AutoCAD Civil 3D General Discussion

Reply
*Expert Elite*
Joe-Bouza
Posts: 4,783
Registered: ‎12-15-2008
Message 11 of 19 (403 Views)

Re: Create proposed profile from surface profile

02-14-2013 12:31 PM in reply to: Rainman1

are you sure you didn't miss step 3 ?

Thank you

Joseph D. Bouza, P.E. (one of 'THOSE' People) Civil 3D 2012 & 2013
HP Z210 Workstation
Intel Xeon CPU E31240 @ 3.30 Hz
12 GB Ram


Note: Its all Resistentialism, so keep calm and carry on

64 Bit Win7 OS
Distinguished Contributor
Rainman1
Posts: 299
Registered: ‎11-14-2007
Message 12 of 19 (399 Views)

Re: Create proposed profile from surface profile

02-14-2013 01:03 PM in reply to: Joe-Bouza

I was picking the wrong profile to edit in Step 4......duh!!!! Sorry. However, this procedure will be very helpful when trying to match existing ground in design. Thank you very much again!!

*Expert Elite*
Joe-Bouza
Posts: 4,783
Registered: ‎12-15-2008
Message 13 of 19 (397 Views)

Re: Create proposed profile from surface profile

02-14-2013 01:06 PM in reply to: Rainman1

hth

 

Good luck

Thank you

Joseph D. Bouza, P.E. (one of 'THOSE' People) Civil 3D 2012 & 2013
HP Z210 Workstation
Intel Xeon CPU E31240 @ 3.30 Hz
12 GB Ram


Note: Its all Resistentialism, so keep calm and carry on

64 Bit Win7 OS
Active Contributor
Razzmatazz
Posts: 41
Registered: ‎10-01-2013
Message 14 of 19 (264 Views)

Re: Create proposed profile from surface profile

10-11-2013 02:25 AM in reply to: Joe-Bouza

Joe, your method is quite ingenious, have a kudo, most of the posts i've read don't seem have any solution to this issue, it seems to be a quite challenging problem...............I had created a profile from file n followed your steps to create a layout profile from it bt one thing though, when i want to change the update mode of the new profile to dynamic in profile properties->profile data->update mode the tab is either blank or only has the static option...........is there anything i'm missing when it comes to setting a profile to either static or dynamic?     Thanks in advance

*Expert Elite*
Joe-Bouza
Posts: 4,783
Registered: ‎12-15-2008
Message 15 of 19 (256 Views)

Re: Create proposed profile from surface profile

10-11-2013 05:25 AM in reply to: Razzmatazz
Hi Razz, Thanks

Layout profiles are not dynamic by defintion thats why the box is greyed out. What exactly are you trying to accomplish?
Thank you

Joseph D. Bouza, P.E. (one of 'THOSE' People) Civil 3D 2012 & 2013
HP Z210 Workstation
Intel Xeon CPU E31240 @ 3.30 Hz
12 GB Ram


Note: Its all Resistentialism, so keep calm and carry on

64 Bit Win7 OS
Active Contributor
Razzmatazz
Posts: 41
Registered: ‎10-01-2013
Message 16 of 19 (220 Views)

Re: Create proposed profile from surface profile

10-26-2013 06:16 AM in reply to: Joe-Bouza

Hi Joe, sorry for the delay but what i was trying to accomplish was importing an existing ground profile from file as well as a finished ground profile from file into the same profile view and then have civil 3D recognize them as existing ground and finished  ground respectively when i'm generating the incremental station elevation difference report for setting out data.


Thanks,

Razz

*Expert Elite*
Joe-Bouza
Posts: 4,783
Registered: ‎12-15-2008
Message 17 of 19 (212 Views)

Re: Create proposed profile from surface profile

10-26-2013 10:39 AM in reply to: Razzmatazz

Hello Razz

 

If you ignore the eg surface dialog the report will give the data, no? I just named the profiles appropriately from profile properties

 

filereport.PNG

Thank you

Joseph D. Bouza, P.E. (one of 'THOSE' People) Civil 3D 2012 & 2013
HP Z210 Workstation
Intel Xeon CPU E31240 @ 3.30 Hz
12 GB Ram


Note: Its all Resistentialism, so keep calm and carry on

64 Bit Win7 OS
Active Contributor
Razzmatazz
Posts: 41
Registered: ‎10-01-2013
Message 18 of 19 (202 Views)

Re: Create proposed profile from surface profile

10-27-2013 05:00 AM in reply to: Joe-Bouza

Thanks alot,  assigned the profiles their appropriate styles in profile styles i.e. design profile and EG ground respectively and was able to come up with the report. I was in doubt at first because i thought the profile style properties only affect the visual appearance of the profiles such as colour, thickness e.t.c as in the traditional autocad. So they are also reflected in the reports as EG and FG? 

If you don't mind, could u please have a look at this thread about a best fit alignment and see what you come up with.

Thanks alot man, Cheers!

 

*Expert Elite*
Joe-Bouza
Posts: 4,783
Registered: ‎12-15-2008
Message 19 of 19 (176 Views)

Re: Create proposed profile from surface profile

10-28-2013 06:22 AM in reply to: Razzmatazz
I tried it too and couldn't get it to work. I dropped in, on the side a few random points of my own and it did work. You should open an SR
Sorry
Thank you

Joseph D. Bouza, P.E. (one of 'THOSE' People) Civil 3D 2012 & 2013
HP Z210 Workstation
Intel Xeon CPU E31240 @ 3.30 Hz
12 GB Ram


Note: Its all Resistentialism, so keep calm and carry on

64 Bit Win7 OS

You are not logged in.

Log into access your profile, ask and answer questions, share ideas and more. Haven't signed up yet? Register

Announcements
Are you familiar with the Autodesk Expert Elites? The Expert Elite program is made up of customers that help other customers by sharing knowledge and exemplifying an engaging style of collaboration. To learn more, please visit our Expert Elite website.

Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions to get help installing your software.

Ask the Community


Civil 3D Exchange Apps

Created by the community for the community, Autodesk Exchange Apps for AutoCAD Civil 3D helps you achieve greater speed, accuracy, and automation from concept to manufacturing.

Connect with Civil 3D

Twitter

Facebook

Blogs