AutoCAD Civil 3D General Discussion

AutoCAD Civil 3D General Discussion

Reply
Member
ethankins
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎11-25-2013
Message 1 of 9 (227 Views)

Curve Data and Bearing Distance are showing as boxes how do i fix this?

227 Views, 8 Replies
11-25-2013 09:18 AM

I have been editing some rail lines, when i put labels on the lines and curves to get the curve data and the bearing and distance it appears fine on my pc, but when i send to the engineer and they export it to PDF instead of the labels i get big boxes that say AeecDbAlignmentCurveLabel (Aeccland100) instead of my labels.  Ill attach a pdf to show.  What is causing this problem???

 

 

 

 

*Expert Elite*
tcorey
Posts: 2,542
Registered: ‎12-18-2002
Message 2 of 9 (209 Views)

Re: Curve Data and Bearing Distance are showing as boxes how do i fix this?

11-25-2013 09:38 AM in reply to: ethankins

When "they export it to PDF" are they using AutoCAD's Plot command and the Autodesk-supplied DWG to PDF.pc3? If so, go into the Custom Properties of that "printer" and set Font Handling to Capture All, As Geomtry.

 

Does that help?

Tim Corey, Owner
Delta Engineering Systems
Redding, CA
Autodesk Authorized Value-Added Reseller
Member
ethankins
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎11-25-2013
Message 3 of 9 (198 Views)

Re: Curve Data and Bearing Distance are showing as boxes how do i fix this?

11-25-2013 09:59 AM in reply to: tcorey

i think they are using a custom, or different version of the dwg to pdf,  i checked file dates on the original and what they sent me and they are slightly diff size and dates. is this something on their end or on mine.  ill email your response and see if thats the problem.  thanks for the reply!!!

Contributor
tomshumpert
Posts: 15
Registered: ‎02-11-2005
Message 4 of 9 (197 Views)

Re: Curve Data and Bearing Distance are showing as boxes how do i fix this?

11-25-2013 10:01 AM in reply to: ethankins

The engineer you sent it to probable does not have C3D. He will have to load the "Object Enabler" for C3D.

Tommy Shumpert -
Civil3DiT | Twitter
Member
ethankins
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎11-25-2013
Message 5 of 9 (192 Views)

Re: Curve Data and Bearing Distance are showing as boxes how do i fix this?

11-25-2013 10:05 AM in reply to: tomshumpert

No we are both using civil 3d 2013, so i dont think that is the issue, would she still need to enable that?

*Expert Elite*
tcorey
Posts: 2,542
Registered: ‎12-18-2002
Message 6 of 9 (185 Views)

Re: Curve Data and Bearing Distance are showing as boxes how do i fix this?

11-25-2013 10:10 AM in reply to: ethankins

No, she won't need to use the Object Enabler if she has Civil 3D. Ask her to use the Autodesk-supplied PDF generator, not a third-party.

Tim Corey, Owner
Delta Engineering Systems
Redding, CA
Autodesk Authorized Value-Added Reseller
Contributor
tomshumpert
Posts: 15
Registered: ‎02-11-2005
Message 7 of 9 (185 Views)

Re: Curve Data and Bearing Distance are showing as boxes how do i fix this?

11-25-2013 10:11 AM in reply to: ethankins

No, You only need the enabler if you want to see C3D objects in vanila Acad.

 

That's strange, because that example you have is what it looks like when Acad cannot see C3D objects.

 

Ask if she is able to run a C3D command in the drawing. C3D maynot be loaded properly.

 

Tommy Shumpert -
Civil3DiT | Twitter
Contributor
tomshumpert
Posts: 15
Registered: ‎02-11-2005
Message 8 of 9 (184 Views)

Re: Curve Data and Bearing Distance are showing as boxes how do i fix this?

11-25-2013 10:15 AM in reply to: tomshumpert

I guess I should have asked if she sees those boxes when she is in the drawing...

 

Also, Try using the Export to PDF under Output Tab.

Tommy Shumpert -
Civil3DiT | Twitter
Member
ethankins
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎11-25-2013
Message 9 of 9 (181 Views)

Re: Curve Data and Bearing Distance are showing as boxes how do i fix this?

11-25-2013 10:25 AM in reply to: tomshumpert

I didnt ask if she saw them in the drawing or not,  I will when I contact her again,  as far as I am aware the boxes are only showing up when exported to pdf.  but i will get more information for you guys when i can, thanks so much for all your help!

Announcements
Are you familiar with the Autodesk Expert Elites? The Expert Elite program is made up of customers that help other customers by sharing knowledge and exemplifying an engaging style of collaboration. To learn more, please visit our Expert Elite website.
Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions or visit the Installation and Licensing Forum to get help installing your software.