AutoCAD Civil 3D General Discussion

AutoCAD Civil 3D General Discussion

Reply
*Expert Elite*
Neilw
Posts: 2,244
Registered: ‎09-04-2006
Message 11 of 19 (1,613 Views)

Re: Converting from Microstation to AutoCAD

05-03-2011 09:09 AM in reply to: peterfunkautodesk

Regretably we were not able to renew our subscription this year so I won't be able to try the new feature. I could post my .rsc file if you'd like to try it. I would love to see how it works in Autocad as well if possible. If the converted styles function properly it could be a selling point to management.

Neil Wilson (a.k.a. neilw)
Infrastructure Suite/C3D 2013, LDT 2004, Power Civil v8i SS1
WIN 7 64 PRO
HP Pavillion h8xt, i7 2600, 12 GB
RADEON 6450, 1 GB
http://www.sec-landmgt.com
Employee
peterfunkautodesk
Posts: 710
Registered: ‎08-25-2009
Message 12 of 19 (1,600 Views)

Re: Converting from Microstation to AutoCAD

05-03-2011 10:16 AM in reply to: Neilw

This is in Civil 3D 2011 as well...

 

Peter Funk

Autodesk, Inc.



Peter Funk
Autodesk, Inc.

Active Member
blasman123
Posts: 10
Registered: ‎05-30-2012
Message 13 of 19 (1,121 Views)

Re: Converting from Microstation to AutoCAD

12-28-2012 12:40 PM in reply to: Karon.williams

Peter,

 

Where can I get this API from Bentley. The one that converts MIcrostation Linestyles to Autocad?

 

Thanks,

 

Sonny Gonzales

New Member
jnavagh
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎07-19-2012
Message 14 of 19 (1,005 Views)

Re: Converting from Microstation to AutoCAD

02-19-2013 12:55 PM in reply to: Karon.williams

I have been testing the use of this conversion feature, and it seems fine when the file is first imported.  However, when saving the file and closing, and then re-opening, the linetypes have been washed away and I am left with continuous lines where my microstation linetypes once were.  The linetype is still defined in the "Linetype" dialog, however the graphics simply loom like a continuous line.  Any thoughts?

New Member
balkisusa
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎02-21-2013
Message 15 of 19 (982 Views)

Re: Converting linetypes and styles from Microstation to AutoCAD 7

02-21-2013 07:19 AM in reply to: Neilw

our client sent us dng files which I was able to convert to CAD 7, but my linetypes are not plotting right. The client sent us also all the linetypes and standards but in microstation format. How do I transfer/convert these standards so I can create the correct plot style so my drawings will plot correctly?

Valued Contributor
civ_engineer
Posts: 84
Registered: ‎07-08-2005
Message 16 of 19 (777 Views)

Re: Converting from Microstation to AutoCAD

08-14-2013 08:36 AM in reply to: Neilw

Did you find a solution to this problem?

I just used NCOPY to bring in a microstation linetype

and had the same result of getting the continuous line upon

reopening the drawing.  I'm trying to make a double yellow with the

inside dash... using a shape created in autocad produced pitiful results.

*Expert Elite*
Neilw
Posts: 2,244
Registered: ‎09-04-2006
Message 17 of 19 (775 Views)

Re: Converting from Microstation to AutoCAD

08-14-2013 08:46 AM in reply to: civ_engineer

I haven't gone through the workflow, but as Peter metioned above, you'll need to put the microstation linestyle file (.rsc) in the Autocad files path for the translation to maintain fidelity. So I would conclude you'll need to get the .rsc file from the DGN source.

Neil Wilson (a.k.a. neilw)
Infrastructure Suite/C3D 2013, LDT 2004, Power Civil v8i SS1
WIN 7 64 PRO
HP Pavillion h8xt, i7 2600, 12 GB
RADEON 6450, 1 GB
http://www.sec-landmgt.com
Valued Contributor
civ_engineer
Posts: 84
Registered: ‎07-08-2005
Message 18 of 19 (761 Views)

Re: Converting from Microstation to AutoCAD

08-14-2013 12:29 PM in reply to: Neilw

That didn't work for me.

*Expert Elite*
Neilw
Posts: 2,244
Registered: ‎09-04-2006
Message 19 of 19 (757 Views)

Re: Converting from Microstation to AutoCAD

08-14-2013 12:41 PM in reply to: civ_engineer

I'd file a support request with reference to Peter's comment in this thread.

Neil Wilson (a.k.a. neilw)
Infrastructure Suite/C3D 2013, LDT 2004, Power Civil v8i SS1
WIN 7 64 PRO
HP Pavillion h8xt, i7 2600, 12 GB
RADEON 6450, 1 GB
http://www.sec-landmgt.com
Announcements
Are you familiar with the Autodesk Expert Elites? The Expert Elite program is made up of customers that help other customers by sharing knowledge and exemplifying an engaging style of collaboration. To learn more, please visit our Expert Elite website.
Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions or visit the Installation and Licensing Forum to get help installing your software.