AutoCAD Civil 3D General Discussion

AutoCAD Civil 3D General Discussion

Reply
*Expert Elite*
neilyj
Posts: 3,733
Registered: ‎08-01-2008
Message 1 of 3 (267 Views)

Cross sections (as polylines) to surface

267 Views, 2 Replies
10-30-2012 01:24 AM

This looks like an interesting tool

 

http://autodesk.typepad.com/transportation/2012/10/x-section-to-surface.html

neilyj
(No connection with Autodesk other than using the products in the real world)


IDSP Premium 2015 (mainly Civil 3D 2015 UKIE & Infraworks with some limited 3ds Max Design)
Win 7 Pro x64, 240Gb SSD, 1Tb HDD
32Gb Ram Intel Xeon CPU E5-2650 v2 @ 2.6GHz (32 CPUs), ~2.6GHz
NVIDIA Quadro K4000, Dual 27" Monitor, Dell T5610
*Expert Elite*
troma
Posts: 2,520
Registered: ‎05-21-2008
Message 2 of 3 (248 Views)

Re: Cross sections (as polylines) to surface

10-30-2012 05:48 AM in reply to: neilyj

"This tool, in short, provides a way to take digital cross sections, specify an accompanying horizontal alignment and create a surface."

I didn't have time to watch the video, but it sounds like a corridor.....?


Credit where credit is due! Give kudos or accept as solution whenever you can.

*Expert Elite*
neilyj
Posts: 3,733
Registered: ‎08-01-2008
Message 3 of 3 (244 Views)

Re: Cross sections (as polylines) to surface

10-30-2012 06:06 AM in reply to: troma

troma wrote:

"This tool, in short, provides a way to take digital cross sections, specify an accompanying horizontal alignment and create a surface."

I didn't have time to watch the video, but it sounds like a corridor.....?


Sounds like but isn't......if you have been supplied with, I guess, a 3rd party's drawing containing dumb CAD polylines You can recreate an alignment in C3D and from there can "reverse engineer" the cross sections to create a surface.

 

As mentioned in the blog "...This tool serves a bit of niche role.." but this particular niche is one that happens to me very regularly.

 

This link demonstrates another more manual approach http://advsurveying.com/advcivil/?p=71

neilyj
(No connection with Autodesk other than using the products in the real world)


IDSP Premium 2015 (mainly Civil 3D 2015 UKIE & Infraworks with some limited 3ds Max Design)
Win 7 Pro x64, 240Gb SSD, 1Tb HDD
32Gb Ram Intel Xeon CPU E5-2650 v2 @ 2.6GHz (32 CPUs), ~2.6GHz
NVIDIA Quadro K4000, Dual 27" Monitor, Dell T5610
Announcements
Are you familiar with the Autodesk Expert Elites? The Expert Elite program is made up of customers that help other customers by sharing knowledge and exemplifying an engaging style of collaboration. To learn more, please visit our Expert Elite website.
Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions or visit the Installation and Licensing Forum to get help installing your software.