AutoCAD Civil 3D General

Reply
*Expert Elite*
tcorey
Posts: 2,313
Registered: ‎12-18-2002
Message 1 of 6 (371 Views)

Curve tag labels populate with ???

371 Views, 5 Replies
07-02-2012 09:40 AM

Civil 3D 2013. This is happening to a client and I have confirmed the issue in my office using his drawing and new drawings created from acad.dwt or the civil 3d imperial ncs template.

 

Create a curve tag label style, label a curve, and the label says ???. If you edit the label style, go to the layout tab, change the preview from curve label style to line label style and then back to curve label style, sometimes the label changes to show the tag number, but like once out of thirty tries. If the preview updates correctly, the tags in the drawing will update as well, now showing numbers.

 

I have found the same behavior with parcel curve labels.

 

Has anyone else seen this? Did you find a fix?

 

Thanks in advance,

 

Tim



Tim Corey, Owner
Delta Engineering Systems
Redding, CA
Autodesk Authorized Value-Added Reseller
*Expert Elite*
BrianHailey
Posts: 2,716
Registered: ‎04-27-2005
Message 2 of 6 (364 Views)

Re: Curve tag labels populate with ???

07-02-2012 10:13 AM in reply to: tcorey

Not really a fix but a different way of doing things. I never create a label style that starts out as a tag. I label in the drawing with some information and then when I create the table I have it convert the labels to tags. Do you still see the issue if you do it this way?

*Expert Elite*
TRogers
Posts: 1,133
Registered: ‎09-05-2007
Message 3 of 6 (346 Views)

Re: Curve tag labels populate with ???

07-02-2012 12:22 PM in reply to: tcorey

I have had a few calls about this issue.  @Brian, yes it still happens.  Example, if i have a curve and a line, I grab the diamond grip and drag the tag past the end of the curve, then back and they turn into ???.  See below...

 

tags.gif

If the issue was resolved by this method, please click on "Accept As Solution"
*Civil 3DJ*
Todd Rogers

Visit my blog here.

     
*Expert Elite*
BrianHailey
Posts: 2,716
Registered: ‎04-27-2005
Message 4 of 6 (339 Views)

Re: Curve tag labels populate with ???

07-02-2012 12:56 PM in reply to: TRogers

A possible workaround, select the labels, change them to the parent style, then back to the child style.

 

http://screencast.com/t/53h3ANjx4

*Expert Elite*
tcorey
Posts: 2,313
Registered: ‎12-18-2002
Message 5 of 6 (305 Views)

Re: Curve tag labels populate with ???

07-04-2012 11:37 AM in reply to: tcorey

Thanks for the replies. I'll follow up with Autodesk to make sure they know about this behavior.

 

 

Tim Corey, Owner
Delta Engineering Systems
Redding, CA
Autodesk Authorized Value-Added Reseller
Valued Mentor
IanMcClain
Posts: 417
Registered: ‎09-29-2008
Message 6 of 6 (233 Views)

Re: Curve tag labels populate with ???

01-14-2013 03:37 PM in reply to: tcorey

I just came across this same issue in an old drawing. It turned out that curve tag label style was defined in "Label mode" and not "Tag mode". After I change that it behaved as expected.

-Ian McClain
(running C3D 2012 sp4, Win7 64bit, 8GB)

You are not logged in.

Log into access your profile, ask and answer questions, share ideas and more. Haven't signed up yet? Register

Announcements
Welcome to the new Autodesk Community!
If this is your first visit, click here to get started and make the most of the Community. Let us know what you think of the new experience in the Community Feedback Forum.

Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions to get help installing your software.

Ask the Community


Civil 3D Exchange Apps

Created by the community for the community, Autodesk Exchange Apps for AutoCAD Civil 3D helps you achieve greater speed, accuracy, and automation from concept to manufacturing.

Connect with Civil 3D

Twitter

Facebook

Blogs