Community
Civil 3D Forum
Welcome to Autodesk’s Civil 3D Forums. Share your knowledge, ask questions, and explore popular AutoCAD Civil 3D topics.
cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Corridor back of curb

4 REPLIES 4
Message 1 of 5
bfnaught
3091 Views, 4 Replies

Corridor back of curb

I am new to corridors and am having some trouble with this.  I have an assembly that has a paved roadway, 2' curb and gutter and a sidewalk.  Along the road the curb varies to allow for on street parking.  I have the front and back of sidewalk attached to an alignment, so it is exactly where it needs to be.  I have an alignment that my EOP follows as well, and that seems to be ok. The problem is the back fo curb in the corridor.  Instead of being 2' offset from the EOP, it is shifted 2' perpendicular to the baseline. Please take a look at the attached picture.

I think I can get it done by making each parking "bump out" it's own region using the EOP alignment, but that will take a lot more time and make my file a whole lot bigger. Being a corridor rookie, I am hoping I am just missing something.

I'm using Civil 3D 2013.

Thanks in advance.

Brian

Tags (2)
4 REPLIES 4
Message 2 of 5
castled071049
in reply to: bfnaught

Yeah, that's how corridors work: everything is always perpendicular to the baseline. There are several things you can do, other than live with it:

1. Use an offset assembly. (See the "Help" files)

2. Dump the bump-out EOP alignment and instead use feature lines to model the bump-outs and add them to your surface. (It works, kind of, but can be cumbersome if you make changes to the corridor proper.)

3. Don't worry much about it and let it ride as you have it now. It will get the flowline and top of curb elevations correct, just not quite where you want them horizontally. There are much worst pitfalls in Civil 3D than that.

Message 3 of 5
sslate
in reply to: castled071049