AutoCAD Civil 3D General Discussion

Reply
Valued Contributor
kolk
Posts: 65
Registered: ‎01-16-2007
Message 1 of 7 (183 Views)

Cross Section Issue

183 Views, 6 Replies
10-01-2012 09:37 AM

I am having an issue with my cross section plotting.  When I am creating my section views the finished grade from the corridar and my top surface are not agreeing.  Typically speaking the overhang correction (top/bottom) or a boundary fix takes care of it, but this one is being a little stubburn.  I've tried rebuilding about every portion I can think of, but to no avail.  I've also tried yelling at it, but that doesn't seem to phase it either.

 

Any ideas???

 

Thanks in advance!

Valued Mentor
Valued Mentor
sjg
Posts: 534
Registered: ‎09-29-2010
Message 2 of 7 (172 Views)

Re: Cross Section Issue

10-01-2012 10:01 AM in reply to: kolk
Did you turn on the tin lines for the surface, to see if something got out of wack. I have a little experience with corridors, and the sections we did, I didn't sample the finished ground surface, because the corridor itself would show finished ground.
Steve Goessling
Land Consultants
Civil3D 2013
Windows 7, 64 bit
Intel i7 2600 @ 3.40Ghz
16 GB RAM
Nvidia Quadro 600
*Expert Elite*
sboon
Posts: 2,074
Registered: ‎11-08-2005
Message 3 of 7 (166 Views)

Re: Cross Section Issue

10-01-2012 10:17 AM in reply to: kolk

When you created the corridor surface did you use links or breaklines?  Is the add as breakline option turned on?

Valued Contributor
kolk
Posts: 65
Registered: ‎01-16-2007
Message 4 of 7 (142 Views)

Re: Cross Section Issue

10-01-2012 12:12 PM in reply to: sboon

I have actually tried it with and w/out breaklines...there doesn't seem to be any difference.  I have looked at it the tin lines it confirms what I'm seeing in the sections.  I know I can just eliminate sampling a bit of data to get a good picture, but this seems a little indicitive of a bigger problem

*Expert Elite*
sboon
Posts: 2,074
Registered: ‎11-08-2005
Message 5 of 7 (131 Views)

Re: Cross Section Issue

10-01-2012 12:29 PM in reply to: kolk

I would almost bet that you're on a curve in this part of the corridor and/or you're sections are quite closely spaced.  One of the rules of Delauney triangulation is that TIN lines should connect to the closest available points.  Under the right circumstances that rule sometimes means that the software will try to connect from a point at the gutter to a point at the top or back of curb in the next section instead of the next gutter point.

 

Try adding some of the featurelines to the surface as breakline data, see if that helps.

*Expert Elite*
Jeff_M
Posts: 4,198
Registered: ‎07-22-2003
Message 6 of 7 (129 Views)

Re: Cross Section Issue

10-01-2012 12:34 PM in reply to: kolk

I've had corridor surfaces that at some point stops correctly updating certain areas, so looking at the TIN lines they go to points that are no longer a part of the corridor. Sometimes closing the drawing and re-opening it 'fixes' this. Otherwise, the only ways I've found around this are: Delete the surface and recreate it (not always a viable option) or turn on the display of the TIN Points and manually delete those that are no longer connected to the corridor (time consuming).

Jeff_M, also a frequent Swamper
Valued Contributor
kolk
Posts: 65
Registered: ‎01-16-2007
Message 7 of 7 (95 Views)

Re: Cross Section Issue

10-02-2012 04:15 AM in reply to: Jeff_M

Thanks for the replies everybody.  What ended up working, and I think was alluded to above, was that in my corridor I was working off 2 baselines and the "connection" point in the middle was not matching with regard to frequency lines, hence cutting a strange tin.  Though I'm not a huge fan of this, and it's probably not the best work-around, I just upped my frequency through the corridor to 0.5' (I know...yikes!)

 

In any case, crisis averted.

 

Thanks everyone

You are not logged in.

Log into access your profile, ask and answer questions, share ideas and more. Haven't signed up yet? Register

Announcements
Are you familiar with the Autodesk Expert Elites? The Expert Elite program is made up of customers that help other customers by sharing knowledge and exemplifying an engaging style of collaboration. To learn more, please visit our Expert Elite website.

Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions to get help installing your software.

Ask the Community


Civil 3D Exchange Apps

Created by the community for the community, Autodesk Exchange Apps for AutoCAD Civil 3D helps you achieve greater speed, accuracy, and automation from concept to manufacturing.

Connect with Civil 3D

Twitter

Facebook

Blogs