AutoCAD Civil 3D General

Reply
Mentor
trynders
Posts: 466
Registered: ‎12-10-2003
Message 1 of 5 (218 Views)
Accepted Solution

Comparing Surfaces as a visual

218 Views, 4 Replies
10-09-2012 01:48 PM

Should be an easy question.  But I don't know the answer.

 

We will be doing some grading in a park with trees.  Probably maximum depth or fill of 12 inches.  The question has come up to be able to show cut and fill quantities as a visual shade of colors.  I have a way to display cut and fill ticks and it will give me the value, but that's not what they want.  I change the cut ticks to red and the fill ticks to green.  What is the best way to represent this like when you turn on slope percentages and assign different colors.  but I want like 0-2" fill to be red, 2" - 4" to be green, etc.

 

Thanks in advance.

*Expert Elite*
jmayo
Posts: 2,699
Registered: ‎11-13-2006
Message 2 of 5 (215 Views)

Re: Comparing Surfaces as a visual

10-09-2012 02:03 PM in reply to: trynders

I'm working with one now.

 

You need an Elevation Analysis performed on the surface not a slope analysis. You will also need a surface style that displays the elevation banding. Finally create a table style for the banding.

John Mayo, PE
IDSP 2014
Win 7 64, Xeon ES165@3.2Ghz,
64 GB RAM, Quadro K4000 (x2)
Mentor
trynders
Posts: 466
Registered: ‎12-10-2003
Message 3 of 5 (201 Views)

Re: Comparing Surfaces as a visual

10-09-2012 03:31 PM in reply to: trynders

Thanks.  I'll be trying it soon.

Mentor
trynders
Posts: 466
Registered: ‎12-10-2003
Message 4 of 5 (164 Views)

Re: Comparing Surfaces as a visual

10-31-2012 07:13 AM in reply to: trynders

John,

Thanks for the advice.  It's working well.  How do I get the cut and fill quantities to be placed in the drawing instead of just the panarama window.?  Is that a table you created?  Is it dynamic?

 

Thanks,

T

*Expert Elite*
jmayo
Posts: 2,699
Registered: ‎11-13-2006
Message 5 of 5 (149 Views)

Re: Comparing Surfaces as a visual

11-01-2012 09:55 AM in reply to: trynders

Select the surface, on the Ribbon click the Tables button. Follow the prompts on the command line to make a dynamic elevation table.

John Mayo, PE
IDSP 2014
Win 7 64, Xeon ES165@3.2Ghz,
64 GB RAM, Quadro K4000 (x2)

You are not logged in.

Log into access your profile, ask and answer questions, share ideas and more. Haven't signed up yet? Register

Announcements
Are you familiar with the Autodesk Expert Elites? The Expert Elite program is made up of customers that help other customers by sharing knowledge and exemplifying an engaging style of collaboration. To learn more, please visit our Expert Elite website.

Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions to get help installing your software.

Ask the Community


Civil 3D Exchange Apps

Created by the community for the community, Autodesk Exchange Apps for AutoCAD Civil 3D helps you achieve greater speed, accuracy, and automation from concept to manufacturing.

Connect with Civil 3D

Twitter

Facebook

Blogs