AutoCAD Civil 3D General

Reply
Valued Contributor
DrWileFTracer
Posts: 93
Registered: ‎03-04-2010
Message 1 of 3 (303 Views)
Accepted Solution

Contour Labels

303 Views, 2 Replies
09-18-2012 08:16 AM

I would like my contour labels to be on layers other than the default C-TOPO-TEXT layer.

In the appropriate "Command" settings under "Surface" on the Settings tab, I assigned styles I created (with specific layers for the major and minor contour labels) to the contour labelling defaults. When I add labels to the contours, however, they are still on the C-TOPO-TEXT layer. How do I get them to be on the layers I created.

 

TIA

 

Wilf

*Expert Elite*
tcorey
Posts: 2,446
Registered: ‎12-18-2002
Message 2 of 3 (286 Views)

Re: Contour Labels

09-18-2012 09:25 AM in reply to: DrWileFTracer

Layers for labeling are handled in a two-tiered system. The layer you set in Drawing Settings, Object Layers tab, controls all TIN labels. If you freeze this, all TIN Surface labels will freeze.

 

Individual label styles also can have their own layer settings. If you leave the master layer thawed and on, you can freeze/off individual styles based on their layer.

 

Example: Master TIN Surface label layer is C-TOPO-TEXT. For contour labels, I use C-TOPO-CONT-LABL. For spot shots I use C-TOPO-SPOT-LABL. Freezing C-TOPO-TEXT freezes contour and spot labels. Freezing C-TOPO-CONT-LABL only freeze contour labels.

 

Best regards,

 

Tim

 

Tim Corey, Owner
Delta Engineering Systems
Redding, CA
Autodesk Authorized Value-Added Reseller
Valued Contributor
DrWileFTracer
Posts: 93
Registered: ‎03-04-2010
Message 3 of 3 (227 Views)

Re: Contour Labels

09-24-2012 04:48 AM in reply to: tcorey

Thanks very much.

 

Wil

You are not logged in.

Log into access your profile, ask and answer questions, share ideas and more. Haven't signed up yet? Register

Announcements
Are you familiar with the Autodesk Expert Elites? The Expert Elite program is made up of customers that help other customers by sharing knowledge and exemplifying an engaging style of collaboration. To learn more, please visit our Expert Elite website.

Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions to get help installing your software.

Ask the Community


Civil 3D Exchange Apps

Created by the community for the community, Autodesk Exchange Apps for AutoCAD Civil 3D helps you achieve greater speed, accuracy, and automation from concept to manufacturing.

Connect with Civil 3D

Twitter

Facebook

Blogs