AutoCAD Civil 3D General

Reply
New Member
Karon.williams
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎05-02-2011
Message 1 of 19 (15,945 Views)
Accepted Solution

Converting from Microstation to AutoCAD

15945 Views, 18 Replies
05-02-2011 02:51 PM

Is there a tool in Microstation that converts .dgn to .dwg without any loss of styles, lineweights, etc?

*Expert Elite*
Neilw
Posts: 2,212
Registered: ‎09-04-2006
Message 2 of 19 (15,929 Views)

Re: Converting from Microstation to AutoCAD

05-02-2011 04:50 PM in reply to: Karon.williams

I'm not an expert on ustn but I do use it. The SS2 version has Real Drawing libraries so it might provide better fidelity than older versions when converting DGN to DWG. Depending on which version you have you can use the EXPORT command from the file menu to convert DGN to DWG, or you can just use SAVEAS. I'm not sure which method offers the best fidelity but I don't think either will be 100% since ustn has more capabilities than ACAD with regard to linetypes, references and other features and vice versa for some features in ACAD. Also sheets may not translate to conventional ACAD layouts if they were not set up properly for that purpose.

Neil Wilson (a.k.a. neilw)
Infrastructure Suite/C3D 2013, LDT 2004, Power Civil v8i SS1
WIN 7 64 PRO
HP Pavillion h8xt, i7 2600, 12 GB
RADEON 6450, 1 GB
http://www.sec-landmgt.com
Valued Contributor
david.dixon
Posts: 74
Registered: ‎11-13-2006
Message 3 of 19 (15,894 Views)

Re: Converting from Microstation to AutoCAD

05-03-2011 05:23 AM in reply to: Karon.williams

In Microstation v8i, SAVEAS .dwg usually works pretty well for me.  Make sure you use the correct units when saving (Feet vs. Survey Feet) or your site might shift by a few feet.  Also, using Windows True Type fonts instead of Microstation fonts helps.

David Dixon
Senior Civil Designer

Google+
Valued Contributor
rnoyes
Posts: 56
Registered: ‎09-17-2007
Message 4 of 19 (15,892 Views)

Re: Converting from Microstation to AutoCAD

05-03-2011 05:35 AM in reply to: Karon.williams

The conversion mentioned by Neil will work very well.  You also have the ability in SS2 to have the linetypes be written out as Autocad linetypes and translate MicroStation fonts to Autocad shx files.  Using Export or save as will give you the same functionality.  All the setings are under the dwg options (bottom right of the saveas or export dialog).  It allows you to use the level symbology settings to translate if you want.  It is fairly flexible.  You then just need to hunt down the shx/lin files it creates and you will be good to go.

 

One thing to keep in mind most of our clients generate linetypes at a scale (so let's say they are developed for 40 scale plans).  So on the acad side you may end up needing to mess with LTSCALE/PSLTSCALE/MSLTSCALE to be happy with the way those files work in Autocad.  It also may end up making working with native Acad linestyles and Microstation linetypes in the same file a challenge.

 

A final note (really I promise this is it).  Since Microstation does still generate some linetypes that are not supported by Autodesk I suggest that you check the check box that says "Drop unsupported Linestyles to Components" this way the "picture" still looks the same.  Or you use the remap utility in MicroStation to map the lines to some other supported style.

 

HTH

Valued Contributor
david.dixon
Posts: 74
Registered: ‎11-13-2006
Message 5 of 19 (15,882 Views)

Re: Converting from Microstation to AutoCAD

05-03-2011 05:40 AM in reply to: rnoyes

really dumb question...what is SS2?

David Dixon
Senior Civil Designer

Google+
New Member
Karon.williams
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎05-02-2011
Message 6 of 19 (15,875 Views)

Re: Converting from Microstation to AutoCAD

05-03-2011 05:46 AM in reply to: david.dixon

SS2 = select series 2. 

Employee
peterfunkautodesk
Posts: 707
Registered: ‎08-25-2009
Message 7 of 19 (15,870 Views)

Re: Converting from Microstation to AutoCAD

05-03-2011 05:49 AM in reply to: Karon.williams

We made some changes to Civil 3D 2011(using an API from Bentley) that have be added to AutoCAD 2012 (and Civil 3D 2012) that when a DGN file is opened, the linetypes in the Microstation resource file (rsc) are recreated in AutoCAD.

 

Regards,

 

Peter Funk

Autodesk, Inc.



Peter Funk
Autodesk, Inc.

Valued Contributor
david.dixon
Posts: 74
Registered: ‎11-13-2006
Message 8 of 19 (15,866 Views)

Re: Converting from Microstation to AutoCAD

05-03-2011 05:53 AM in reply to: Karon.williams

thanks!  I was unaware that we were running an old version of v8i (SS1).

David Dixon
Senior Civil Designer

Google+
*Expert Elite*
Neilw
Posts: 2,212
Registered: ‎09-04-2006
Message 9 of 19 (15,838 Views)

Re: Converting from Microstation to AutoCAD

05-03-2011 08:43 AM in reply to: peterfunkautodesk

Peter,

 

I am curious about how complex linetypes in Microstation might be translated to Autocad linetypes. I am no expert on Autocad linetypes but It is my understanding that Autocad linetypes are incapable of mimicing some of Microstation's capabilities. For example I have a Microstation linestyle that includes a curb & parking stalls when I stretch out a line. How does the new Autocad Translator handle these tyes of linestyles? It would be great if we could get this style to work in Autocad.

Neil Wilson (a.k.a. neilw)
Infrastructure Suite/C3D 2013, LDT 2004, Power Civil v8i SS1
WIN 7 64 PRO
HP Pavillion h8xt, i7 2600, 12 GB
RADEON 6450, 1 GB
http://www.sec-landmgt.com
Employee
peterfunkautodesk
Posts: 707
Registered: ‎08-25-2009
Message 10 of 19 (15,832 Views)

Re: Converting from Microstation to AutoCAD

05-03-2011 09:04 AM in reply to: Karon.williams

The linetype engine has some additional features for reading RSC files from Microstation and creating a linetype that can replacate the graphics inside of AutoCAD. At this time these are "special" linetypes that you can't edit or create using the AutoCAD UI. You will need to make sure that the location of the RSC file is in the AutoCAD path for the conversion to work.

 

We tested this on a good number of Microstation lintypes and it is working well. I love to here how your linetypes work.

 

Cheers,

 

Peter Funk

Autodesk, Inc.



Peter Funk
Autodesk, Inc.

You are not logged in.

Log into access your profile, ask and answer questions, share ideas and more. Haven't signed up yet? Register

Announcements
Are you familiar with the Autodesk Expert Elites? The Expert Elite program is made up of customers that help other customers by sharing knowledge and exemplifying an engaging style of collaboration. To learn more, please visit our Expert Elite website.

Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions to get help installing your software.

Ask the Community


Civil 3D Exchange Apps

Created by the community for the community, Autodesk Exchange Apps for AutoCAD Civil 3D helps you achieve greater speed, accuracy, and automation from concept to manufacturing.

Connect with Civil 3D

Twitter

Facebook

Blogs