AutoCAD Civil 3D General

Reply
Contributor
windycityengineer
Posts: 17
Registered: ‎03-12-2011
Message 1 of 5 (320 Views)

Contour Texts

320 Views, 4 Replies
11-16-2012 08:55 AM

The contour lines themselves are in model space. The contour texts are in paper space. How do I make the line hide under the  text? I have attached of a similar drawing done by someone else. Any help is greatly appreciated.

 

Thank you,

 

WindyCityEngineer

*Expert Elite*
Posts: 2,501
Registered: ‎05-21-2008
Message 2 of 5 (315 Views)

Re: Contour Texts

11-16-2012 09:06 AM in reply to: windycityengineer

You are in an unusual situation to have the contour labels in paper space.

However, you could consider using wipeouts, although I generally despise them.  My preffered option would be to use the background mask option in Mtext.

If this text is actually Mtext, you can select them all, go to your properties, and add the background mask. I like a factor  or 1.05, and be sure to select 'Use background color'.mask.png

 


Credit where credit is due! Give kudos or accept as solution whenever you can.

*Expert Elite*
Posts: 2,501
Registered: ‎05-21-2008
Message 3 of 5 (312 Views)

Re: Contour Texts

11-16-2012 09:10 AM in reply to: windycityengineer

If your text is regular TEXT, not MTEXT, you need to convert it first.  The Express tool will do that, but you have to run it one by one, or it will combine all the labels into one piece of MTEXT.

The attached lisp will convert all the selected regular TEXT into MTEXT, leaving them as separate entities.  Be sure to set the Mtext width to zero after you convert, and then set the background mask.


Credit where credit is due! Give kudos or accept as solution whenever you can.

*Pro
Posts: 1,464
Registered: ‎12-14-2006
Message 4 of 5 (244 Views)

Re: Contour Texts

11-21-2012 11:06 AM in reply to: windycityengineer

Since we are using civil 3d software why not use the contour lines to create a surface and use C3D contour lables to lable the contour lines.

 

 

Dan

Civil 3D 2013
Win 7 Pro x64
Intel Xeon 2.0GHz
12Gb Ram
ATI Firepro 4800
Dell T5500
www.preinnewhof.com
*Expert Elite*
Joe-Bouza
Posts: 4,493
Registered: ‎12-15-2008
Message 5 of 5 (218 Views)

Re: Contour Texts

11-21-2012 06:21 PM in reply to: dgordon

Very diplomatic of you , Dan :smileywink: my thoughts were in other arena's

Thank you

Joseph D. Bouza, P.E. (one of 'THOSE' People) Civil 3D 2012 & 2013
HP Z210 Workstation
Intel Xeon CPU E31240 @ 3.30 Hz
12 GB Ram


Note: Its all Resistentialism, so keep calm and carry on

64 Bit Win7 OS

You are not logged in.

Log into access your profile, ask and answer questions, share ideas and more. Haven't signed up yet? Register

Announcements
Welcome to the new Autodesk Community!
If this is your first visit, click here to get started and make the most of the Community. Let us know what you think of the new experience in the Community Feedback Forum.

Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions to get help installing your software.

Ask the Community


Civil 3D Exchange Apps

Created by the community for the community, Autodesk Exchange Apps for AutoCAD Civil 3D helps you achieve greater speed, accuracy, and automation from concept to manufacturing.

Connect with Civil 3D

Twitter

Facebook

Blogs