AutoCAD Civil 3D General

Reply
Contributor
Posts: 17
Registered: ‎09-09-2008
Message 1 of 14 (647 Views)
Accepted Solution

DEM

647 Views, 13 Replies
01-12-2012 09:06 AM

I downloaded a digital elevation model (dem) to practice my C3D skills on. I have an acount with GeoCommunity. The file is 1693201.DEM.SDTS.TAR.GZ that is idenfidied as a WinZip file. It is for the county where I do most of my work. When unzipped did not contain anything with the dem extension, all the files have a ddf extension. How can I add it to my drawing since it will not show up under DEM Files in the Toolspace? There is a rather complicated procedure to convert SDTS DEM files to ASCII  XYZ files but I'm not sure i need to do that.

 

If I downloaded the wrong type of file is there a source of free DEM's or other GIS data?

Product Support
Jason.Hickey
Posts: 336
Registered: ‎06-06-2010
Message 2 of 14 (635 Views)

Re: DEM

01-12-2012 09:45 AM in reply to: richard

You'll need to convert the SDTS to DEM - but it's very simple. Just go to this website and take a look, and you're good to go!



Jason Hickey
Premium Services Specialist
Autodesk, Inc.

Distinguished Mentor
thepworth
Posts: 525
Registered: ‎03-02-2011
Message 3 of 14 (634 Views)

Re: DEM

01-12-2012 09:45 AM in reply to: richard

if you have a .sdts file, there is an old DOS routine SDTS2DEM.EXE that will convert the file to a usable dem fairly painlessly.

 

1, you need to open up on of the files to determine the name you want.

2 run from "CMD" command line - drag& drop sdts2dem.exe into your folder with the sdts files.

enter first 4 digits of the series of sdts files

enter the output file name.

 

from create surface in C3D, you'll have to manually enter the dem coordinate system designation, but it's not too hard - albeit could be easier...

 

best of luck,

 

TdH


C3D 2011
Intel Xeon E5630@2.53Ghz
NVIDA Quadro NVS420 Dual Monitor
12GB Ram / Win7 Professional 64bit SP1
Contributor
Posts: 17
Registered: ‎09-09-2008
Message 4 of 14 (618 Views)

Re: DEM

01-12-2012 10:22 AM in reply to: Jason.Hickey

Thank you Jason. I used SDTS2DEM years ago when the autocad I had didn't know what to do with it. I downloaded the newer version and now have a DEM surface to analize.

Distinguished Mentor
thepworth
Posts: 525
Registered: ‎03-02-2011
Message 5 of 14 (615 Views)

Re: DEM

01-12-2012 10:26 AM in reply to: thepworth

as a followup  - from my experience....

 

create a blank TIN surface first, not a DEM surface

 

once you create the tin surface, then select "add dem data"

 

select your file -

 

once it recognizes your file & shows you the dem coordinates, then add that to the section in the bottom portion of the dialog box to state "UTM27-13" or whatever it is.

 

then you should get a dem that is in FT versus elevations in meters....


C3D 2011
Intel Xeon E5630@2.53Ghz
NVIDA Quadro NVS420 Dual Monitor
12GB Ram / Win7 Professional 64bit SP1
Contributor
Posts: 17
Registered: ‎09-09-2008
Message 6 of 14 (614 Views)

Re: DEM

01-12-2012 10:30 AM in reply to: thepworth

Thanks thepworth. I'm using C3D 2010 and created the surface from DEM in Toolspace. I'll work on creating another smaller surface from it and making a drawing containing contours etc. Right now the contours are all on one layer but the index conturs are a darker color. At least this is a start.

Distinguished Mentor
thepworth
Posts: 525
Registered: ‎03-02-2011
Message 7 of 14 (611 Views)

Re: DEM

01-12-2012 10:34 AM in reply to: richard

as a pps...

 

i go to "mapmart.com" for free data, versus the geocommunities website.  mapmart has all of the 10m/30m usgs dems per quad map for free in sdts format or they'll charge $5/quad min $15/order for converting it over to dem or providing a dwg of contours for you....

 

best of luck

 

Todd


C3D 2011
Intel Xeon E5630@2.53Ghz
NVIDA Quadro NVS420 Dual Monitor
12GB Ram / Win7 Professional 64bit SP1
Contributor
Posts: 17
Registered: ‎09-09-2008
Message 8 of 14 (604 Views)

Re: DEM

01-12-2012 11:01 AM in reply to: thepworth

Thanks. I'll try mapmart. One more question- Is it possible to get roads, houses, vegetation, streams in addition to the elevations?

Distinguished Mentor
thepworth
Posts: 525
Registered: ‎03-02-2011
Message 9 of 14 (600 Views)

Re: DEM

01-12-2012 11:19 AM in reply to: richard

that's more of a DLG (digital line graph) versus DRG (digital raster graphic)

 

roads, water/streams/river/rails available from us census TIGER data...

 

look for "edges of census blocks" - then you need to stylize based on 'hydroflg="Y"' for water, "Roadflg='Y' for roads, etc.

 

not much out there for tutorials, kinda had to learn this on the fly...

 

 

 


C3D 2011
Intel Xeon E5630@2.53Ghz
NVIDA Quadro NVS420 Dual Monitor
12GB Ram / Win7 Professional 64bit SP1
*Expert Elite*
antoniovinci
Posts: 1,498
Registered: ‎06-03-2011
Message 10 of 14 (577 Views)

Re: DEM

01-13-2012 12:01 AM in reply to: richard

Sorry for the late, gentlemen.

If you have a .GZ dem file, you DON'T need to unpack it, definetely.

Open it directly to view all its beauty with this tool:

 

 

 

then FILE -> save as "USGS Ascii DEM" to get a fully Acad compatible stuff.

You are not logged in.

Log into access your profile, ask and answer questions, share ideas and more. Haven't signed up yet? Register

Announcements
Are you interested in helping shape the Autodesk Community?
We’re looking at a few different ways to improve the “All Forums” landing page and need your feedback! If interested, please take a few minutes to fill out the following Usability Study. Thank you for your time!

Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions to get help installing your software.

Ask the Community


Civil 3D Exchange Apps

Created by the community for the community, Autodesk Exchange Apps for AutoCAD Civil 3D helps you achieve greater speed, accuracy, and automation from concept to manufacturing.

Connect with Civil 3D

Twitter

Facebook

Blogs