AutoCAD Civil 3D General Discussion

Reply
Valued Contributor
jamesbarnett
Posts: 68
Registered: ‎01-09-2013
Message 1 of 15 (459 Views)
Accepted Solution

Create Grid in Model space

459 Views, 14 Replies
01-09-2013 08:15 AM

I am using  Civil3D 2012 and I am trying to create a 50'x50' grid in model space that automatically populates the N & E. Can anyone point me in the right direction?



AutoCAD Civil 3D 2014 SP 1
Windows 7 (64)
*Pro
dgordon
Posts: 1,464
Registered: ‎12-14-2006
Message 2 of 15 (455 Views)

Re: Create Grid in Model space

01-09-2013 08:22 AM in reply to: jamesbarnett

Cogo points can be populated based on a 50 x 50 grid and have a label style that just shows northing and easting.

 

 

Dan

Civil 3D 2013
Win 7 Pro x64
Intel Xeon 2.0GHz
12Gb Ram
ATI Firepro 4800
Dell T5500
www.preinnewhof.com
Valued Contributor
jamesbarnett
Posts: 68
Registered: ‎01-09-2013
Message 3 of 15 (453 Views)

Re: Create Grid in Model space

01-09-2013 08:28 AM in reply to: dgordon

I'm not wanting to create points though. I just need the lat long lines and an annotation. Carlson has the command dgrid, but I'm not sure how to do it in Civil3D.



AutoCAD Civil 3D 2014 SP 1
Windows 7 (64)
*Expert Elite*
AllenJessup
Posts: 5,788
Registered: ‎05-21-2003
Message 4 of 15 (436 Views)

Re: Create Grid in Model space

01-09-2013 08:43 AM in reply to: jamesbarnett

Use the MAPLAYOUTREFERENCESYSTEM to create the grid in a layout. Then use CHSPACE to move it to Modelspace.

*Expert Elite*
sboon
Posts: 2,074
Registered: ‎11-08-2005
Message 5 of 15 (413 Views)

Re: Create Grid in Model space

01-09-2013 12:40 PM in reply to: AllenJessup

You can set up a Note label style to display two lines and a coordinate at the intersection.  You can also create a dynamic block to do the same thing.

Valued Contributor
jamesbarnett
Posts: 68
Registered: ‎01-09-2013
Message 6 of 15 (409 Views)

Re: Create Grid in Model space

01-09-2013 01:56 PM in reply to: AllenJessup

I get this error

 

c:\program files\autodesk\autocad civil 3d 2012\acmapgridsystem.arx cannot find
a procedure that it needs.
Unknown command "MAPLAYOUTREFERENCESYSTEM"



AutoCAD Civil 3D 2014 SP 1
Windows 7 (64)
Valued Contributor
jamesbarnett
Posts: 68
Registered: ‎01-09-2013
Message 7 of 15 (401 Views)

Re: Create Grid in Model space

01-09-2013 03:38 PM in reply to: sboon

Steve,

 

I figured out the note, but I can't seem to make it offset a specified distance. I tried to use the array, but I can't figure out how to make the thing work.



AutoCAD Civil 3D 2014 SP 1
Windows 7 (64)
*Expert Elite*
AllenJessup
Posts: 5,788
Registered: ‎05-21-2003
Message 8 of 15 (384 Views)

Re: Create Grid in Model space

01-10-2013 04:33 AM in reply to: jamesbarnett

Have you installed SP1?

Valued Contributor
jamesbarnett
Posts: 68
Registered: ‎01-09-2013
Message 9 of 15 (381 Views)

Re: Create Grid in Model space

01-10-2013 05:23 AM in reply to: AllenJessup

The only sp update I get is for SP 2.1



AutoCAD Civil 3D 2014 SP 1
Windows 7 (64)
Valued Contributor
jamesbarnett
Posts: 68
Registered: ‎01-09-2013
Message 10 of 15 (378 Views)

Re: Create Grid in Model space

01-10-2013 05:53 AM in reply to: jamesbarnett

After updating to SP 2.1 the mapreference works great!

 

Thanks guys now I have 2 options on performing the same task. If I could just get the note to offset at a specified distance that would speed up that option.



AutoCAD Civil 3D 2014 SP 1
Windows 7 (64)

You are not logged in.

Log into access your profile, ask and answer questions, share ideas and more. Haven't signed up yet? Register

Announcements
Are you familiar with the Autodesk Expert Elites? The Expert Elite program is made up of customers that help other customers by sharing knowledge and exemplifying an engaging style of collaboration. To learn more, please visit our Expert Elite website.

Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions to get help installing your software.

Ask the Community


Civil 3D Exchange Apps

Created by the community for the community, Autodesk Exchange Apps for AutoCAD Civil 3D helps you achieve greater speed, accuracy, and automation from concept to manufacturing.

Connect with Civil 3D

Twitter

Facebook

Blogs