AutoCAD Civil 3D General

Reply
Distinguished Contributor
RafaelMoreno
Posts: 216
Registered: ‎11-06-2006
Message 1 of 7 (359 Views)
Accepted Solution

Contour labels visibility

359 Views, 6 Replies
01-07-2013 03:05 PM

 

Hi:

 

I am trying to make my contour labels visible, indepently of the Visible status of the contours in the surface style of the original surface that I am working on. I have to do this due the final topo looks strange in the borders so I am displaying another contours -that do not have elevation- and make look the drawing better. The problem is that if I turn off the Visible property of the contours, the labels turn off even that they were created in a different layer and attached to a label style with its own layer property.

 

Just in case you need more details, do not hesitate to give me a shout.

 

Thanks in advance

 

 

 

Rafael Moreno

 

 

*Expert Elite*
BrianHailey
Posts: 2,749
Registered: ‎04-27-2005
Message 2 of 7 (356 Views)

Re: Contour labels visibility

01-07-2013 03:12 PM in reply to: RafaelMoreno

Use a layer within the surface style for your contours and then you can simply turn that layer off and the contours labels will remain.

Distinguished Contributor
RafaelMoreno
Posts: 216
Registered: ‎11-06-2006
Message 3 of 7 (351 Views)

Re: Contour labels visibility

01-07-2013 03:43 PM in reply to: BrianHailey

 

Hi Brian:

 

Thank you very much for the quick response. I tried this and it works, the problem is that I do have several objects and all of them attached different Surface Styles. These surface styles call the same layers to display the contours so if I turn off the layers, the contours of all objects are going to disappear. I know that you told me that I have to create antoher layer for this surface but in this case I have to create several for the other surfaces.

 

Is there another solution?

 

Thanks

 

Rafael Moreno

Active Contributor
arcallupe
Posts: 36
Registered: ‎09-07-2011
Message 4 of 7 (343 Views)

Re: Contour labels visibility

01-07-2013 04:24 PM in reply to: RafaelMoreno

Explode the labels.

Distinguished Contributor
RafaelMoreno
Posts: 216
Registered: ‎11-06-2006
Message 5 of 7 (333 Views)

Re: Contour labels visibility

01-07-2013 05:54 PM in reply to: RafaelMoreno

 

 

Hi Brian:

 

Thanks for your answer. I will keep this as a solution. I have a quick question...do I need antoherh thread?

 

 

Thanks

 

Rafael

*Expert Elite*
BrianHailey
Posts: 2,749
Registered: ‎04-27-2005
Message 6 of 7 (326 Views)

Re: Contour labels visibility

01-07-2013 07:38 PM in reply to: arcallupe

arcallupe wrote:

Explode the labels.


NOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOO

 

Don't explode the labels! If your surface changes, the labels won't update. Simply copy the surface style and change the layers the contours are using. Do this as many times as necessary.

 

NEVER EXPLODE ANYTHING IN CIVIL 3D EXCEPT AS A LAST RESORT! The only last resort I would use is, "I have to get this out today and I don't understand how the program works so I'll explode it for now but as soon as I get a chance I'll figure out a way to do this without exploding". 

 

 

*Expert Elite*
troma
Posts: 2,519
Registered: ‎05-21-2008
Message 7 of 7 (301 Views)

Re: Contour labels visibility

01-08-2013 07:03 AM in reply to: BrianHailey

Sometimes I think we need a thumbs-down 'anti-kudo' button for some posts.


Credit where credit is due! Give kudos or accept as solution whenever you can.

You are not logged in.

Log into access your profile, ask and answer questions, share ideas and more. Haven't signed up yet? Register

Announcements
Are you familiar with the Autodesk Expert Elites? The Expert Elite program is made up of customers that help other customers by sharing knowledge and exemplifying an engaging style of collaboration. To learn more, please visit our Expert Elite website.

Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions to get help installing your software.

Ask the Community


Civil 3D Exchange Apps

Created by the community for the community, Autodesk Exchange Apps for AutoCAD Civil 3D helps you achieve greater speed, accuracy, and automation from concept to manufacturing.

Connect with Civil 3D

Twitter

Facebook

Blogs