AutoCAD Civil 3D General

Reply
*Expert Elite*
Joe-Bouza
Posts: 4,749
Registered: ‎12-15-2008
Message 21 of 24 (52 Views)

Re: DEM surface DS problem

07-10-2013 01:36 PM in reply to: antoniovinci

There is no alignment issue. The DEM comes into my drawing NAD83 exactly where I expected it. The surface displays correctly and logically. The problem is if I try to DS the surface I get a fatal error.

When I opened in MicroDEM it said it was metric and out of curiosity I exported to kmz and I was in the Med. - the location issue is with me not knowing what MicroDEM is or how to use it intelligently (pardon me for not living up to your expectations, but just because I can grade drain, and design Hways doesn't make me a cartographer) :smileyvery-happy:

Thank you

Joseph D. Bouza, P.E. (one of 'THOSE' People) Civil 3D 2012 & 2013
HP Z210 Workstation
Intel Xeon CPU E31240 @ 3.30 Hz
12 GB Ram


Note: Its all Resistentialism, so keep calm and carry on

64 Bit Win7 OS
*Expert Elite*
Joe-Bouza
Posts: 4,749
Registered: ‎12-15-2008
Message 22 of 24 (50 Views)

Re: DEM surface DS problem

07-10-2013 01:39 PM in reply to: antoniovinci
It is a tiff. our GIS department exported to geo tiff from arcinfo. What exactly are you waiting for me to upload? the tiff is too big
Thank you

Joseph D. Bouza, P.E. (one of 'THOSE' People) Civil 3D 2012 & 2013
HP Z210 Workstation
Intel Xeon CPU E31240 @ 3.30 Hz
12 GB Ram


Note: Its all Resistentialism, so keep calm and carry on

64 Bit Win7 OS
*Expert Elite*
jmayo
Posts: 2,698
Registered: ‎11-13-2006
Message 23 of 24 (47 Views)

Re: DEM surface DS problem

07-10-2013 01:52 PM in reply to: Joe-Bouza

Hmm, now I would be thinking about importing the dem into a surface, exporting it to xml. Importing the xml to a new file and try DS'ing the new srf....

John Mayo, PE
IDSP 2014
Win 7 64, Xeon ES165@3.2Ghz,
64 GB RAM, Quadro K4000 (x2)
*Expert Elite*
Joe-Bouza
Posts: 4,749
Registered: ‎12-15-2008
Message 24 of 24 (45 Views)

Re: DEM surface DS problem

07-10-2013 01:54 PM in reply to: jmayo
Very interesting
Thank you

Joseph D. Bouza, P.E. (one of 'THOSE' People) Civil 3D 2012 & 2013
HP Z210 Workstation
Intel Xeon CPU E31240 @ 3.30 Hz
12 GB Ram


Note: Its all Resistentialism, so keep calm and carry on

64 Bit Win7 OS

You are not logged in.

Log into access your profile, ask and answer questions, share ideas and more. Haven't signed up yet? Register

Announcements
Are you familiar with the Autodesk Expert Elites? The Expert Elite program is made up of customers that help other customers by sharing knowledge and exemplifying an engaging style of collaboration. To learn more, please visit our Expert Elite website.

Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions to get help installing your software.

Ask the Community


Civil 3D Exchange Apps

Created by the community for the community, Autodesk Exchange Apps for AutoCAD Civil 3D helps you achieve greater speed, accuracy, and automation from concept to manufacturing.

Connect with Civil 3D

Twitter

Facebook

Blogs