AutoCAD Civil 3D General

Reply
Active Member
rww09c
Posts: 8
Registered: ‎11-24-2012
Message 1 of 12 (644 Views)

Create a basic door and window

644 Views, 11 Replies
11-24-2012 10:35 AM

Hello,

 

Can someone please show me how to create a basic door and a window. I know it's easy, but I'm new to AutoCad. I'm taking a class, and I know that we use the W (Write Block) command and the I (Insert) command. I think that I have to know how to take the dimensions for a door and window and create them. I really need some help.

 

Thank You

*Expert Elite*
Joe-Bouza
Posts: 4,755
Registered: ‎12-15-2008
Message 2 of 12 (641 Views)

Re: Create a basic door and window

11-24-2012 11:27 AM in reply to: rww09c

Glad to see you are asking for help. Unfortunately you are in a DG that focuses on civil3d; a civil engineers earthwork tool.

 

Quickly: Get the detail of you door and window, create the geometry per spec, use your newly found wblock command and write it to your library (your arbitrary place to sore your blocks) Not in the wblock dialog you can pick an insert point : choose one that makes sence for snaping your windows and doors in place.

 

I suggest you connect to the Dynamic block DG HERE. Send Charles_Shade my regards.

Thank you

Joseph D. Bouza, P.E. (one of 'THOSE' People) Civil 3D 2012 & 2013
HP Z210 Workstation
Intel Xeon CPU E31240 @ 3.30 Hz
12 GB Ram


Note: Its all Resistentialism, so keep calm and carry on

64 Bit Win7 OS
Active Member
rww09c
Posts: 8
Registered: ‎11-24-2012
Message 3 of 12 (637 Views)

Re: Create a basic door and window

11-24-2012 12:27 PM in reply to: Joe-Bouza

Mr. Bouza,

 

Thanks for the quick reply. I did connect and reply to the Dynamic Block DG, but because I don't have much time, I'm responding to your email. This is my 2nd week ever using AutoCad, so I need directions in baby-steps. If I'm understanding you, it seems that I should use the specifications and make the window/door. For example, one of the specifications is the window: 3' -0"*4'-0".

 

So, would I use the Line command and draw this out: 3' wide and 4' long, make a rectangle, Use the Wblock command select the newly made rectangle and save it. If this is correct, how would I use the insert command to insert it into the drawing?

 

Also, I know that we use the Snap to Midpoint and Snap to Perpendicular command to install, as well.

 

Thanks again

*Expert Elite*
Joe-Bouza
Posts: 4,755
Registered: ‎12-15-2008
Message 4 of 12 (621 Views)

Re: Create a basic door and window

11-24-2012 06:28 PM in reply to: rww09c

Yes I mean all the proper dimensions, as well as any materials, etc. The level of detail is entirely up to you, your company and your client

 

Snapping into place would be parameters that can be added via the dynamic block editor, and this is entirely subjective but can increase productivity to you liking.

 

Step by step is too much to attack in one DG thread. But I'll try to give you the readers digest version:

 

1:  enter the block editor (BE)

 

2. Draw your basic shape to the desired dimension. You can use any combination of lines. polylines, polygons, etc to what ever level of detail you are happy with.

 

3. Add a base point parameter to the most logical point on your part to be the insert point. Traditionally among acad users this is the lower left most portion of the part

 

4. Play with adding alignment and flip parameters to the block. These allow the part to auto align to the master drawing.

 

note dyno blocks like to be in what they call a container drawing. So name the block A and save to drawing B.

 

Most things in acad require you to scrape your knuckles and cry a little. This is a healthy path and you will benefit. And you will be able to formulate questions better. Charles_Shade is the man over at Dyno blocks.

 

 

Good luck

 

Thank you

Joseph D. Bouza, P.E. (one of 'THOSE' People) Civil 3D 2012 & 2013
HP Z210 Workstation
Intel Xeon CPU E31240 @ 3.30 Hz
12 GB Ram


Note: Its all Resistentialism, so keep calm and carry on

64 Bit Win7 OS
*Expert Elite*
antoniovinci
Posts: 1,576
Registered: ‎06-03-2011
Message 5 of 12 (616 Views)

Re: Create a basic door and window

11-25-2012 01:36 AM in reply to: Joe-Bouza

Joe-Bouza wrote:

But I'll try to give you the readers digest version: 


Dear Joe,

you are too kind, while the proper answer should be the following one.

 

Mr.RWW09C,

you are in the wrong place, for two good reasons:

1] this is a Autocad Civil forum, not an architectural one

2] in a technical forum, you cannot learn using a software from basics: you'd better sign up for a regular Autocad course, with a real teacher.

