AutoCAD Civil 3D General

Reply
*Expert Elite*
neilyj
Posts: 3,475
Registered: ‎08-01-2008
Message 1 of 3 (231 Views)

Cross sections (as polylines) to surface

231 Views, 2 Replies
10-30-2012 01:24 AM

This looks like an interesting tool

 

http://autodesk.typepad.com/transportation/2012/10/x-section-to-surface.html

neilyj
(No connection with Autodesk other than using the products in the real world)


IDSP Premium 2014 (mainly Civil 3D 2014 UKIE SP1 & Infraworks with some limited 3ds Max Design)
Win 7 Pro x64, 256Gb SSD, 300Gb 15,000 rpm HDD
16Gb Ram Intel Xeon CPU E5-1607 0 @ 3.00GHz (4 CPUs), ~3.0GHz
NVIDIA Quadro 4000, Dual 27" Monitor, Dell T3600
*Expert Elite*
Posts: 2,496
Registered: ‎05-21-2008
Message 2 of 3 (212 Views)

Re: Cross sections (as polylines) to surface

10-30-2012 05:48 AM in reply to: neilyj

"This tool, in short, provides a way to take digital cross sections, specify an accompanying horizontal alignment and create a surface."

I didn't have time to watch the video, but it sounds like a corridor.....?


Credit where credit is due! Give kudos or accept as solution whenever you can.

*Expert Elite*
neilyj
Posts: 3,475
Registered: ‎08-01-2008
Message 3 of 3 (208 Views)

Re: Cross sections (as polylines) to surface

10-30-2012 06:06 AM in reply to: troma

troma wrote:

"This tool, in short, provides a way to take digital cross sections, specify an accompanying horizontal alignment and create a surface."

I didn't have time to watch the video, but it sounds like a corridor.....?


Sounds like but isn't......if you have been supplied with, I guess, a 3rd party's drawing containing dumb CAD polylines You can recreate an alignment in C3D and from there can "reverse engineer" the cross sections to create a surface.

 

As mentioned in the blog "...This tool serves a bit of niche role.." but this particular niche is one that happens to me very regularly.

 

This link demonstrates another more manual approach http://advsurveying.com/advcivil/?p=71

neilyj
(No connection with Autodesk other than using the products in the real world)


IDSP Premium 2014 (mainly Civil 3D 2014 UKIE SP1 & Infraworks with some limited 3ds Max Design)
Win 7 Pro x64, 256Gb SSD, 300Gb 15,000 rpm HDD
16Gb Ram Intel Xeon CPU E5-1607 0 @ 3.00GHz (4 CPUs), ~3.0GHz
NVIDIA Quadro 4000, Dual 27" Monitor, Dell T3600

You are not logged in.

Log into access your profile, ask and answer questions, share ideas and more. Haven't signed up yet? Register

Announcements
Welcome to the new Autodesk Community!
If this is your first visit, click here to get started and make the most of the Community. Let us know what you think of the new experience in the Community Feedback Forum.

Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions to get help installing your software.

Ask the Community


Civil 3D Exchange Apps

Created by the community for the community, Autodesk Exchange Apps for AutoCAD Civil 3D helps you achieve greater speed, accuracy, and automation from concept to manufacturing.

Connect with Civil 3D

Twitter

Facebook

Blogs