AutoCAD Civil 3D General

Reply
Distinguished Contributor
mnorton
Posts: 131
Registered: ‎04-13-2009
Message 1 of 8 (307 Views)

Created in newer version...

307 Views, 7 Replies
05-04-2012 11:45 AM

I have two client drawings - an xref and a host - that were created in C3D R12.  I exported the base drawing to a previous release and am able to open it in R11 as normal. 

 

I exported the host drawing but receive the "created in newer version" error message when I open it in R11 and of course my C3D commands are disabled. 

 

SAVEAS produced the same result.  DEMANDLOAD is set to 3.  In other words, I've read the techdoc.

 

Any ideas?

Mike Norton - The Civil Guy
www.thecivilguy.com

Civil 3D 2014 (64)
Windows 7 Pro (64) SP1, 16 GB
AMD Radeon HD 6900
*Expert Elite*
mathewk
Posts: 2,711
Registered: ‎07-09-2003
Message 2 of 8 (287 Views)

Re: Created in newer version...

05-04-2012 02:28 PM in reply to: mnorton

If they saved any of their drawings using Civil 3D 2012, you will never be able  to open it in 2011 and perform Civil 3D commands.  The only way for you to be able to do this is to run the

-EXPORTTOAUTOCAD command (don't forget the hyphen).  This has its own set of problems, however which may or may not affect you.  If they have any C3D objects (alignments, surfaces etc) they will be exploded.,

Matt Kolberg
Cansel - Autodesk Division
http://www.cansel.ca/
*Expert Elite*
Sinc
Posts: 6,207
Registered: ‎11-18-2006
Message 3 of 8 (282 Views)

Re: Created in newer version...

05-04-2012 02:52 PM in reply to: mnorton

One of the "great joys" of C3D is that we basically have incompatible releases of the software every year.  Most things will go forward, but not all, so even forward-compatibility is touch-and-go.  Things like Label Styles may not work as they did in older releases, or they may break completely, giving you GUIDs instead of the text you expect.  Custom Toolbox reports and custom Subassemblies may similarly be broken.  Backward-compatibility is pretty much nonexistent.  You can sometimes export some things to LandXML, and import them in the older version of C3D, but this leaves out so many things that it may not be viable.

 

The annual incompatlble releases are the bane of all C3D users.

Sinc
*Expert Elite*
neilyj
Posts: 3,663
Registered: ‎08-01-2008
Message 4 of 8 (264 Views)

Re: Created in newer version...

05-05-2012 01:48 AM in reply to: Sinc

Sinc wrote:

One of the "great joys" of C3D is that we basically have incompatible releases of the software every year.  Most things will go forward, but not all, so even forward-compatibility is touch-and-go.  Things like Label Styles may not work as they did in older releases, or they may break completely, giving you GUIDs instead of the text you expect.  Custom Toolbox reports and custom Subassemblies may similarly be broken.  Backward-compatibility is pretty much nonexistent.  You can sometimes export some things to LandXML, and import them in the older version of C3D, but this leaves out so many things that it may not be viable.

 

The annual incompatlble releases are the bane of all C3D users.


Totally agree with this

neilyj
(No connection with Autodesk other than using the products in the real world)


IDSP Premium 2015 (mainly Civil 3D 2015 UKIE & Infraworks with some limited 3ds Max Design)
Win 7 Pro x64, 240Gb SSD, 1Tb HDD
32Gb Ram Intel Xeon CPU E5-2650 v2 @ 2.6GHz (32 CPUs), ~2.6GHz
NVIDIA Quadro K4000, Dual 27" Monitor, Dell T5610
Distinguished Contributor
mnorton
Posts: 131
Registered: ‎04-13-2009
Message 5 of 8 (246 Views)

Re: Created in newer version...

05-05-2012 12:38 PM in reply to: mathewk

Matt,

 

As previously stated, I exported my base drawing to a previous release of AutoCAD and was able to successfully open it in R11 with full access to C3D functions.  It wasn't successful on the host drawing.  My project data is safe.  I exported it to XML.

 

Happy Saturday, Sync.  I read all of your post this time.  I see you're still singing the same tune but thankfully in fewer verses.  I think we're making progress!

Mike Norton - The Civil Guy
www.thecivilguy.com

Civil 3D 2014 (64)
Windows 7 Pro (64) SP1, 16 GB
AMD Radeon HD 6900
*Expert Elite*
Sinc
Posts: 6,207
Registered: ‎11-18-2006
Message 6 of 8 (229 Views)

Re: Created in newer version...

05-06-2012 01:08 PM in reply to: mnorton

Didn't understand that post at all...

Sinc
Distinguished Contributor
mnorton
Posts: 131
Registered: ‎04-13-2009
Message 7 of 8 (212 Views)

Re: Created in newer version...

05-07-2012 05:03 AM in reply to: Sinc

Sinc,

 

It was a vague reference to an old thread intended primarily for my own amusement.  You're a smart guy (a guru!!!) and I know I shouldn't make fun of you but it's so hard not to when you start whining about the program AGAIN.  I have a project drawing that for whatever reason has not responded to repeated attempts to dummy it down to a previous release.  I was just hoping you or somebody else might have a creative solution. 

Mike Norton - The Civil Guy
www.thecivilguy.com

Civil 3D 2014 (64)
Windows 7 Pro (64) SP1, 16 GB
AMD Radeon HD 6900
*Expert Elite*
Sinc
Posts: 6,207
Registered: ‎11-18-2006
Message 8 of 8 (177 Views)

Re: Created in newer version...

05-08-2012 12:19 PM in reply to: mnorton

Glad you're amused.  I'm not.  There are NO other programs I use that have anywhere near this many bugs, or require such a vast number of workarounds.  I've been training a number of people in how to use Civil 3D, and am amazed at how often I have to stop and explain YET ANOTHER reason why things aren't going as-expected, and explain the details of YET ANOTHER bug, and how to workaround it.  It creates for a very unfrienedly user experience, and really complicates training.

 

I can do it, and I use C3D very effectively myself.  But it's very frustrating, for all involved, especially for new users of Civil 3D.

Sinc

You are not logged in.

Log into access your profile, ask and answer questions, share ideas and more. Haven't signed up yet? Register

Announcements
Are you familiar with the Autodesk Expert Elites? The Expert Elite program is made up of customers that help other customers by sharing knowledge and exemplifying an engaging style of collaboration. To learn more, please visit our Expert Elite website.

Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions to get help installing your software.

Ask the Community


Civil 3D Exchange Apps

Created by the community for the community, Autodesk Exchange Apps for AutoCAD Civil 3D helps you achieve greater speed, accuracy, and automation from concept to manufacturing.

Connect with Civil 3D

Twitter

Facebook

Blogs