Distinguished Mentor
andrewpuller3811
Posts: 759
Registered: ‎07-30-2008
Message 6 of 12 (610 Views)

Re: Create a basic door and window

11-25-2012 02:10 AM in reply to: antoniovinci

Also the OP could take a look at autodesks support pages here

 

http://usa.autodesk.com/adsk/servlet/linkedsumindex?siteID=123112&id=2387188&linkID=9240615

 

If this fixed your issue, click on "Accept as Solution"

Andrew Puller
Maitland, NSW, Australia
Windows 7 Enterprise 64bit
Intel core i7 2600 @ 3.40 GHz with 16GB Ram
Civil 3d 2013 64bit
Distinguished Mentor
Pointdump
Posts: 548
Registered: ‎11-24-2009
Message 7 of 12 (609 Views)

Re: Create a basic door and window

11-25-2012 02:11 AM in reply to: rww09c

rww09C,

 

There is a wealth of YouTubes on the subject of AutoCAD. A good place to start is here:

 

http://www.youtube.com/user/jeremytf77/videos?sort=dd&view=0&page=1

 

Lots to learn! Get after it.

Dave
Mohave Valley, Arizona

HP DV7 Laptop
Intel Core i7-3820QM 3rd Generation Quad Core 2.7 GHZ CPU
16 GB DDR3 RAM ( 2 DIMM ) / 180 GB SSD
Nvidia GeForce 650M Graphics w/2 GB Memory
Windows 7 Professional 64 bit / AutoCAD Civil 3D 2014
Distinguished Mentor
Pointdump
Posts: 548
Registered: ‎11-24-2009
Message 8 of 12 (599 Views)

Re: Create a basic door and window

11-25-2012 02:50 AM in reply to: Pointdump

rww09C,

 

Sorry, forum won't allow a YouTube link, nor editing a comment, so that link won't work.

 

Go to YouTube and do a search for "jeremytf77". He has wonderful videos on AutoCAD basics.

 

Good luck to you.

 

Dave
Mohave Valley, Arizona

HP DV7 Laptop
Intel Core i7-3820QM 3rd Generation Quad Core 2.7 GHZ CPU
16 GB DDR3 RAM ( 2 DIMM ) / 180 GB SSD
Nvidia GeForce 650M Graphics w/2 GB Memory
Windows 7 Professional 64 bit / AutoCAD Civil 3D 2014
*Expert Elite*
Joe-Bouza
Posts: 4,755
Registered: ‎12-15-2008
Message 9 of 12 (580 Views)

Re: Create a basic door and window

11-25-2012 08:47 AM in reply to: antoniovinci

Poor guy really wanted some help. I couldn't throw him out in the cold November wind :smileywink:

Thank you

Joseph D. Bouza, P.E. (one of 'THOSE' People) Civil 3D 2012 & 2013
HP Z210 Workstation
Intel Xeon CPU E31240 @ 3.30 Hz
12 GB Ram


Note: Its all Resistentialism, so keep calm and carry on

64 Bit Win7 OS
Distinguished Mentor
Pointdump
Posts: 548
Registered: ‎11-24-2009
Message 10 of 12 (572 Views)

Re: Create a basic door and window

11-25-2012 01:08 PM in reply to: Joe-Bouza

Joe,

 

Thanks for being a good guy. As far as I'm concerned, if someone brings a question here about any Autodesk software, he's in the right place. Asking is a good way to start learning. I've been able to get over lots of stumbling blocks because of people like you in this forum that care enough to help a guy out.

 

Dave
Mohave Valley, Arizona

HP DV7 Laptop
Intel Core i7-3820QM 3rd Generation Quad Core 2.7 GHZ CPU
16 GB DDR3 RAM ( 2 DIMM ) / 180 GB SSD
Nvidia GeForce 650M Graphics w/2 GB Memory
Windows 7 Professional 64 bit / AutoCAD Civil 3D 2014

You are not logged in.

Log into access your profile, ask and answer questions, share ideas and more. Haven't signed up yet? Register

Announcements
Are you familiar with the Autodesk Expert Elites? The Expert Elite program is made up of customers that help other customers by sharing knowledge and exemplifying an engaging style of collaboration. To learn more, please visit our Expert Elite website.

Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions to get help installing your software.

Ask the Community


Civil 3D Exchange Apps

Created by the community for the community, Autodesk Exchange Apps for AutoCAD Civil 3D helps you achieve greater speed, accuracy, and automation from concept to manufacturing.

Connect with Civil 3D

Twitter

Facebook

Blogs