AutoCAD Civil 3D General

Reply
Distinguished Contributor
Posts: 178
Registered: ‎09-23-2008
Message 1 of 7 (1,104 Views)
Accepted Solution

Connecting pipe to different Pipe Network structure

1104 Views, 6 Replies
06-20-2012 05:02 AM

Using Network Layout Tools, can you attach a pipe to a structure in a different Pipe Network?

2013 Civil 3D
Valued Mentor
Posts: 282
Registered: ‎06-26-2007
Message 2 of 7 (1,087 Views)

Re: Connecting pipe to different Pipe Network structure

06-20-2012 01:24 PM in reply to: ktm125

Short answer, no, you can't. Pipes and structures on separate networks do not interact. One work-around I've done is to use shortcuts to import my pre-construction drainage layout into a new drawing, promote it, then change the network name to reflect the post-construction drainage layout and build my drainage changes into that model. I have pre-determined styles to separate existing pipes and structures from proposed pipes and structures. This moethod has worked well for me on several projects, some that include extensive existing drainage layouts.

Windows 7 64-bit
HP Z600 8 Gig RAM
Civil 3D 2013
*Expert Elite*
wfberry
Posts: 1,621
Registered: ‎09-05-2006
Message 3 of 7 (1,066 Views)

Re: Connecting pipe to different Pipe Network structure

06-21-2012 05:41 AM in reply to: ktm125

You can merge the networks then connect, however.

 

Bill

 

 

Distinguished Contributor
Posts: 178
Registered: ‎09-23-2008
Message 4 of 7 (1,063 Views)

Re: Connecting pipe to different Pipe Network structure

06-21-2012 05:52 AM in reply to: ccoles

thanks...I'll control the different pipe runs thru styles

2013 Civil 3D
Contributor
RainierFan
Posts: 17
Registered: ‎10-25-2010
Message 5 of 7 (925 Views)

Re: Connecting pipe to different Pipe Network structure

11-12-2012 02:29 PM in reply to: wfberry

What if one pipe netork is associated with one roadway alignment and the other another alignment?

*Expert Elite*
Joe-Bouza
Posts: 4,506
Registered: ‎12-15-2008
Message 6 of 7 (920 Views)

Re: Connecting pipe to different Pipe Network structure

11-12-2012 02:54 PM in reply to: RainierFan

different parts can refer to different alignments

Thank you

Joseph D. Bouza, P.E. (one of 'THOSE' People) Civil 3D 2012 & 2013
HP Z210 Workstation
Intel Xeon CPU E31240 @ 3.30 Hz
12 GB Ram


Note: Its all Resistentialism, so keep calm and carry on

64 Bit Win7 OS
Distinguished Mentor
Posts: 814
Registered: ‎11-15-2005
Message 7 of 7 (912 Views)

Re: Connecting pipe to different Pipe Network structure

11-12-2012 05:57 PM in reply to: RainierFan

By and large, pipes runs that connect to other pipe runs should be in the same network. For example, all the storm pipes draining to a common outlet should be in the same network. You can have each pipe run associated with it's own alignment, as Joe pointed out, but there are advantages to having them in the same network. 

 

 

You are not logged in.

Log into access your profile, ask and answer questions, share ideas and more. Haven't signed up yet? Register

Announcements
Are you interested in helping shape the Autodesk Community?
We’re looking at a few different ways to improve the “All Forums” landing page and need your feedback! If interested, please take a few minutes to fill out the following Usability Study. Thank you for your time!

Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions to get help installing your software.

Ask the Community


Civil 3D Exchange Apps

Created by the community for the community, Autodesk Exchange Apps for AutoCAD Civil 3D helps you achieve greater speed, accuracy, and automation from concept to manufacturing.

Connect with Civil 3D

Twitter

Facebook

Blogs