AutoCAD Civil 3D General Discussion

Reply
*Srayos Endbringer
Message 1 of 21 (1,928 Views)

Corridor Daylight Not Connecting

1928 Views, 20 Replies
06-02-2010 07:44 AM
I have a strange problem. I have a corridor where the daylight works on
the right side without any problem, but a mirrored copy of the same
subassembly does not. On the left side each cross section of the
corridor has the daylight, but they are not being connected. I have
attached a screen shot showing what I'm talking about.

I have tried looking at the settings for the assembly, for the
subassembly, and for the corridor and can't find out why the corridor
refuses to connect just this one daylight. The surface is correct, but
the connecting of the daylight points is not happening. Anyone know why
or how to fix this?

EB
-----------------------
Win7 Pro 64-bit
Civil 3D 2011 64-bit
6GB RAM
Distinguished Contributor
idmadcadder
Posts: 169
Registered: ‎08-06-2007
Message 2 of 21 (1,925 Views)

Re: Corridor Daylight Not Connecting

06-02-2010 09:52 AM in reply to: *Srayos Endbringer
Check to make sure you are targeting a surface with both sides.

Brent Daley
Civil Designer/CAD Services Manager
The Land Group, Inc.
Civil 3D 2011 Update 2
Windows 7 Professional SP1 x64
3.20 GHz 8gb RAM
*Srayos Endbringer
Message 3 of 21 (1,925 Views)

Re: Corridor Daylight Not Connecting

06-02-2010 10:33 AM in reply to: *Srayos Endbringer
It's targeting the surface because the slope lines from the cross
section are there. Those are the red lines that show up on the previous
post's attachment. It's just not creating the feature line between each
daylight point.

EB
-----------------------
Win7 Pro 64-bit
Civil 3D 2011 64-bit
6GB RAM

On 6/2/2010 12:52 PM, Brentster7189 wrote:
> Check to make sure you are targeting a surface with both sides.
>
> Brent Daley
> Civil Designer/CAD Services Manager
> The Land Group, Inc.

--
New Member
ivanl
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎02-19-2010
Message 4 of 21 (1,924 Views)

Re: Corridor Daylight Not Connecting

06-02-2010 11:37 AM in reply to: *Srayos Endbringer
under Corridor Properties>Feature Lines, is everything "Connect"? Edited by: ivanl on Jun 2, 2010 3:10 PM
Valued Mentor
engrtech
Posts: 696
Registered: ‎05-05-2008
Message 5 of 21 (1,922 Views)

Re: Corridor Daylight Not Connecting

06-07-2010 08:28 AM in reply to: *Srayos Endbringer

Yes, the corridor links are all selected to connect.  That's why the right side connects and anything before or after this region connect.  It is just the daylight that is on the offset alignment that will not connect.  I just don't understand why it's doing this.

 

P.S.  I hate the web format.  It is cumbersome to use and not nearly as search or user friendly as the NNTP was.

Infrastructure Design Suite Premium 2014
Civil 3D 2014 x64
Testing IDSP 2015
Windows 7 64-bit
6GB RAM
Valued Mentor
engrtech
Posts: 696
Registered: ‎05-05-2008
Message 6 of 21 (1,733 Views)

Re: Corridor Daylight Not Connecting

09-10-2010 01:20 PM in reply to: *Srayos Endbringer

OK, now another person in my office is having the same problem.  He's got an offset assembly with a 10' sidewalk and a basic daylight subassembly.  In the corridor sections, the offset assembly doesn't show all of the subassemblies.  It cuts it off in the middle and it randomly changes where it's cut off.  I thought it might be because the offset assembly is following an alignment that is not parallel to the baseline, but then that doesn't explain why the daylight points aren't being created.  The corridor feature line for the daylights just aren't being drawn. 

 

What is going on?

 

Infrastructure Design Suite Premium 2014
Civil 3D 2014 x64
Testing IDSP 2015
Windows 7 64-bit
6GB RAM
Distinguished Mentor
rl_jackson
Posts: 695
Registered: ‎01-20-2008
Message 7 of 21 (1,721 Views)

Re: Corridor Daylight Not Connecting

09-10-2010 01:45 PM in reply to: engrtech

"P.S.  I hate the web format.  It is cumbersome to use and not nearly as search or user friendly as the NNTP was."

 

And I have noticed a decrease in use as well

C3D12-13
Win7x64 6gb
*Pro
dgordon
Posts: 1,464
Registered: ‎12-14-2006
Message 8 of 21 (1,672 Views)

Re: Corridor Daylight Not Connecting

09-13-2010 12:24 PM in reply to: engrtech

Could you post a small example drawing with just a small alignment and the offending assembly.   the one with one half working and one half not?   I have an idea where to look but I doubt i could explain it here.  I can open anything but 2011 drawing.

 

Dan

Dan

Civil 3D 2013
Win 7 Pro x64
Intel Xeon 2.0GHz
12Gb Ram
ATI Firepro 4800
Dell T5500
www.preinnewhof.com
Valued Mentor
engrtech
Posts: 696
Registered: ‎05-05-2008
Message 9 of 21 (1,636 Views)

Re: Corridor Daylight Not Connecting

09-15-2010 12:20 PM in reply to: dgordon

I don't know how I'd post a drawing since we heavily rely on multiple drawings, xref's, and data shortcuts.  Basically, every assembly I've created with an offset assembly that contains the basic daylight subassembly doesn't connect the daylight points.  This has happens in both Civil 3D 2010 and Civil 3D 2011 64-bit.

 

The original screen shots attached in the first post show where the left side offset assembly daylights aren't being connected.  The right side is connecting because it's on the main assembly.  Daylight subassemblies on an offset assembly don't seem to connect.

Infrastructure Design Suite Premium 2014
Civil 3D 2014 x64
Testing IDSP 2015
Windows 7 64-bit
6GB RAM
Employee
nzeeben
Posts: 90
Registered: ‎09-22-2008
Message 10 of 21 (1,628 Views)

Re: Corridor Daylight Not Connecting

09-15-2010 12:52 PM in reply to: *Srayos Endbringer

I created what I think is similar to the situation you are describing with the offset assembly.  My daylight feature lines on the offset assembly are being created.  Seems like something deeper in the way you are building your corridors. You should be able to run the etransmit command, it will pack up all the files required to post an example.  If you would like to send it directly to me please feel free to do so.

Thanks

Nick

 

You are not logged in.

Log into access your profile, ask and answer questions, share ideas and more. Haven't signed up yet? Register

Announcements
Are you familiar with the Autodesk Expert Elites? The Expert Elite program is made up of customers that help other customers by sharing knowledge and exemplifying an engaging style of collaboration. To learn more, please visit our Expert Elite website.

Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions to get help installing your software.

Ask the Community


Civil 3D Exchange Apps

Created by the community for the community, Autodesk Exchange Apps for AutoCAD Civil 3D helps you achieve greater speed, accuracy, and automation from concept to manufacturing.

Connect with Civil 3D

Twitter

Facebook

Blogs