AutoCAD Civil 3D General Discussion

AutoCAD Civil 3D General Discussion

Reply
Active Contributor
ad_crj_1234
Posts: 27
Registered: ‎06-15-2012
Message 1 of 5 (827 Views)

Create Curve between Two Lines or on Two Lines

827 Views, 4 Replies
09-13-2012 08:39 AM

Civil 3D 2013.

Problem with command from Home tab - Draw panel - Curves drop-down - Create Curves Between Two Lines OR Create Curve on Two Lines.

If you select the Degree option, it draws a zero length curve when you type in a valid number for degree of curve.  I have tried entering it in decimal format and as ##d##'.  NOTHING WORKS!

Is this a known problem?

Am I doing something wrong or can this be fixed?

*Expert Elite*
BrianHailey
Posts: 2,768
Registered: ‎04-27-2005
Message 2 of 5 (822 Views)

Re: Create Curve between Two Lines or on Two Lines

09-13-2012 09:04 AM in reply to: ad_crj_1234

Degree of curvature is typically used in railroad layout. When laying out a rail curve, the surveyors will set up on the incoming tangent, string out a 100' tape, and turn it a specific angle to get the next point on the curve. They would then setup on that point, string out another 100', and then turn the same angle to get the next point. This angle that they turn to layout the curve is known as, "Degree of Curvature".

 

Is this what you are trying to do?

 

If it is, the command is broken and I'm seeing the same thing you are seeing. If it's not, you'll need to use a different method.

 

If you are on subscription, submit a support request so Autodesk knows this is an issue.

Brian Hailey
CAD-1.com
My Blog
Active Contributor
ad_crj_1234
Posts: 27
Registered: ‎06-15-2012
Message 3 of 5 (819 Views)

Re: Create Curve between Two Lines or on Two Lines

09-13-2012 09:11 AM in reply to: BrianHailey

Thanks.

 

I have only worked in Mississippi, and we do use degree of curve for roadway work as well.  However, it's based on the "arc definition" which Civil 3D includes the capability to handle.

 

Regardless, I was just needing to confirm that the command was broken (and I was not doing anything wrong).  Sounds like that is the case.

 

Thanks for your help.

Distinguished Contributor
SurveyorLee
Posts: 126
Registered: ‎12-23-2008
Message 4 of 5 (783 Views)

Re: Create Curve between Two Lines or on Two Lines

09-13-2012 05:25 PM in reply to: ad_crj_1234

Hey all.  As an "older surveyor" I do know a little about curves. From the earlier posts,

Degree of curve is the angle subtended by 100 feet of curve.  For an "arc definition" the distance is 100 feet on the arc.

For a chord definition curve, the 100 feet is along the chord.  There is also a general rule of thumb for staking the 100' intervals.  It works for railroad or highway curves.  As one person said once, it will create the straightest crooked line you have ever seen.

 

 

 

Surveyor Lee

*Expert Elite*
wfberry
Posts: 1,823
Registered: ‎09-05-2006
Message 5 of 5 (747 Views)

Re: Create Curve between Two Lines or on Two Lines

09-15-2012 05:34 AM in reply to: ad_crj_1234

In reality, the degree of curvature is just another way of expressing the Radius of the curve.  Just convert the degree of curve to a Radius and use that between 2 lines.

 

Bill

 

Announcements
Are you familiar with the Autodesk Expert Elites? The Expert Elite program is made up of customers that help other customers by sharing knowledge and exemplifying an engaging style of collaboration. To learn more, please visit our Expert Elite website.
Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions or visit the Installation and Licensing Forum to get help installing your software.