AutoCAD Civil 3D General Discussion

Reply
Active Contributor
Steenix
Posts: 30
Registered: ‎05-16-2013
Message 1 of 8 (430 Views)

Copying pipe data into a "regular" AutoCAD table

430 Views, 7 Replies
06-06-2013 03:08 PM

Hello all,

 

I want to copy just two pieces of information from a pipe network into a table. I would just generate an automatic pipe table, but those are not editable. Does anyone know of a quick way to copy and paste the pipe lengths and names in a network into a "regular" table?

 

Thanks in advance,

 

Austin 

*Expert Elite*
Joe-Bouza
Posts: 4,800
Registered: ‎12-15-2008
Message 2 of 8 (428 Views)

Re: Copying pipe data into a "regular" AutoCAD table

06-06-2013 03:17 PM in reply to: Steenix
copy paste from the panarama? You know it will not be dynamic, right?
Thank you

Joseph D. Bouza, P.E. (one of 'THOSE' People) Civil 3D 2012 & 2013
HP Z210 Workstation
Intel Xeon CPU E31240 @ 3.30 Hz
12 GB Ram


Note: Its all Resistentialism, so keep calm and carry on

64 Bit Win7 OS
Active Contributor
Steenix
Posts: 30
Registered: ‎05-16-2013
Message 3 of 8 (426 Views)

Re: Copying pipe data into a "regular" AutoCAD table

06-06-2013 03:23 PM in reply to: Joe-Bouza

Sorry, I forgot to mention - I already tried that, but it just pastes all of the copied data into a single cell. While I could copy the information cell by cell, it seems like a real waste of time.

 

And yes, I know it will no longer be dynamic, but I'm pretty sure there's no way to have a "partially dynamic" table with pipe data in it.

Valued Contributor
mbcastle
Posts: 66
Registered: ‎09-24-2008
Message 4 of 8 (420 Views)

Re: Copying pipe data into a "regular" AutoCAD table

06-06-2013 03:33 PM in reply to: Steenix

Maybe if you copy from panorama to Excel, and then from Excel to AutoCAD table?

Mark Castle
Civil 3D 2014, SP1
Win 8.1 64-Bit, 8 GB RAM
Core 2 Duo 6400, Quadro FX 580
Active Contributor
Steenix
Posts: 30
Registered: ‎05-16-2013
Message 5 of 8 (415 Views)

Re: Copying pipe data into a "regular" AutoCAD table

06-06-2013 03:39 PM in reply to: mbcastle

That's the only solution I've been able to find, which we didn't want to resort to. It could be worse though, I suppose. Thanks for the prompt responses guys!

 

Austin

*Expert Elite*
BrianHailey
Posts: 2,753
Registered: ‎04-27-2005
Message 6 of 8 (394 Views)

Re: Copying pipe data into a "regular" AutoCAD table

06-06-2013 05:11 PM in reply to: Steenix

Create a report from the Toolbox on the Toolspace. Save it as a .xls file. Data link to the .xls file.

 

HERE

Brian Hailey
CAD-1.com
My Blog
*Expert Elite*
Joe-Bouza
Posts: 4,800
Registered: ‎12-15-2008
Message 7 of 8 (388 Views)

Re: Copying pipe data into a "regular" AutoCAD table

06-06-2013 05:42 PM in reply to: Steenix
you need to parse it. But Brian has a ggod suggestion via tool box
Thank you

Joseph D. Bouza, P.E. (one of 'THOSE' People) Civil 3D 2012 & 2013
HP Z210 Workstation
Intel Xeon CPU E31240 @ 3.30 Hz
12 GB Ram


Note: Its all Resistentialism, so keep calm and carry on

64 Bit Win7 OS
Valued Contributor
emelendez
Posts: 60
Registered: ‎07-01-2011
Message 8 of 8 (343 Views)

Re: Copying pipe data into a "regular" AutoCAD table

06-11-2013 06:22 AM in reply to: Steenix

Brian's method is exactly what I was thinking. Before I even watched his screen capture video (Very nice by the way Brian) those were the steps I took. The good thing about doing it his way is you can just over ride the file if things change and modify the updated excel file. Then the data link will update. it's sorta dynamic. We'll call it manually dynamic!

The question I have is why would you want to modify the pipe table? can you not create a simple pipe table that will display only the pipe lengths and pipe names? if you need to add a custom area where you can add specific notes regarding each pipe, why not add a third column to the dynamic tabel that reads the actual description of the pipe, then add whatever you want to the description of each pipe.

 

Capture.PNG

Edwin Melendez
AutoCAD Civil 3D 2013 Certified Professional
Certification No. 00319327

You are not logged in.

Log into access your profile, ask and answer questions, share ideas and more. Haven't signed up yet? Register

Announcements
Are you familiar with the Autodesk Expert Elites? The Expert Elite program is made up of customers that help other customers by sharing knowledge and exemplifying an engaging style of collaboration. To learn more, please visit our Expert Elite website.

Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions to get help installing your software.

Ask the Community


Civil 3D Exchange Apps

Created by the community for the community, Autodesk Exchange Apps for AutoCAD Civil 3D helps you achieve greater speed, accuracy, and automation from concept to manufacturing.

Connect with Civil 3D

Twitter

Facebook

Blogs