AutoCAD Civil 3D General

Reply
Valued Mentor
fcernst
Posts: 992
Registered: ‎01-07-2011
Message 1 of 7 (481 Views)

Confirmed Defect - Medians

481 Views, 6 Replies
08-26-2013 11:09 AM

The medians crossing centerline use to work for me, now it doesn't. I sent it in to Support, and it has been confirmed as defective.

 

How many fully non-defective engineering tools do we have to work with now in Civil 3D? The amount of software defects continues to grow, and is exteremely alarming for this business owner.

 

Where is the Civil 3D leadership? 

 

Capture.JPG

Ernst Engineering
Fred Ernst, PE
C3D 2014 SP1
W7x64; i7 8gb; Radeon HD 5700
www.ernstengineering.com
*Expert Elite*
TRogers
Posts: 1,129
Registered: ‎09-05-2007
Message 2 of 7 (471 Views)

Re: Confirmed Defect - Medians

08-26-2013 11:32 AM in reply to: fcernst

I have complained about this for years.  They need to fix what doesn't work instead of adding "robust new features".

If the issue was resolved by this method, please click on "Accept As Solution"
*Civil 3DJ*
Todd Rogers

Visit my blog here.

     
*Expert Elite*
neilyj
Posts: 3,475
Registered: ‎08-01-2008
Message 3 of 7 (468 Views)

Re: Confirmed Defect - Medians

08-26-2013 11:35 AM in reply to: TRogers
Without a doubt ..... but we all know it's not going to happen
neilyj
(No connection with Autodesk other than using the products in the real world)


IDSP Premium 2014 (mainly Civil 3D 2014 UKIE SP1 & Infraworks with some limited 3ds Max Design)
Win 7 Pro x64, 256Gb SSD, 300Gb 15,000 rpm HDD
16Gb Ram Intel Xeon CPU E5-1607 0 @ 3.00GHz (4 CPUs), ~3.0GHz
NVIDIA Quadro 4000, Dual 27" Monitor, Dell T3600
Valued Contributor
RickGraham
Posts: 98
Registered: ‎10-15-2010
Message 4 of 7 (421 Views)

Re: Confirmed Defect - Medians

08-26-2013 02:41 PM in reply to: fcernst

don't worry. It will be a NEW feature in 2015! (Tongue-in-cheek folks, relax)

Rick

Distinguished Contributor
Hammer.john.j
Posts: 125
Registered: ‎05-06-2008
Message 5 of 7 (370 Views)

Re: Confirmed Defect - Medians

08-28-2013 01:22 PM in reply to: fcernst
insert mike.barkasi to tell us inroads is better, lol just joking with you mike i know you'll post in here.....
John Hammer, LA
Dell Precision T3500 - Xenon W3550 @ 3.07 (4 core)
Ram @ 12Gb
64bit Win7 Pro
Samsung SSD
NVIDIA Quadro 2000 - Dual Monitors
Cat 6 network with GlobalScape Avail Agent - WAFS
Infrastructure Design Suite Premium and Civil 3D 2012
Valued Mentor
Posts: 528
Registered: ‎05-05-2008
Message 6 of 7 (343 Views)

Re: Confirmed Defect - Medians

08-29-2013 07:15 AM in reply to: fcernst

If you really want to see the state of programming at Autodesk, check out the threads on CGTalk about how bad Autodesk is treating 3ds Max, XSI, Maya, etc. One of the guys who worked with Autodesk on Max and Civil 3D through Civil View complained about how bad a job Autodesk is doing at coding and managing their assets. 

 

Check out page 4 of this thread from a post by Stefan Didak. It's long, but a good read.

http://forums.cgsociety.org/showthread.php?f=59&t=1118357&page=1&pp=15

 

 

This thread is an example of how poorly Autodesk codes their software. In this case, for 3ds Max. 

http://forums.cgsociety.org/showthread.php?f=98&t=1100582&page=1&pp=15

 

This could help explain why C3D has so many issues.

Infrastructure Design Suite Premium 2014
Civil 3D 2014 x64
Windows 7 64-bit
6GB RAM
Distinguished Contributor
Posts: 344
Registered: ‎06-09-2007
Message 7 of 7 (216 Views)

Re: Confirmed Defect - Medians

11-06-2013 12:17 PM in reply to: Hammer.john.j

:-) MBUILDS channel on youtube shows how to quickly model these medians.

Mike Barkasi
Bentley Civil

 

Edited by
Discussion_Admin

You are not logged in.

Log into access your profile, ask and answer questions, share ideas and more. Haven't signed up yet? Register

Announcements
Welcome to the new Autodesk Community!
If this is your first visit, click here to get started and make the most of the Community. Let us know what you think of the new experience in the Community Feedback Forum.

Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions to get help installing your software.

Ask the Community


Civil 3D Exchange Apps

Created by the community for the community, Autodesk Exchange Apps for AutoCAD Civil 3D helps you achieve greater speed, accuracy, and automation from concept to manufacturing.

Connect with Civil 3D

Twitter

Facebook

Blogs