AutoCAD Civil 3D General Discussion

AutoCAD Civil 3D General Discussion

Reply
Active Contributor
bandit1965
Posts: 41
Registered: ‎10-09-2008
Message 1 of 10 (534 Views)
Accepted Solution

DEM file

534 Views, 9 Replies
11-08-2012 08:50 AM

I have a DEM file, (or that is what I have been led to believe) it is in space delimited txt format. It contains breakline and point data. Every time I try and add it to a surface I get an invalid DEM file error. Can anyone give me a hint as to why and how I can correct this. I am using Civil 3D 2013.

*Expert Elite*
TRogers
Posts: 1,311
Registered: ‎09-05-2007
Message 2 of 10 (529 Views)

Re: DEM file

11-08-2012 09:21 AM in reply to: bandit1965

A lot of the entities out there have changed there file format for there DEM's and they don't work in Civil 3D anymore.  TNRIS is one of these entities.  I use Global Mapper to fix the file and export it back out as a DEM.  If it's not too large, you can email it to trogers@tcadsys.com and I will fix it for you.

If the issue was resolved by this method, please click on "Accept As Solution"
*Civil 3DJ*
Todd Rogers

Visit my blog here.

     
Active Contributor
bandit1965
Posts: 41
Registered: ‎10-09-2008
Message 3 of 10 (521 Views)

Re: DEM file

11-08-2012 09:34 AM in reply to: bandit1965

I have shipped it to you, work your magic.

*Expert Elite*
TRogers
Posts: 1,311
Registered: ‎09-05-2007
Message 4 of 10 (517 Views)

Re: DEM file

11-08-2012 09:39 AM in reply to: bandit1965

Ok.  I didn't read this very well the first go round, and apologies for that.  You need to import this as points, not attach it to surface as a DEM.  It looks like the point file format is PENZD.  Then add the Point Group _All points to the surface.  Works fine.

If the issue was resolved by this method, please click on "Accept As Solution"
*Civil 3DJ*
Todd Rogers

Visit my blog here.

     
*Expert Elite*
BrianHailey
Posts: 2,768
Registered: ‎04-27-2005
Message 5 of 10 (497 Views)

Re: DEM file

11-08-2012 04:33 PM in reply to: TRogers

trogers wrote:

Ok.  I didn't read this very well the first go round, and apologies for that.  You need to import this as points, not attach it to surface as a DEM.  It looks like the point file format is PENZD.  Then add the Point Group _All points to the surface.  Works fine.


If the file is very large, dont' import it into Civil 3D as points, just add it directly to the surface as a point file. Works much better that way for very large data sets.

 

Obviously, since Todd recommended importing it as a points and then using adding it to the surface as a point group, this particular file probably isn't very large, but it's good for others to know about if they didn't already.

 

Is it just me or do I sound like I'm babbling?

Brian Hailey
CAD-1.com
My Blog
*Expert Elite*
TRogers
Posts: 1,311
Registered: ‎09-05-2007
Message 6 of 10 (453 Views)

Re: DEM file

11-12-2012 06:36 AM in reply to: BrianHailey
It was fairly small and came in easily. Sent from my Verizon Wireless 4G LTE Smartphone
If the issue was resolved by this method, please click on "Accept As Solution"
*Civil 3DJ*
Todd Rogers

Visit my blog here.

     
*Expert Elite*
jmayo
Posts: 2,798
Registered: ‎11-13-2006
Message 7 of 10 (449 Views)

Re: DEM file

11-12-2012 07:17 AM in reply to: BrianHailey

You're not babbling. :smileyhappy:

I just see you providing an important public service announcment. That is a very important tip for large data sets.

John Mayo, PE
IDSP 2014
Win 7 64, Xeon ES165@3.2Ghz,
64 GB RAM, Quadro K4000 (x2)
Active Contributor
bandit1965
Posts: 41
Registered: ‎10-09-2008
Message 8 of 10 (417 Views)

Re: DEM file

11-14-2012 07:38 AM in reply to: TRogers

Thanks for the help, evertyhing is working great. I made that a lot harder than it seemed.

*Expert Elite*
BrianHailey
Posts: 2,768
Registered: ‎04-27-2005
Message 9 of 10 (402 Views)

Re: DEM file

11-14-2012 01:43 PM in reply to: bandit1965

What did you do to get the data into the surface? Import points? Point group? Add point file? Enquiring minds want to know.

Brian Hailey
CAD-1.com
My Blog
*Expert Elite*
TRogers
Posts: 1,311
Registered: ‎09-05-2007
Message 10 of 10 (397 Views)

Re: DEM file

11-14-2012 01:49 PM in reply to: BrianHailey

It was a rather small file, so just a basic import of the points using PENZD did the trick.  The file had an extension of points.dem.txt.  So it was really just an ASCII file, not a DEM file.

 

I gave you props on my blog about the double click addition :smileywink:

http://civil3dj.wordpress.com/

If the issue was resolved by this method, please click on "Accept As Solution"
*Civil 3DJ*
Todd Rogers

Visit my blog here.

     
Announcements
Are you familiar with the Autodesk Expert Elites? The Expert Elite program is made up of customers that help other customers by sharing knowledge and exemplifying an engaging style of collaboration. To learn more, please visit our Expert Elite website.
Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions or visit the Installation and Licensing Forum to get help installing your software.