AutoCAD Civil 3D General Discussion

Reply
Contributor
BrutalDrafter
Posts: 25
Registered: ‎05-02-2012
Message 1 of 3 (380 Views)
Accepted Solution

Creating Grading to a Surface with a Slope

380 Views, 2 Replies
12-30-2013 02:33 PM

I am trying to create grading slope from a Feature line that was created at a constant elevation of 609m.  I want to create a slope of 3:1 from the feature line to a surface I created.  I recall in AutoCAD Civil 3D 2011 that you could create a slope directly to a surface.  Is there a way of doing that in 2014 or did I simply forget a step when I created my Grading Groups?

 

I created the grading group using the Grading Creation Tool Pallet and selecting Set Grading Group.  Then I set my target surface to the one I want to grade towards. I thought all I had to do than was go to Create Grading select the direction of grading and the slope.  I thought the slope would continue to the target surface but it asked for a distance for grade that would throw off any volumes I want to pull off.

 

Did I have to create a new surface for my Pad at 609m than grade from that and how would I make sure my slope continues till it contacting the surface I want to target?

*Expert Elite*
sboon
Posts: 2,075
Registered: ‎11-08-2005
Message 2 of 3 (367 Views)

Re: Creating Grading to a Surface with a Slope

12-30-2013 03:22 PM in reply to: BrutalDrafter

Before you create the grading you need to select the Criteria from the dropdown list.  You might also need to pick a criteria set using the button to the left of the dropdown.

 

Clipboard01.png

Contributor
BrutalDrafter
Posts: 25
Registered: ‎05-02-2012
Message 3 of 3 (359 Views)

Re: Creating Grading to a Surface with a Slope

12-30-2013 03:44 PM in reply to: sboon

It seems like the template I am working with did not have slope to surface as one of the criteria for grading.  I had to create a new style, which allowed grading with a slope to a surface. 

 

Thank you for point that out. 

 

It took me a while to play around with the setting to figure that out.  I may have to arrange a meeting with the CAD manager to revise the template a little.

You are not logged in.

Log into access your profile, ask and answer questions, share ideas and more. Haven't signed up yet? Register

Announcements
Are you familiar with the Autodesk Expert Elites? The Expert Elite program is made up of customers that help other customers by sharing knowledge and exemplifying an engaging style of collaboration. To learn more, please visit our Expert Elite website.

Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions to get help installing your software.

Ask the Community


Civil 3D Exchange Apps

Created by the community for the community, Autodesk Exchange Apps for AutoCAD Civil 3D helps you achieve greater speed, accuracy, and automation from concept to manufacturing.

Connect with Civil 3D

Twitter

Facebook

Blogs