAD, and will generate "True" DWGs

 

Call Bentley for specifics.

 

The reality is however that depending on the project all the standards are most likely available on the DOTs website.

 

Proprietary formats are one thing, but Standardization is another. Everyone on here should conceed the need to keep standards. Also because of the duration and lifecycly of projects today, this is not the strength of a software company that changes formats every second or third year.

 

Regards

 

Mike Barkasi

Bentley Civil

*Expert Elite*
LisaPohlmeyer
Posts: 502
Registered: ‎01-14-2009
Message 5 of 6 (1,189 Views)

Re: DTM into ACAD???

10-02-2012 06:07 AM in reply to: tysonbird

I have found that very few users at our local DOT know what LandXML is.  Once I explain the usefullness of this format and explain that they can easily export their project data to this format, I usually receive the file in short order. Knowledge is power.  I don't know the picks and clicks in GeoPak, but they're there.

Lisa Pohlmeyer

C3D 2012 SP4, C3D 2015
Please use "Accept as Solution" if this solved your issue.
*Expert Elite*
Neilw
Posts: 2,213
Registered: ‎09-04-2006
Message 6 of 6 (1,176 Views)

Re: DTM into ACAD???

10-02-2012 08:33 AM in reply to: tysonbird

I converted your DTM to an XML file.How can I send it to you? Uncompressed file size is about 38 MB.

Neil Wilson (a.k.a. neilw)
Infrastructure Suite/C3D 2013, LDT 2004, Power Civil v8i SS1
WIN 7 64 PRO
HP Pavillion h8xt, i7 2600, 12 GB
RADEON 6450, 1 GB
http://www.sec-landmgt.com

You are not logged in.

Log into access your profile, ask and answer questions, share ideas and more. Haven't signed up yet? Register

Announcements
Are you familiar with the Autodesk Expert Elites? The Expert Elite program is made up of customers that help other customers by sharing knowledge and exemplifying an engaging style of collaboration. To learn more, please visit our Expert Elite website.

Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions to get help installing your software.

Ask the Community


Civil 3D Exchange Apps

Created by the community for the community, Autodesk Exchange Apps for AutoCAD Civil 3D helps you achieve greater speed, accuracy, and automation from concept to manufacturing.

Connect with Civil 3D

Twitter

Facebook

Blogs